We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea side birthday city break”
Review of New Steine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Steine Hotel
Ranked #52 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during the first week in October,
We had an en suite double room on the first floor, although no sea view it was what we wanted,
Each morning we had a cooked breakfast of either a full English or we could create our own breakfast,
The room was replenished with fresh towels that we required, along with glasses and mugs being cleant as apart of the tea and coffee complimentary selection.
It was my husbands birthday and our stay ment an orffall lot to us.
We had a very nice birthday break and will stay at the new stien hotel again when next in Brighton.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ralph f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewSteine, General Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and I am so glad you enjoyed your husband's birthday break away. We pride ourselves on the service we provide and the product we offer, and it is great to hear this was delivered. I do hope you choose to stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 662 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2017

Stayed at this hotel, with my partner for 3 nights whilst celebrating my birthday in Brighton.

We found the hotel in be in a great location, close to Brighton's attractions and our room was clean and adequate for our stay. We received a warm welcome and found staff to be pleasant and friendly.

The breakfast was good with a choice of "Full English" or "Continental" , and we chose the full English which was cooked to perfection, and we enjoyed the unlimited fresh coffee.

This hotel offers good value for money and we plan on visiting again when next staying in Brighton.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank chunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewSteine, General Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and your kind comments. It is lovely to see our staff and property commended as we do pride ourselves on our service element, and we do hope you will come and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Overall, a disappointing stay. The room was extremely small and had an odour. The safe didn't work. The bed mattress was uncomfortable. The staff were helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was cooked to order....but took sooooo long. They were not helpful with parking arrangements.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Petertravel64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewSteine, General Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Sorry that you did not find your stay enjoyable. Without knowing which room you booked into and when, it is difficult to address this directly and I hope that you spoke with Reception during your stay so that they could have resolved any of the issues you may have had, as you pointed out they were pleasant and helpful, and would have done their utmost to deal with any issues for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Great staff great manager the went out off there way to help us even when we decided to stay an extra night the put us up in there sister hotel next door will be back next year keep up the good work //////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Vintagecar1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewSteine, General Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for your review and I am so glad you enjoyed your visit with us and decided to extend your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

The hotel is described as an AA 4 star with facilities such as Wifi. It's well off the mark.

Throughout my 5 day stay wifi was not available in my room. I raised this on three occasions. Told engineers would attend and told to use the bar area which wasn't really suitable.

I also had issues with my tv (fixed) and non functioning kettle in last morning.

The shower had not been properly cleaned with lots of hair in the plug. On my last day towels had not been replaced. Additionally water in the room not replaced each day.

Final point. Breakfast room too smalll to accommodate all guests.

I travel to Brighton frequently in leisure so will be giving this a wide berth in the future.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank jazzblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewSteine, General Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for your review and I am sorry for any inconvenience caused. Without knowing your booking name it is difficult to address your concerns specifically, however the issue with the Wi-Fi did require an engineer visit, and this has now been fully resolved, and I am glad our staff offered alternative areas you could utilise and sorry that it affected the room you were in. I have asked Housekeeping to look into the other issues you raised, as it appears it was isolated to the last day of your stay and so I trust this was a one off problem which my team can address.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.1 km away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.1 km away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
847 reviews
1.4 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Gullivers Hotel
Gullivers Hotel
#76 of 95 in Brighton
295 reviews
0.2 km away
Sea Breeze Brighton
Sea Breeze Brighton
#36 of 95 in Brighton
520 reviews
0.0 km away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#27 of 95 in Brighton
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Steine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Steine Hotel

Address: 10-11 New Steine | Kemp Town, East Sussex, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: $84 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Steine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Steine Hotel is an elegant and fashionable five-storey Georgian Townhouse in central Brighton. With a modern design of hotel that exudes warmth and style, a cheap boutique hotel right in the heart of Brighton city centre, with a hint of French influence, the New Steine Hotel offers exceptional value and cheap rates comparable to most hotels but retains the same level of service as any more expensive hotel in Brighton. New Steine Hotel's facilities and budget are suited to both business travelers and tourists alike who want a hotel in Brighton at the right price.New Steine Hotel is a boutique hotel right in the cultural centre of Brighton. Within a short walk of the hotel are the Royal Pavilion, the Brighton Museum and of course, Brighton Pier and Beach. We would class ourselves as a boutique hotel. Why boutique? Well, we are a small hotel with a difference, offering a personal service at reasonable prices. Contemporary, with lasting appeal, a statement in design that exudes warmth and style, delicious French food, wines and drinks, impeccable service 24 hours a day and original art all around you - The New Steine Hotel is all these things, and more.From the moment you walk through the door to our boutique hotel you are pampered and welcomed. Upon check-in your assistant walks you to your room and explains all the facilities your room has to offer. Throughout your stay staff are on hand to assist with any query you may have, and on check-out (after a hearty breakfast, of course), we will ensure you an efficient and memorable departure, wishing you a pleasant journey and hoping you return again soon. A personalised concierge service is at the guests' disposal 24 hours a day for all requirements and needs and each of the bedrooms has been designed to incorporate comfort with modern needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your New Steine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing