We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$90
View deal
Expedia.com
US$89
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$90
View deal
Hotels.comUS$89
TravelocityUS$89
Agoda.comUS$90
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,165)
Filter reviews
2,166 results
Traveller rating
1,304
643
144
51
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,304
643
144
51
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews decanter of sherry mews room main building bottled water high street car park central location evening meal excellent stay excellent breakfast biscuits log fire comfy bed lovely room lovely hotel bar area visiting the cotswolds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 2,166 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2022

Fantastic coach house accommodation, will definitely stay again. Brought my father and mother in law to see our son who they hadn't seen in a year. Great location for fire training college. Easy access to Oxford and Swindon shopping centres.

Date of stay: November 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dandkenvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Redesdale Arms, Owner at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2022

Hello traveller,

Thank you for this lovely review, we are lucky to be situated in such a fantastic part of the country.

We look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2022 via mobile

Totally understand prices are going up, but when paying cash the bar staff are not too good at returning any change, that is very poor attitude.
Will not be visiting again, plenty more honest pubs in the town.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Redesdale Arms, Owner at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2022

Hello Karen J,
While it is true that prices everywhere are going up to try and keep up with the current economic climate, this has nothing to do with returning change to a guest, unless the staff are specifically and clearly instructed by the guest that the change is a gratuity then we will always return the change as quite simply it is not ours to just keep. The implication that we aren't an honest establishment is also quite frankly preposterous.
I wish you luck in your future dining experiences

Kind Regards

RAH Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2022

Great Atmosphere friendly staff, however the cost...each time you bought a round the cost was never the same, 4 x fish and chips (£50) plus 2 pints of bitter .... £66...£7.50 a pint? Asked for a receipt got a till one not itemised. Next round 2 x wine 2 x bitter, had £30 cash in hand, that's £30 sir! Next round £28.60, gave £30 no change given back! I know they have to make money, but don't add to each round or not give change...terrible business ethics

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank richardjN333JE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Redesdale Arms, Owner at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2022

Hello richardjN333JE

I must apologise upfront as I am wildly confused on your review.

In the first 4 words you mention we have friendly staff but then by the end are basically saying we're stealing your change which to me is not very friendly.

We do not change our prices mid way through the day/ shift so unless you were ordering different things I'm not sure how the costs were different each time.

Our Beer Battered Fish & Chips is £16.95 (x4 = £67.80, a bit different from your £50 quote) and our Bitters are £5.20 per pint which would've bought your quoted round to £78.20, again a bit different to you £66 quoted.

If you had asked for a till receipt then this would be itemised as both our tills and hotel room side are fully itemised, however our card machine ones are not itemised (like most also are not)

As for your next rounds quoted at £30 & £28.60, I can't speak to these without knowing exactly what you had but there is not a single member of staff here that dictates the price according to what money your holding and we do not assume that your change is ours, we always return the change and should our guests feel generous enough to leave a tip then we will accept, but we never take it on an assumption as this is technically theft.

I can only conclude from this review you have left this on the wrong businesses page, If this is the case then we would politely ask you to remove this slanderous post and find the correct establishment, if however you feel you have the correct business then I would be happy to discuss this with you privately via phone or email.


Kind Regards
RAH Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2022

Staff went out of their way to make me feel welcome. Room was very comfortable, though shower could be more powerful. Food delicious and service very good. All in all my stay could not have been better

Date of stay: November 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Clarefranca
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Redesdale Arms, Owner at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2022

Good day,
Thank you for these kind words on our little corner of the Cotswolds, we are very proud of our staff as they always do their best to keep our guests happy, so we're very happy they're still succeeding

Kind Regards
RAH Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2022

Have stayed here before and remember it being a great hotel. No longer!
Very poor attention from staff who had an air of thinking they were special, who seemed more interested in up selling the restaurant than anything. Room was very tired with broken floors, window and dirty shower, certainly not worth over £150 a night!! No one checked if we could manage the very steep stairs it was just assumed. There was a carafe of a strange smelling brown liquid with two glasses, no note to say what it was, we didn’t dare try it as it looked like it had been there quite some time! Breakfast was a buffet with hot orders which was good with a great choice, the lady who took the orders was the best member of staff they have. Overall the location of the hotel is perfect but that’s about it. Overhyped, overpriced and overtired! Safe to say we won’t be visiting again.

Date of stay: November 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank g7iq84edqw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Redesdale Arms, Owner at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2022

Hello g7iq84edqw
I'm sorry you felt we were trying to give a false impression.
I don't feel that any of our staff present themselves as 'thinking they are special' and we don't upsell the restaurant, we all offer our guests a choice between the bar area which is more casual dining or the restaurant providing there is space as our restaurant regularly fills up in advance.
With regards to the issues in the room you stayed in, if the room was not to your liking then providing we aren't fully booked then we will happily move you to another room as our guests are our first priority & as for not being able to manage the stairs, if you any type of mobility issues or even if you prefer a downstairs room 17 of our 32 rooms are ground floor rooms which again if you had informed us of these issues/ preferences we would've happily moved you.
The 'strange smelling brown liquid' is complementary sherry which we provide in all our bedrooms as a little welcome from the Redesdale, these are emptied and refilled between guest stays so would not have been there for anything more than a few hours before your arrival however we understand sherry is not to everyone's taste.
I will pass on your kind words regarding our breakfast team.

We hope you find accommodations more to your suiting on your next outing

Kind Regards
RAH Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews