We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$120
PricelineUS$120
Hotels.comUS$120
eDreamsUS$120
TripadvisorUS$120
FindHotel
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,326)
Filter reviews
2,326 results
Traveller rating
903
741
378
196
108
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
903
741
378
196
108
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the marina club room shared balcony pizza express multi storey free car parking inland view number bus hotel entrance cooked breakfast small balcony lovely hotel a sea view room public areas comfy bed full english birthday treat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 2,326 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2021 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel in a fabulous location about 2 miles from the centre of Brighton. Our room had views towards the retail park and Asda but they also have rooms overlooking the marina. The room was quirky modern and comfortable, and the breakfast good (of slightly pricey) and with stunning views. There was plenty of free parking in the adjacent multi storey car park, and lots of places to eat.

Room tip: Although the car park signs say there is a 4hr limit, these are apparently old signs and parking is free. We were parked for three days.
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JasonH199
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmaison Brighton, Guest Services / Front Office at Malmaison Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2021

Dear JasonH199,
Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely feedback after your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Brighton and the hotel amenities.
We look forward to welcome you again in a not to distant future for another great stay.
Kind Regards,
Mal Brighton Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2021

We stayed here for 4 nights. Location seemed ok and parking was great (free at the Marina car park).

For over £200+ a night however, we felt let down in the following areas:

1. DO NOT pay extra (which we did!) for the sea view... might have been ok-ish if we got the private terrace but we had a shared one. This meant we felt compelled to keep our curtains shut which was a waste of the weather but also, it turns out, there were dogs on the terrace at times from other residents who had dogs. Might have been a bit awkward if we had the door open! Also, the 'sea view' from the 2nd floor was mostly of boats and the marina wall...

2. Rooms are tiny. Probably not unexpected but given the cost, not quite worth it!

3. Location - it's about 2 miles to the town centre. This is fine if you do have a car but please factor in parking in town. Else, it is probably better to get a hotel in town. The marina was a lot quieter than we expected but it does have a lot of restaurants (chains) and a cinema.

4. Beds and pillows were too soft for our liking - but this is a subjective area so just one to flag for those who like us, prefer firmer pillows/mattresses.

Staff were fine/friendly and room service reliable but despite all this, we didn't feel that it was worth the money which was really disappointing.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank charmaineo187
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmaison Brighton, Guest Services / Front Office at Malmaison Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2021

Dear Charmaine,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback! We are glad you liked the location and the views of the hotel. We do apologize that we did not meet your expectations in some aspects of your stay. We will pass your concerns onto the relevant departments for improvements. We do hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Malmaison Brighton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2021

We needed a memorable location for a commemorative event. The terrace over the marina provided a spectacular view and a well-appointed space for 50+ people. The staff were exceptionally attentive and helpful, from the point of making the booking, right up to the event itself. On the day, Maria the restaurant assistant manager, was particularly good. The spread of cakes and scones (vegan, vegatarian, gluten-free options) was tasty and beautifully presented. Staff checked on progress at suitable points and we felt in safe hands throughout. The fly-past by the starlings at 7pm was an exceptional finishing touch.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tristram h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmaison Brighton, Guest Services / Front Office at Malmaison Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2021

Dear Tristram,

Thank you for taking your time to leave us your feedback! We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable event at our venue. We will pass your review to Maria and our restaurant team. We look forward to you visiting us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Malmaison Brighton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2021

Booked this hotel mostly for the location. Booked a double and twin room because the website stated harbour views. Firstly the hotel looks quite dirty and the surrounding area is less than clean to say the least. Very off putting. There is no security in the hotel whatsoever, anyone can come in a variety of doors and freely roam around the hotel. Neither of the rooms we were allocated had a sea view which was very disappointing, instead we were looking into very dirty roofs of buildings and the double room was significantly smaller than the twin room. The booking website is very misleading. Very disappointed there was no on-site parking, had to park in a dirty multi storey car park which is a good walk away if you have luggage! Not ideal! The harbour is lovely and hotel is not far from the beach. Plenty of restaurants and shops round about the hotel. Disappointed at the hotel and their staff and given this would not stay here again. Not what you expect from these hotels.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 464allyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmaison Brighton, Guest Services / Front Office at Malmaison Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2021

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time to leave us your feedback! We do apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. All our Standard Double and Twin Rooms are inland facing, we do apologize about the miscommunication in regards to the view of the rooms. Furthermore, the inside doors are shut in the evening and can only be accessed with a key card. We will pass your concerns onto the relevant departments. We do hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
The MAL Team Brighton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2021

Just have just stayed for 2 nights on a wine and dine package .
Bit confusing on arrival of where to park the car and find the hotels entrance . ( best to drive into the free multi-storey car park and park on level 5/6 and there’s a bridge across from there to the boardwalk which eventually leads to the hotel )
We arrived eland our room wasn’t quite ready so we’re given vouchers for a free drink each which was a lovely gesture.
Our bedroom number 321 was a double room with small balcony overlooking the marina . Strange decor but a comfortable room . Good air conditioning. Dressing gowns ,slippers . Brill shower room . Nice toiletries.
Booked the wine and dine package back in January, so it was hard to remember what it actually included and I don’t think many staff knew ,had to keep showing the emails and booking details . So still not sure if we received what we should have done . Ended up paying for both breakfast each day which we thought was included in the deal .( £18 per person per morning )
Breakfast was really nice especially sat outside overlooking the marine .( perfect )
Evening meal was beautiful.
Staff very nice especially the cleaning staff on level 3 corridor.
Would definitely stay again but need to keep emails of what was actually included in the package .
The position of the hotel is perfect .so much in the area to do (really there’s no need to go into Brighton ). There’s shops ,bars, restaurants.cinema. Asda. Etc

Room tip: Rooms overlooking marina
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaynor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmaison Brighton, Guest Services / Front Office at Malmaison Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2021

Dear Gaynor, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologies for any confusion surrounding your dinner package and just to confirm, breakfast is not included in the wine and dine package. We appreciate your feedback and will pass on your comments to the relevant departments. We hope to welcome you back to Malmaison Brighton if you decide to book with us again. Kind regards, The Mal Brighton Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews