We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pub with Fawlty Towers service”

William The Conqueror
Ranked #31 of 106 Restaurants in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$18
Cuisines: Pub
Description: Newly Refurbished: The William The Conqueror is a family-friendly pub on the banks of the River Rother. Situated in bustling Rye Harbour, it is the perfect place to while away some time watching the world go by. The harbour is home to a Nature Reserve and is a Site of Special Scientific Interest so there is plenty of wildlife to spot. As the Pub name suggests, the area is famous for being the site of the Norman invasion, and there are countless references locally for history fans. The pub is popular for its Real Ales and has featured in the Good Pub Guide. The new and improved Menu features dishes from around the world, with emphasis on locally sourced Fish and Mediterranean Specialities. Dogs are welcome!
Restaurant details
Description: Newly Refurbished: The William The Conqueror is a family-friendly pub on the banks of the River Rother. Situated in bustling Rye Harbour, it is the perfect place to while away some time watching the world go by. The harbour is home to a Nature Reserve and is a Site of Special Scientific Interest so there is plenty of wildlife to spot. As the Pub name suggests, the area is famous for being the site of the Norman invasion, and there are countless references locally for history fans. The pub is popular for its Real Ales and has featured in the Good Pub Guide. The new and improved Menu features dishes from around the world, with emphasis on locally sourced Fish and Mediterranean Specialities. Dogs are welcome!
Reviewed 7 August 2021

Nice proper pub, great location, beer, fish and chips, but the attitude of the woman behind the bar would have put Basil Fawlty to shame.

Okay, I ordered the food at the bar, as they asked, saying I thought we were table x (hadn't realised you were supposed to give a table number) but she said I had to go out, check the table number and come back with it - strange, given it's a small pub and was fairly quiet, so instead I very politely told her where the table was, and she said, gruffly, Well, this order's going to table x, so tough luck if you've got it wrong. The ridiculous thing is there are only about a dozen tables outside, and were were one of only about four along the top row!

I like to think she was stressed, because the opening-up had only happened a couple of days before.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank MrScoffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luk, General Manager at William The Conqueror, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2021

Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed reading your review. The person which is taking orders at bar is not delivering the food to the table. We need a table number for our food runners to be able to deliver the food to correct tables. Table numer are important as we got many tables inside and outside otherwise the service will slow down and our food runners will not be able to deliver the food to correct tables. We have information board outside our pub with explanation how to order a food for outside tables. My team it's always happy to help and its really hard think that someone replied to you the way you expressed in your review. On the shift there is always a manager available to rectify any issues on a day unfortunately we were not aware about your experience. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2021 via mobile

Fantastic place to eat, food was delicious.
It was nice to have Greek food, was supposed to he be Greece. So nice to have Greek good in a nice lovely restaurant, which tastered delicious.
Would differently be back.
Just one Down side, one waitress staff member, was very rude and adputed, when our food arrived, and chewing gum in restaurant and when servicing our food.
As myself working in this industry I don't expect it in my place.
We a had Fantastic meal, enjoyed it all, loved the dolmadas ( sorry about the spelling).
Would reckon to friends, if they was visiting the area

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank lcjane_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luk, General Manager at William The Conqueror, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2021

Thank you so much for feed back! I'm glad you enjoyed the food in our establishment! Thank you for bringing to my attention situation with a waiting staff. I will look in to it as that's not the way we are! Thank you and see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2021

Lady Crown and I threw caution to the wind and braved an unexploded bomb, outside to finally visit at tea-time on Monday 26th July 2021.

Wearing black balaclavas in memory of The defuct 'Inkerman Arms', we were initially welcomed as members of the local IRA.

Enjoying the sunshine, and other people's dogs - who were friendly, we tucked in to sumptuous Souvlaki and it was great

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Arthur77777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luk, General Manager at William The Conqueror, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2021

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others and offer us some fantastic feedback. We hope to extend another friendly welcome to you in the future. Thanks again

Read less

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2021

An eclectic menu but the Cypriot twist was excellent - good pub with good beer along with good food - nothing to not like! Topped by very friendly staff who worked very hard.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Glen504216
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luk, General Manager at William The Conqueror, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2021

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others and offer us some great feedback. We are thrilled to know how much you enjoyed our food and will be sure to share your lovely comments with all our team. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2021 via mobile

We sat outside with a group of friends! The view it's lovely! Greek specialists are really tasty! And of course refreshing pints of Spitfire and Masterbrew. Can't wait to be back again once on holiday

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank Dave5667
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luk, General Manager at William The Conqueror, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2021

Hello Dave. Thank you for such a good recommendation. We can't wait to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed William The Conqueror also viewed

 

Been to William The Conqueror? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.