We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$98
Hotels.comUS$98
PricelineUS$98
Trip.comUS$104
eDreamsUS$98
CheapTicketsUS$98
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,598)
Filter reviews
1,599 results
Traveller rating
642
399
252
164
142
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
642
399
252
164
142
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club room dyson fan glass wall privacy glass tribute night modern hotel huge tv coffee machine sky tv great facilities leisure facilities steam room rooms are small weekend break the pub comfy bed short stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 1,599 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2021 via mobile

Not the best, staff were great and friendly.

Room small and not much storage for bags, the guide on the TV did not show what was on now and next and then bed was hard.

The worst thing was to find the shower gel bottle empty when in shower

Restrant food was ok but over priced, not sure how it’s 4 star

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank willjmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rojan Jimmy, Owner at Village Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2021

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2021

Poor cleanliness of bathroom
Poor choice of food, not enough food ordered by hotel
Not enough bar staff to serve guests whether ordering at the bar or via app
Staff not understanding the offers they offer when you book

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JackieParrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rojan Jimmy, Owner at Village Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2021

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2021

Room tired and grubby. Would stay this far out of Portsmouth for the room. Bathroom panel loose. Corners of room dusty and need of cleaning. Room smelt stale and of cigarette smoke. Would not want to spend long in the room

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank grantstillwell79
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rojan Jimmy, Owner at Village Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2021

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2021

None of the technology worked. It was the busiest hotel I have ever been to. Everything is made unnecessarily complicated. The breakfast food was terrible. It was unclean. When we complained, the staff didn't even acknowledge it, she just asked if we wanted a starbucks. They were understaffed and the staff were under trained.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sunshine58485958191
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rojan Jimmy, Owner at Village Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2021

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2021 via mobile

Not a full service hotel. If your expecting someone to serve you on any usual hotel capacity this isn't for you. It's like a Nandos concept, you do all the work, make your own key, check yourself on, get your own meals and the staff are on hand to ensure you stick rigidly to their regulations and procedures none of which anyone explains to you on arrival. Did you book a slot for breakfast, did you book a slot for dinner regardless if its included in your rate you will have to wait unless you booked a table in advance. The queues for coffee at breakfast are amusing, one automated coffee machine relaxes it's way through the chaos. Inclusive rates for dinner mean you cannot order on the app and have to wait in line at the horrifically busy bar to order with guests arguing with each other about who was first to be served. This is not a hotel to relax in, its great if your a labourer on a job and they've put you up for a few night working away as you can get tanked up in the noisy pub area, the word grill I suspect is more artistic license that fact as the food looks good but I suspect the deep fat fryer is the hardest working appliance in the hotel with the deep freeze taking the prize for runner up. Rooms are OK bit tnot very well cleaned, had to clean the wc for gross spillage all down the outside before use, room smelled of stale smoke as well. Air conditioning works well. Inner rooms have windows facing each other at close range so they've had to put transfers on the windows so guests don't see into each others rooms, these just feel like bars on the windows, again not pleasant. The windows are small and inner rooms are dark and dingy and feel almost windowless, not great if you need to work in your room with desk facing the wall in a dark corner. All I all if I was staying for one night on a work thing this would be marginally better than a travelodge or similar to a premier Inn but far more expensive. If you want a break then don't waste your money here, it's hard work. We're still here considering losing what we've paid and going somewhere else but we'll most likely tolerate it and learn from the experience. Hotel posts great photos and lists its benefits which promises much and sounds like a great choice but the reality is its a bit grim. Staff were polite and friendly but were strangley very busy considering the guests have to do most of the work. Saying that if you're under 20 and/or haven't much experience in hotel services or expectations you might like it. Ps you'll need your own transport as there is nothing within walking distance except the marriott hotel which annoyingly looks like a much better choice.

Room tip: Get outer view rooms as inner ones have smoked glass and are dark an dingy. Arrive early as even if you check in online they will just change your room if they need to.
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jasit2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rojan Jimmy, Owner at Village Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2021

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback.

I am sorry that your stay was not as per our usual standards. We do have a receptionist at hand 24/7 to help you with check-in incase you do not want to use the kiosk ipad check-in. Pub does get really full as it is popular with both residents and non residents. We recommend making reservation for all meal periods to avoid any disappointment.

I am pleased to read that our staff were pleasant during all your interactions.

We hope you will visit us again soon.

Thanks
Jimmy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews