We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$98
Hotels.comUS$98
Trip.comUS$106
eDreamsUS$98
PricelineUS$98
Orbitz.comUS$98
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,604)
Filter reviews
1,604 results
Traveller rating
644
400
252
164
144
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
644
400
252
164
144
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club room dyson fan glass wall privacy glass tribute night modern hotel huge tv coffee machine sky tv great facilities leisure facilities steam room rooms are small weekend break the pub comfy bed short stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 1,604 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2021

Charlotte from the front desk at The Village Hotel Portsmouth was super helpful and professional, she really helped me in arranging a suprise for my friend upon check in………... I Appreciate it a lot :)

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 497harrietf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rojan Jimmy, Owner at Village Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2021

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive review,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2021

Good location very close to ferry. Lot's of Parking easy check in rooms are well appointed with Sky TV. Breakfast was excellent with a lot of choice. Bed's are very comfortable rooms have great tech. Keeps you out of city traffic if you you are going to the port. All in all a good stay.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rojan Jimmy, Owner at Village Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2021

Thank you for taking the time to. write your positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2021 via mobile

For over £100 a night without breakfast I don’t think it’s too much to expect in our room:
Shower gel dispenser in the shower to actually contain shower gel.
The flashy automatic window blind in the bathroom ( the only window in the room) to actually open
Somewhere to put a small hand luggage size suitcase or even a wardrobe! The rooms
Are just tiny….

The privacy glass on the bathroom didn’t extend to the actual bathroom door so not enough privacy. And the fact you can turn off the privacy glass, well isn’t that a joy when you’re staying with kids…. - who designs this stuff?

Speaking of kids, always a pleasure to have them up from 630am due to the noise from the keep fit classes.

And as for the ‘facilities’ we chose this hotel because it has a swimming pool. Don’t be fooled by the lovely pictures, it’s a tiny pool and the level of cleanliness is sub standard. The pool changing area floor was dirty and there was hair all around the pool and pool shower area. Disgusting!

Finally, if you’re going to charge £5 for car parking for a hotel in the middle of nowhere, at least train check in staff to ask for a car registration number.

Bar staff are very nice but food is overpriced and lacking in variety.

Not worth the money at all

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank tired-bus-raveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rojan Jimmy, Owner at Village Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2021

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2021 via mobile

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

Why Any hotel would have a 24 hour GYM baffles me, I’m currently lay awake at 4:30am and can here people throwing weights around and constant noise from the gym, I have rang reception and they have apologised and said

“sorry there is a 24 hour gym so there’s not much we can do”

GREAT!!! You pay to stay at a hotel for business and travel here to have a good nights sleep the night before a massive event and you’re kept awake all night by constant noise from the gym!!!! It’s literally like people are throwing furniture around above and below your room!!!

Room tip: Avoid staying here at all costs
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank bertw622
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rojan Jimmy, Owner at Village Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2021

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2021

Dirty in the bedroom and bathroom, services aren’t worth the money. Loud and can’t sleep due to noise, bed is unbelievably uncomfortable. Won’t be staying here again, tv barely even works and has no connection for phones or any apps like YouTube. So couldn’t watch tv at all. Shower pressure is awful and so dirty. Didn’t get provided towels other than hand towels and when we asked for some we never received them.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank khill254330
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rojan Jimmy, Owner at Village Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2021

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews