We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$115
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$115
View deal
FindHotel
US$113
View deal
Expedia.comUS$115
Hotels.comUS$115
HurbUS$121
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,332)
Filter reviews
2,332 results
Traveller rating
905
742
379
197
109
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
905
742
379
197
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the marina multi storey car park club room pizza express private balcony free car parking hotel entrance cooked breakfast lovely hotel eggs benedict a sea view room town centre public areas comfy bed full english double room asda
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 2,332 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2021

Arrived Thursday afternoon and parked on level 6 in the cat park as directed. Short walk to the hotel along the boardwalk fortunately it was not raining. We had a deluxe sea view room with a balcony. Room could had done with more wardrobe hanging space. The bathroom was huge but no towel rails and shelving. Shower was easy to operate. The fridge wasn’t working so our complimentary bottles of water could not be chilled, The cooked breakfast had plenty of choice. The evening meal menu catered for all tastes. All the restaurant staff were friendly and helpful.
Walls are rather thin!!!!!

Room tip: 3rd floor sea view
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
Thank foxycat-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmaison Brighton, Guest Services / Front Office at Malmaison Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2021

Dear valuable guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We are pleased you had a great stay with us and that you loved the room and our restaurant. We appreciate the feedback and hope to welcome you back to Malmaison Brighton, if you decide to book with us again. Kind regards, The Mal Brighton Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2021

Shocking for several reasons and will not be going back
• Booked well in advance. Arrived circa 13:00 on 2 Oct 2021 as we had a wedding to attend at 14:30 and also hook up with a friend who was also staying at the same hotel and attending the same wedding
• It was raining hard and windy
• Reception was on the 1st floor and we were not allowed to gain access to the floor and remained on ground floor hall only. No reasons were given.
• No temp facilities to change for the wedding, no seats, no access to refreshments and no access to hotel toilets
• Our friend had similar experiences and ended up changing in his car in the car park !
• After chasing a dismissive manager, changing facilities were eventually offered at a sister hotel Du Vin with the offer to bring our belongings back by a stranger later.
• Whist waiting to go to the sister hotel, a family with a disabled male arrived and were also refused access and services. Totally disgusting !
• The staff at the sister hotel Du Vin were excellent and very accommodating. To save time (albeit we were late for the wedding), minimising exposure to the inclement weather and to avoid a stranger transferring our belongings back to Malmaison hotel, we decided to say put (despite the eye watering room charge of £394 per night)
• Subsequent communications with Malmaison hotel yielded no form of compensation for the inconvenience and significant costs incurred by ourselves

Room tip: Avoid the hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Thank X5542ELstevet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmaison Brighton, Guest Services / Front Office at Malmaison Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2021

Dear Steve, thank you for writing a review. As you were aware, unfortunately the hotel was closed due to an exclusive use, which was communicated to all guests arriving that day, and information was given that check in was only available after 3.30. We do apologies for the inconveniences caused and if you do ever wish to stay with us, please contact the hotel directly and we will personally look after your booking. Kind regards, The Mal Brighton Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2021

My boyfriend and I stayed for his birthday on a Friday night and I wanted to thank the whole team for making our stay really special!
A very nice welcome from Roland and Hannah at reception, and we were given some complimentary cocktail coupons as we were celebrating.
The room was amazing with a balcony facing the sea, the doors opened all the way which was perfect for such a sunny day.
In the restaurant, Amelia took great care of us and the food was lovely!
Finally, in the evening we went for some cocktails and a big thanks to Angela who really ended our evening on a high note :)
Thanks Mal Brighton!

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lilfroggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmaison Brighton, Guest Services / Front Office at Malmaison Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2021

Dear guest,

Thank you for leaving us a wonderful review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us including your room, the views of the marina and your experience in our restaurant. We will pass your kind comments onto our team including Roland, Hannah, Amelia and Angela! We hope you will return and stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
The MAL Team Brighton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2021

We booked for three nights (choosing the hotel as its advertised as pet friendly) and the cost of £1360. That's pretty pricey in itself, but from the website I was expecting great things. We discovered after booking that dogs are indeed welcome, but subject to a £20 per night surcharge; taking the cost to £400 per night. What do you get for what they describe as a "Doggy Welcome Pack"? Well, you get a smelly dog bed and a bowl that's never been properly washed! We'd brought our own anyway, but still had to pay the charge; which I'd say is extortionate.
Free parking at the nearby multi-story is a great benefit; it's about a 5 min walk to the hotel which isn't too bad at all.
The room was nice enough, with a great view over the Marina, but for the price we felt it was pretty small, lacked enough sensible storage space for the length of our stay, and the bathroom was in a dirty condition. There was black mould all around the shower (which doesn't grow overnight), the skirting boards hadn't been cleaned in months, the bathroom floor tiles were stained and covered in hairs, and the wall-mounted shampoo/soap dispensers in the shower were broken. We reported the issues to Reception, and the bathroom was given a deep clean the next day. They didn't bother to fix/replace the shampoo/soap dispensers, so we gave up asking and just went to Asda opposite and bought our own products.
Breakfast is alright, but isn't the "continental" breakfast you'd expect on the Continent, so don't expect hams, cheeses etc.. The hot menu was decent, but the Chef couldn't cook eggs at all. Scrambled were runny and lacked taste, boiled eggs with soldiers were overcooked and hard.
We ended up stranded for an extra night due to the "fuel crisis", and the hotel let us stay an extra night; their "best price" was a further £370, which felt like opportunism to be honest; certainly as there were empty rooms.
Staff were friendly and welcoming, and the location is great for the restaurants etc.. around the Marina. It's a short walk to the end of Brighton Beach, and about 30 mins walk (or £10 in a cab) into the city centre.
All in all a nice enough hotel in a good location, but very expensive for what you get and there's certainly room for improvement. Not quite the standard you'd expect from a Malmaison, and you pay through the nose for it.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MikeH426
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmaison Brighton, Guest Services / Front Office at Malmaison Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2021

Dear Mike,

Thank you for taking your time to leave us your feedback about your stay with us! We are glad you liked the location of our hotel. However, we do apologize that some aspects of your stay we did not meet your expectations. We will pass your feedback onto our housekeeping and restaurant manager. We do hope that you will stay with us again in the future!

Kind regards,
The MAL Team Brighton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2021

My husband and I stayed at the hotel at the beginning of September. We had booked the hotel for December 2020 but for obvious reasons couldn't go. Then we changed booking to February, again for same reasons couldn't go. The hotel honoured our booking so we paid a very low price for our room. We were very lucky. We stayed in a Club deluxe sea view room on the top floor with marina views. We really liked the room, great views with a decent size balcony. Some rooms had a small balcony but ours didn't. The breakfasts were really nice, with plenty of choice of cold and hot. Staff were all friendly in the restaurant and helpful. We actually wouldn't have paid the proper amount but have put excellent as rating because for the amount we paid it was definitely worth it. Lots of restaurants along the marina and nice walk if you go left out onto the marina walk. We actually walked into Brighton town itself - a trek but nice.

Room tip: deluxe or club sea view rooms and third floor
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orientgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmaison Brighton, Guest Services / Front Office at Malmaison Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2021

Dear valuable guest,

Thank you for taking your time to leave us your feedback! We are so glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. We hope that you will return again in the future!

Kind regards,
The MAL Team Brighton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews