We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$90
Hotels.comUS$90
PricelineUS$90
Trip.comUS$90
eDreamsUS$90
Orbitz.comUS$90
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,630)
Filter reviews
1,631 results
Traveller rating
660
407
253
165
146
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
660
407
253
165
146
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club room dyson fan glass wall privacy glass tribute night huge tv modern hotel coffee machine sky tv great facilities leisure facilities steam room rooms are small the pub weekend break comfy bed free parking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 1,631 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2021

This hotel is reasonably OK - but I wouldn't recommend it for the following reasons:
1) it's quite far out from Portsmouth if you're there to sight-see, you'll need a car. We booked because we had a voucher and few other options.
2) The bedrooms are very small, and very dark. Our room had no window; there was a window in the bathroom and clear glass separates the bedroom from the bathroom, so a little light filters in but it was really rather like a gloomy dark cave. There's not much space and no wardrobe. It was clean however and the bed was comfortable.
3) The breakfast isn't great. There's not really many options for anyone who's vegan or vegetarian, it's just "eat what isn't meat"- so tomatoes, beans, mushrooms but they don't provide veggie sausages and the cereal options aren't very varied, just 3 option of Kellog's small boxes and no plant-based milk offered.
4) When we checked-in, we were told dinner was included - I had no idea, this wasn't clear when we booked with our voucher. We had already eaten + there's very little veggie option but felt like a waste. At breakfast, we were told we should have booked a table for breakfast (no one had told us this) - it was fine as there was plenty of space but the lady who greeted us was a little off about it.

It was OK and on par with a Travelodge or Premier Inn, but if/when returning to Portsmouth, I wouldn't pick here again. In fact, I wouldn't pick Village Hotel in any location again unless it was very convenient - it just isn't anything special.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank W0rdSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rojan Jimmy, Owner at Village Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2021

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2021

Nice hotel and room. Some staff very nice and helpful. Some were not. When you are paying over £100 for a room I would expect a bottle of water to be complimentary. £4 is excessive for water in my opinion. Charged for 2 breakfasts when we were told we would not be when we had to cancel them. Not acknowledged by reception staff when attempting check out. Although, very Positive staff experience with check in. 2 completely different experiences! Overall very nice hotel and room, just fell short of customer service at the end.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lbunce934415
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rojan Jimmy, Owner at Village Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2021

Hi Ibunce934415,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback.

I am pleased you enjoyed your visit however there were some elements of your stay that let us down. I am sorry about this. I have shared your feedback with relevant departments and we hope you will choose us again to stay.

Thanks
Jimmy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2021

Really enjoyed our stay here, the gym and spa facilities were great. The club room was a decent size with a massive tv and a comfy bed. The hotel has a Starbucks and onsite parking which is a short driving distance away from Gunwharf Quays and the Beach. A few downfalls: unable to get through to reception and the bathroom lacked privacy. Also, the food was really bland and overpriced at the Pub and Grill.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tee2607
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rojan Jimmy, Owner at Village Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2021

Hi Tee2607,
Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review for us.

Thanks
Jimmy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2021

Very impressed. Will be back. Great facilties, room was very clean and well designed. Great ambience to the restaurant. Good value for money. Great location in Portsmouth. Staff were all very helpful.

Date of stay: July 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rojan Jimmy, Owner at Village Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2021

Hi Jon,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. I am pleased you found all areas of the hotel ecellent.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks
Jimmy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2021

Ideally located, very modern and comfortable rooms.
Pool area was spotless and the steam room and gym were great too
Check in was a simple process and there was ample on site parking.
I will certainly stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rojan Jimmy, Owner at Village Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2021

Hi Michael,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Thanks
Jimmy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews