We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Nearby Hotels
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel(Portsmouth)
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$105
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Royal Beach Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$64
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$67/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$117/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$49
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$58/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$171
US$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$87
US$85
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

G! Boutique Hotel(Portsmouth)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,706)
Filter reviews
1,707 results
Traveller rating
289
631
474
184
129
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
631
474
184
129
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are smallcentral locationgunwharf quayssecure car parkshort staytrain stationwould stay againone night staybed was very comfortablecouple of nightsgun wharftea and coffeehistoric dockyardisle of wightyogurtuniversityferry
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 1,707 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2017

We arrived in Portsmouth late after a previous hotel had over booked and had no room for us. Turns out it was graduation in the city and we could not find a single hotel with a room except this one. We paid 159 plus parking at 7 pounds. We arrives after 10 pm and were gone by 6 am. The room was tiny which was managable. The room had a stupid little fan blowing on the table and the heat in the room was unbearable. We wish we had slept in the car. This hotel is a 2 star and got away with charging us this crazy price and the room was shocking. I understand prices go up when there is limited space but Ibis should be ashamed of the price they charged us for this room. We will never stay in an Ibis again, We will never recommend an Ibis and we will share our story of this awful hotel. Bad end to our holiday in the UK.

Room Tip: All rooms are crap and so hot. No air in the room
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wynnemill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your comments after your recent stay in our hotel.

I am sorry to read that the hotel did not meet your expectations. For that, I would like to offer you my apologies.

In relation to the room rate, hotels operate a flexible pricing policy so that, as with low cost airlines, the price depends very much on levels of demand. This policy allows us to promote very attractive prices on some days, but prices are higher on days when there is higher demand. This usually revolves around specific events in the city, when all hotels adopt the same approach. As ever, from a commercial perspective, price is always subject to supply and demand.

Best regards,

Sergio Rojo

Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

Upon arriving we were warmly welcomed by a gentleman at the reception. Although there was not sufficient parking, he was very informative about where else to park and luckily a student union parking spot was next door. Although you have to pay, it was only 2 pounds for 24 hr parking.

When arriving, the gentleman presented us with a welcome bag - Maltesers, banana and some slippers, which was a nice surprise, especially since we only booked one night. It was all done swiftly via their mobile application and then we ventured up to the room. The decor is very modern and artistic in style and the room was petite but made great use of the space. It had everything you needed for a weekend stay but I wouldn't enjoy anymore than that in that room. One issue I had was they had two towels for each of us to use for the shower but no hand towels so if you dont mind washing your bits with the same towel as your face then you are laughing really.

Breakfast the next morning was an absolute delight. It was all hot and was constantly kept on top of by the staff and the chef. The food was good quality and tasted very nice. There wasn't a huge selection of breads but if you like your croissants and a generic bread for toast then you cant go wrong here. Apart from my partner becoming disappointed with the fact that in the hotel room it advertised breakfast with pictures of avocado and other luxurious delights to then be presented with non of those suggestions then I would say that breakfast was a hit!

You then drop your key card into the box at reception and be on your way as though you were never there in the first place, ideal for those who hate awkward goodbyes!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LimTowry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at ibis portsmouth and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Cristina Cavaco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

We came to Portsmouth only for one night to visit our friend who recommended us to stay here. The hotel has parking space which was brilliant for us and also the parking is valid for 24hours, so despite the fact we have left the hotel we could use it for bit longer.
The hotel looks bit older from outside, but inside is nice simple modern interior. When we arrived we were lovely welcomed by one of the staff on reception (I think her name was Diana) who was very kind and friendly and explained us everything we needed to know.
The room was clean and tidy and despite the fact it was small there was everything we needed - comfy bed, chair and table, wardrobe and even hairdryer and coffeeteria so we could have hot drink while watching TV which was placed on wall with cool decoration around it.
The breakfast on Saturday (and I think even on Sunday) was served perfectly till 12pm, so we didn't have to wake up early after night out. We went for breakfast at 11am slightly sceptically that there would not be so much remaining, but there was really nice range of different goodies waiting for us! From full English breakfast, through ham and cheese to fresh croissant and pain au chocolate.
Also yogurts and juices were available and machine for coffees.
We were really happy here and will stay in again once we are in Portsmouth.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Silvie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Portsmouth and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Cristina Cavaco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

this was an excellent hotel for the journey we were having. ideally situated for the dockyard and gunwharf quays.
the staff there were more than helpful, nothing was to much trouble. the rooms were neat and compact and cleaned every day. we could park the car outside the hotel and walk to our destinations.
the only downside is if you do not like noise outside at night, winston churchill avenue can be very busy at all times and there are a few nightclubs which stay open till 3-00 am so you do hear a few idiots on the way home, but apart from that i would def go back there again.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Chas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Portsmouth. Kind regards, Cristina Cavaco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

This hotel was booked by my work, I wouldn't have chosen it personally but I was away on business.

The room was small and the bathroom smaller especially as I was in a double on my own and it was small even just for me. The room was hot and fan tiny and not great.

Breakfast was good and staff friendly when you could find someone.

This hotel seems to be like an upmarket hostel. A little strange feel about it

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank MyIslandGirl95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Ibis Portsmouth. We have noted your comments about your stay which we are addressing. Kind regards, Cristina Cavaco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews