We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plesant family lunch”

William The Conqueror
Ranked #31 of 106 Restaurants in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$18
Cuisines: Pub
Description: Newly Refurbished: The William The Conqueror is a family-friendly pub on the banks of the River Rother. Situated in bustling Rye Harbour, it is the perfect place to while away some time watching the world go by. The harbour is home to a Nature Reserve and is a Site of Special Scientific Interest so there is plenty of wildlife to spot. As the Pub name suggests, the area is famous for being the site of the Norman invasion, and there are countless references locally for history fans. The pub is popular for its Real Ales and has featured in the Good Pub Guide. The new and improved Menu features dishes from around the world, with emphasis on locally sourced Fish and Mediterranean Specialities. Dogs are welcome!
Restaurant details
Description: Newly Refurbished: The William The Conqueror is a family-friendly pub on the banks of the River Rother. Situated in bustling Rye Harbour, it is the perfect place to while away some time watching the world go by. The harbour is home to a Nature Reserve and is a Site of Special Scientific Interest so there is plenty of wildlife to spot. As the Pub name suggests, the area is famous for being the site of the Norman invasion, and there are countless references locally for history fans. The pub is popular for its Real Ales and has featured in the Good Pub Guide. The new and improved Menu features dishes from around the world, with emphasis on locally sourced Fish and Mediterranean Specialities. Dogs are welcome!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited today with 3 children. We enjoyed our food but it was more than we usually pay at £49 for 2 adults burger meals, 2 kids burger meals and 4 drinks
The location is lovely. Would only be improved by something for the kids to do while waiting.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Ayesha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luk, General Manager at William The Conqueror, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2021

We had dinner here Weds 8th Sept 2021 as we were holidaying nearby. We were abruptly met by a female as we entered about had we booked. we were new to the area and been in the area less than 4 hours and didnt know we had to book. We did get a table and given a menu, The menu was varied but we are fussy eaters and opted for the fish. Drinks arrived as did the food. we then had to chase up to get cutlery. we also had sweets which were ok. Prices were as expected. Was very busy with lots of locals and regulars.
We also visited at lunchtime hoping for a sandwich which they dont do so settled for a bag of crisps. do the menu we ate elsewhere on our other nights

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank adyval
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luk, General Manager at William The Conqueror, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review! Apologies for any inconvenience you may have on a day of your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2021 via mobile

Lovely harbour side pub, great beers and good choice of seafood, burgers and Greek themed food. Enjoyed sitting outside in the Autumn sun. Dog friendly too.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank SteveV693
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luk, Other at William The Conqueror, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2021

Thank you do much for your review. Great you enjoyed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2021 via mobile

To be honest the place looks a bit of a mess. I’ve visited a few times over the last couple of months after a walk with the dogs. A burger and a pint is refreshing. However today, the place was not even at 50% capacity when I visited at 15:45. The tables not being used outside were filled with empties and dirty plates and the floors around the tables were full of litter and scraps of food.
So I didn’t have a table number when I went in. Dog water barrels were empty.
Walked into the bar using the side entrance with the dogs and a chap walked past me serving food. No greeting. Fine.
Approach the bar and the blonde woman wearing glasses fails to acknowledge me as she’s texting. She then walks out the back and the shortly after comes back out again and engages in conversation with the chap serving food. She then continues to text. All this while I’m stood at the bar waiting to order.
So I left. I find it incredibly rude when this happens. If what she was doing was important, it takes all but a second to lift your head and say ‘I’ll be with you in just one sec’
So my business might have only been worth £25 today, but will I visit again in future? Maybe. The food I’ve had in the past has been good, they just need to work on clearing the tables and tidying the outside are.
Maybe I’ll update this next time in the area and see if things have improved.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Joe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luk, General Manager at William The Conqueror, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2021

Thank you for your review!
It's really disappointing to read about your experience! After checking some CCTV footage on the day of ur visit, our outside area looked clean and free from plates and glasses! It's a shame you didn't wait longer then a minute to allow our staff to serve you! If you weren't happy you could always ask to speak to a manager to let him know about ur experience to be able to rectify any issues! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2021 via mobile

Went to this pub for lunch. Really nice burger and salad. Good process for ordering. Wife is in an electric wheelchair, for which the pub is not well suited. We sat outside but the stones in the seated area snagged on the wheels. Great pub but access for wheelchairs could be improved. Still recommend the pub. Great food.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Mickeyj48
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luk, General Manager at William The Conqueror, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2021

Thank you for feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your food. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed William The Conqueror also viewed

 

Been to William The Conqueror? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.