We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Room very clean well decorated bed to die for only thing which let's the rm down is the bathroom very small hotel in good location we were told free parking buy when got there it was £7 for 24 hrs also told they did rm service but when we got there they said they don't do room service what would of been nice in room would be a menu for the restaurant

Room Tip: Sweet dream room lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Assistant General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear Rebecca,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Ibis Portsmouth Centre and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards,

Sergio Rojo

Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 76 of 1,589 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2017

Within walking distance of centre of town and all the attractions. Gunwharf Quay is about 20 mins walk with loads of restaurants and shopping. Also the Dockyard with all it's attractions. The rooms are small but clean, tidy and modern. Reception is modern with no desk just receptionists sat on a sofa and your check in is done from their portable devices. Easy check out just a key drop.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevorhewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Assistant General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Portsmouth.

I look forward to welcoming you back at the Ibis Portsmouth Centre.

Kind regards,

Sergio Rojo

Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

Fairly standard budget hotel that is well positioned for Portsmouth. Rooms are compact but well fitted out. Decent value and very comfortable. There is parking and breakfast but you pay extra. Overall a good option if on a budget.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Portsmouth and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Cristina Cavaco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

This hotel is very modern, continental style and very spacious on the ground floor. The bar, reception lounge and restaurant are all bright and cheerful with modern styling. Drinks a little expensive and food not fantastic but ok. It is what it is but I thought the menu limited and pricey for what they served. Breakfast was good with a great variety but the hot food had been left on the warmer a bit too long. The rooms are clean but quite compact. The bathrooms even more compact and required some contortions to use the loo if you are a little overweight like me! The staff were mainly young and not english but all cheerful and helpful and friendly.
The room was hot with a small electric noisy fan which you could not have on while sleeping. neither could we open the windows as the extractor fans were outside and really noisy.
I would use the hotel again if i got it on a deal but i would eat and drink elsewhere.

Room Tip: Dont book rooms overlooking the back of the hotel. Noisy fans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Broadsman19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Front Office Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Thank you for such constructive feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at ibis Portsmouth and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Adam Kendall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

We arrived in Portsmouth late after a previous hotel had over booked and had no room for us. Turns out it was graduation in the city and we could not find a single hotel with a room except this one. We paid 159 plus parking at 7 pounds. We arrives after 10 pm and were gone by 6 am. The room was tiny which was managable. The room had a stupid little fan blowing on the table and the heat in the room was unbearable. We wish we had slept in the car. This hotel is a 2 star and got away with charging us this crazy price and the room was shocking. I understand prices go up when there is limited space but Ibis should be ashamed of the price they charged us for this room. We will never stay in an Ibis again, We will never recommend an Ibis and we will share our story of this awful hotel. Bad end to our holiday in the UK.

Room Tip: All rooms are crap and so hot. No air in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wynnemill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your comments after your recent stay in our hotel.

I am sorry to read that the hotel did not meet your expectations. For that, I would like to offer you my apologies.

In relation to the room rate, hotels operate a flexible pricing policy so that, as with low cost airlines, the price depends very much on levels of demand. This policy allows us to promote very attractive prices on some days, but prices are higher on days when there is higher demand. This usually revolves around specific events in the city, when all hotels adopt the same approach. As ever, from a commercial perspective, price is always subject to supply and demand.

Best regards,

Sergio Rojo

Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.9 km away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
5.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,278 reviews
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#21 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,049 reviews
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Portsmouth Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Portsmouth Centre

Address: Winston Churchill Avenue, Portsmouth PO1 2LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: $65 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Portsmouth Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis is the only city centre hotel in Portsmouth located 3 min walk from Portsmouth & Southsea train station, shopping centre and Guild Hall, 15 min walk from Gunwharf Quays, D Day Museum and shipyards. Hotel is nearly 100% refurbished and has 24- hour Reception and Restaurant, 2 conference rooms, on site car parking and Wifi in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ibis Portsmouth Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Portsmouth Centre Hotel Portsmouth
Accor Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing