We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern funky hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed 24 July 2017

This hotel is very modern, continental style and very spacious on the ground floor. The bar, reception lounge and restaurant are all bright and cheerful with modern styling. Drinks a little expensive and food not fantastic but ok. It is what it is but I thought the menu limited and pricey for what they served. Breakfast was good with a great variety but the hot food had been left on the warmer a bit too long. The rooms are clean but quite compact. The bathrooms even more compact and required some contortions to use the loo if you are a little overweight like me! The staff were mainly young and not english but all cheerful and helpful and friendly.
The room was hot with a small electric noisy fan which you could not have on while sleeping. neither could we open the windows as the extractor fans were outside and really noisy.
I would use the hotel again if i got it on a deal but i would eat and drink elsewhere.

Room Tip: Dont book rooms overlooking the back of the hotel. Noisy fans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Broadsman19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Front Office Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Thank you for such constructive feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at ibis Portsmouth and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Adam Kendall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 1,579 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2017

We arrived in Portsmouth late after a previous hotel had over booked and had no room for us. Turns out it was graduation in the city and we could not find a single hotel with a room except this one. We paid 159 plus parking at 7 pounds. We arrives after 10 pm and were gone by 6 am. The room was tiny which was managable. The room had a stupid little fan blowing on the table and the heat in the room was unbearable. We wish we had slept in the car. This hotel is a 2 star and got away with charging us this crazy price and the room was shocking. I understand prices go up when there is limited space but Ibis should be ashamed of the price they charged us for this room. We will never stay in an Ibis again, We will never recommend an Ibis and we will share our story of this awful hotel. Bad end to our holiday in the UK.

Room Tip: All rooms are crap and so hot. No air in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wynnemill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your comments after your recent stay in our hotel.

I am sorry to read that the hotel did not meet your expectations. For that, I would like to offer you my apologies.

In relation to the room rate, hotels operate a flexible pricing policy so that, as with low cost airlines, the price depends very much on levels of demand. This policy allows us to promote very attractive prices on some days, but prices are higher on days when there is higher demand. This usually revolves around specific events in the city, when all hotels adopt the same approach. As ever, from a commercial perspective, price is always subject to supply and demand.

Best regards,

Sergio Rojo

Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

Upon arriving we were warmly welcomed by a gentleman at the reception. Although there was not sufficient parking, he was very informative about where else to park and luckily a student union parking spot was next door. Although you have to pay, it was only 2 pounds for 24 hr parking.

When arriving, the gentleman presented us with a welcome bag - Maltesers, banana and some slippers, which was a nice surprise, especially since we only booked one night. It was all done swiftly via their mobile application and then we ventured up to the room. The decor is very modern and artistic in style and the room was petite but made great use of the space. It had everything you needed for a weekend stay but I wouldn't enjoy anymore than that in that room. One issue I had was they had two towels for each of us to use for the shower but no hand towels so if you dont mind washing your bits with the same towel as your face then you are laughing really.

Breakfast the next morning was an absolute delight. It was all hot and was constantly kept on top of by the staff and the chef. The food was good quality and tasted very nice. There wasn't a huge selection of breads but if you like your croissants and a generic bread for toast then you cant go wrong here. Apart from my partner becoming disappointed with the fact that in the hotel room it advertised breakfast with pictures of avocado and other luxurious delights to then be presented with non of those suggestions then I would say that breakfast was a hit!

You then drop your key card into the box at reception and be on your way as though you were never there in the first place, ideal for those who hate awkward goodbyes!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LimTowry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at ibis portsmouth and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Cristina Cavaco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

We came to Portsmouth only for one night to visit our friend who recommended us to stay here. The hotel has parking space which was brilliant for us and also the parking is valid for 24hours, so despite the fact we have left the hotel we could use it for bit longer.
The hotel looks bit older from outside, but inside is nice simple modern interior. When we arrived we were lovely welcomed by one of the staff on reception (I think her name was Diana) who was very kind and friendly and explained us everything we needed to know.
The room was clean and tidy and despite the fact it was small there was everything we needed - comfy bed, chair and table, wardrobe and even hairdryer and coffeeteria so we could have hot drink while watching TV which was placed on wall with cool decoration around it.
The breakfast on Saturday (and I think even on Sunday) was served perfectly till 12pm, so we didn't have to wake up early after night out. We went for breakfast at 11am slightly sceptically that there would not be so much remaining, but there was really nice range of different goodies waiting for us! From full English breakfast, through ham and cheese to fresh croissant and pain au chocolate.
Also yogurts and juices were available and machine for coffees.
We were really happy here and will stay in again once we are in Portsmouth.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Silvie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Portsmouth and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Cristina Cavaco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

this was an excellent hotel for the journey we were having. ideally situated for the dockyard and gunwharf quays.
the staff there were more than helpful, nothing was to much trouble. the rooms were neat and compact and cleaned every day. we could park the car outside the hotel and walk to our destinations.
the only downside is if you do not like noise outside at night, winston churchill avenue can be very busy at all times and there are a few nightclubs which stay open till 3-00 am so you do hear a few idiots on the way home, but apart from that i would def go back there again.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Chas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Portsmouth. Kind regards, Cristina Cavaco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.9 km away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
5.6 km away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,272 reviews
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#20 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,044 reviews
2.1 km away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Portsmouth Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Portsmouth Centre

Address: Winston Churchill Avenue, Portsmouth PO1 2LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: $70 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Portsmouth Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis is the only city centre hotel in Portsmouth located 3 min walk from Portsmouth & Southsea train station, shopping centre and Guild Hall, 15 min walk from Gunwharf Quays, D Day Museum and shipyards. Hotel is nearly 100% refurbished and has 24- hour Reception and Restaurant, 2 conference rooms, on site car parking and Wifi in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ibis Portsmouth Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Portsmouth Centre Hotel Portsmouth
Accor Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing