We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Queen's Hotel(Portsmouth)
US$302
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel(Portsmouth)
US$135
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$285
US$238
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$343
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abbey Lodge(Portsmouth)
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Travelodge Havant Rowlands Castle Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$95
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (874)
Filter reviews
874 results
Traveller rating
223
351
196
57
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
351
196
57
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgunwharf quaysrefurbished roomsmall poolnaval baselimited parkingleisure facilitiesgun wharfhms victorysingle roombuffet styleparking spacespinnaker towerbed was comfortablefull englishbreakfast was excellentshopping centrevisiting portsmouth
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 874 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

We liked the friendly and helpful staff, the great location very close to Gunwharf Quays, Uni Portsmouth and Mary Rose/Victory and the breakfast. Most rooms and hallways however need an upgrade - including carpets, windows and furniture which all is quite dated.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank trooper92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMC1856, The Royal Maritime Club Social Media Team at Royal Maritime Club, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thanks and we're glad to hear the great feedback on our staff. We are in process of refurbishing all of our rooms, which as you can imagine takes quite a lot of time to do in such a big hotel and one that's completely independent.That said we're pleased that nearly half of our rooms have been refurbished now, with four more having work done at the moment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

Nice rooms on Queen St close to most things. The bar and facilities are great and the Breakfast A true bonus. The front desk staff were always very helpful. Once visited I'm sure you will return I most certainly will.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are at the rear of each floor
Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank Graeme D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMC1856, The Royal Maritime Club Social Media Team at Royal Maritime Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thanks for your wonderful feedback Graeme - come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

The reception area does not reflect what you will find in your accommodation.
Rooms very tired and dated. Wall paper peeling, windows misted, carpet worn out. Cabinets very tatty. Housekeeping virtually non existent. Had to make our own which is a first when stopping in a hotel. Don’t mind rising own cups . towel replaced and bins emptied, that’s all. Need to ask at reception for fresh tea or coffee.
Bed was comfortable.
Fans outside window were extremely noisy making a restful night a challenge.
Staff generally very helpful and pleasant.
Food okay although a little repetitive in the evening.
Breakfast offered a good choice if you were there early enough. After 8.30 was told that they had run out of things like fresh fruit.
Ideally located for dock yard.
Heard several arguments between staff and management clearly this was not good.
Basically this hotel needs updating and greater customer awareness if it wishes to continue to attract customers.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank michaelcann54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMC1856, Operations Manager at Royal Maritime Club, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

I am very sorry if your stay was disappointing and didn’t live up to your expectation. We shall take on board all of your comments and investigate further thank you. We do have many different rooms in the hotel, and superior rooms are available for those who what to stay in a more luxurious room. We are in process of refurbishing all of our rooms, which as you can imagine takes quite a lot of time to do in such a big hotel and being only a single hotel, but I am happy to say that nearly half of our rooms have been refurbished now, with four more having work done at the moment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We chose this place as it was walking distance from our rental car drop off and fairly convenient to the ferry. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the whole place as the feel of a by-gone era of honoring the naval community. In fact, literature in the room informs you that proceeds benefit the maritime charity.

The room was quite standard in a motel kind of way, very weak satellite on the tv, and thinnish walls that allowed noise from other rooms. The community room and decor is a good 30 years old; still comfortable. Laundry is available for 1 pound per wash. For a single night it was fine. And we especially appreciated getting a take away lunch when we had to leave early and miss breakfast. So, a mixed review. A bit expensive for what we got ($150 US after taxes).

Room Tip: Ask for a room not by other guests, and somewhere near the satellite dish.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaroldsMaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMC1856, The Royal Maritime Club Social Media Team at Royal Maritime Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Thanks so much for your review and we’re glad to hear the super feedback. Being a building that dates back to 1850 it’s inevitable that some elements of the building aren’t quite how we’d construct them today. But rest assured we’re currently part way through a major refurbishment programme which will soon see the entire hotel updated, while still nodding to our rich history and heritage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed her for a night and had an lovely time, the room was cracking and had a huge 2 person jacuzzi in, which we enjoyed a lot! The evening meal was amazing and we ate it all!

A couple of minor downsides, couldn’t use the pool straight away and the cooked breakfast wasn’t great, however the other options for breakfast were great and yummy so I didn’t go hungry!

I would recommend this place for a short trip!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMC1856, The Royal Maritime Club Social Media Team at Royal Maritime Club, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Thanks so much for your review Becky. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews