We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view”

William The Conqueror
Ranked #31 of 106 Restaurants in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$18
Cuisines: Pub
Description: Newly Refurbished: The William The Conqueror is a family-friendly pub on the banks of the River Rother. Situated in bustling Rye Harbour, it is the perfect place to while away some time watching the world go by. The harbour is home to a Nature Reserve and is a Site of Special Scientific Interest so there is plenty of wildlife to spot. As the Pub name suggests, the area is famous for being the site of the Norman invasion, and there are countless references locally for history fans. The pub is popular for its Real Ales and has featured in the Good Pub Guide. The new and improved Menu features dishes from around the world, with emphasis on locally sourced Fish and Mediterranean Specialities. Dogs are welcome!
Restaurant details
Description: Newly Refurbished: The William The Conqueror is a family-friendly pub on the banks of the River Rother. Situated in bustling Rye Harbour, it is the perfect place to while away some time watching the world go by. The harbour is home to a Nature Reserve and is a Site of Special Scientific Interest so there is plenty of wildlife to spot. As the Pub name suggests, the area is famous for being the site of the Norman invasion, and there are countless references locally for history fans. The pub is popular for its Real Ales and has featured in the Good Pub Guide. The new and improved Menu features dishes from around the world, with emphasis on locally sourced Fish and Mediterranean Specialities. Dogs are welcome!
Reviewed 27 July 2021 via mobile

We sat outside with a group of friends! The view it's lovely! Greek specialists are really tasty! And of course refreshing pints of Spitfire and Masterbrew. Can't wait to be back again once on holiday

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank Dave5667
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luk, General Manager at William The Conqueror, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2021

Hello Dave. Thank you for such a good recommendation. We can't wait to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2021 via mobile

We had a really good experience on a Saturday Night. We enjoyed our food and lovely service from the staff. We will be back. Thank you!

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank Pytel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luk, General Manager at William The Conqueror, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2021

Thank you for your comment! We are glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2021 via mobile

Seriously bad service
Ordered 13 meals all to the same table 4 meals arrived 45 mins later after the rest the manager attitude was the worst I have ever seen that along with queuing up for 20 mins terrible service and attitude

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank garycatchpole
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luk, General Manager at William The Conqueror, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2021

Dear Gary
We are disappointed about your experience on the day of your visit. Please accept our apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2021 via mobile

Well after many attempts searching I have found the best fish and chips I have had for many years served promptly by excellent staff. I great surroundings.

Date of visit: June 2021
1  Thank mshurme
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luk, General Manager at William The Conqueror, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2021

Thank you so much for such a great review and recommendation of our fish and chips. See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2021 via mobile

This is a lovely pub in a great location with wonderful views of the sea. They serve Bear Island IPA which is an excellent beer. However regrettably the food wasn't as good (sorry). The Cyprus Mix was just a little tasteless and expensive for what you get. No doubt we will visit again and hopefully it will be better next time.

Date of visit: July 2021
2  Thank W3049FTaland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luk, General Manager at William The Conqueror, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2021

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the drinks but disappointed with your review regarding our Cyprus Mix. Thank you for taking the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed William The Conqueror also viewed

 

Been to William The Conqueror? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.