We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel(Portsmouth)
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$108/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$83
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$96/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$117/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Royal Beach Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$76
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$104
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Queen's Hotel(Portsmouth)
US$126
US$112
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
G! Boutique Hotel(Portsmouth)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$106/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
US$120
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,722)
Filter reviews
1,722 results
Traveller rating
291
636
478
186
131
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
291
636
478
186
131
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are smallcentral locationgunwharf quaysshort staysecure car parktrain stationwould stay againone night staybed was very comfortablecouple of nightsgun wharftea and coffeehistoric dockyardisle of wightyogurtuniversityferry
Filter
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 1,722 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Within walking distance of centre of town and all the attractions. Gunwharf Quay is about 20 mins walk with loads of restaurants and shopping. Also the Dockyard with all it's attractions. The rooms are small but clean, tidy and modern. Reception is modern with no desk just receptionists sat on a sofa and your check in is done from their portable devices. Easy check out just a key drop.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevorhewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Assistant General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Portsmouth.

I look forward to welcoming you back at the Ibis Portsmouth Centre.

Kind regards,

Sergio Rojo

Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

Fairly standard budget hotel that is well positioned for Portsmouth. Rooms are compact but well fitted out. Decent value and very comfortable. There is parking and breakfast but you pay extra. Overall a good option if on a budget.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Portsmouth and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Cristina Cavaco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

This hotel is very modern, continental style and very spacious on the ground floor. The bar, reception lounge and restaurant are all bright and cheerful with modern styling. Drinks a little expensive and food not fantastic but ok. It is what it is but I thought the menu limited and pricey for what they served. Breakfast was good with a great variety but the hot food had been left on the warmer a bit too long. The rooms are clean but quite compact. The bathrooms even more compact and required some contortions to use the loo if you are a little overweight like me! The staff were mainly young and not english but all cheerful and helpful and friendly.
The room was hot with a small electric noisy fan which you could not have on while sleeping. neither could we open the windows as the extractor fans were outside and really noisy.
I would use the hotel again if i got it on a deal but i would eat and drink elsewhere.

Room Tip: Dont book rooms overlooking the back of the hotel. Noisy fans.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Broadsman19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Front Office Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Thank you for such constructive feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at ibis Portsmouth and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Adam Kendall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

We arrived in Portsmouth late after a previous hotel had over booked and had no room for us. Turns out it was graduation in the city and we could not find a single hotel with a room except this one. We paid 159 plus parking at 7 pounds. We arrives after 10 pm and were gone by 6 am. The room was tiny which was managable. The room had a stupid little fan blowing on the table and the heat in the room was unbearable. We wish we had slept in the car. This hotel is a 2 star and got away with charging us this crazy price and the room was shocking. I understand prices go up when there is limited space but Ibis should be ashamed of the price they charged us for this room. We will never stay in an Ibis again, We will never recommend an Ibis and we will share our story of this awful hotel. Bad end to our holiday in the UK.

Room Tip: All rooms are crap and so hot. No air in the room
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wynnemill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your comments after your recent stay in our hotel.

I am sorry to read that the hotel did not meet your expectations. For that, I would like to offer you my apologies.

In relation to the room rate, hotels operate a flexible pricing policy so that, as with low cost airlines, the price depends very much on levels of demand. This policy allows us to promote very attractive prices on some days, but prices are higher on days when there is higher demand. This usually revolves around specific events in the city, when all hotels adopt the same approach. As ever, from a commercial perspective, price is always subject to supply and demand.

Best regards,

Sergio Rojo

Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

Upon arriving we were warmly welcomed by a gentleman at the reception. Although there was not sufficient parking, he was very informative about where else to park and luckily a student union parking spot was next door. Although you have to pay, it was only 2 pounds for 24 hr parking.

When arriving, the gentleman presented us with a welcome bag - Maltesers, banana and some slippers, which was a nice surprise, especially since we only booked one night. It was all done swiftly via their mobile application and then we ventured up to the room. The decor is very modern and artistic in style and the room was petite but made great use of the space. It had everything you needed for a weekend stay but I wouldn't enjoy anymore than that in that room. One issue I had was they had two towels for each of us to use for the shower but no hand towels so if you dont mind washing your bits with the same towel as your face then you are laughing really.

Breakfast the next morning was an absolute delight. It was all hot and was constantly kept on top of by the staff and the chef. The food was good quality and tasted very nice. There wasn't a huge selection of breads but if you like your croissants and a generic bread for toast then you cant go wrong here. Apart from my partner becoming disappointed with the fact that in the hotel room it advertised breakfast with pictures of avocado and other luxurious delights to then be presented with non of those suggestions then I would say that breakfast was a hit!

You then drop your key card into the box at reception and be on your way as though you were never there in the first place, ideal for those who hate awkward goodbyes!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LimTowry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at ibis portsmouth and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Cristina Cavaco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews