We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poorest Ibis I've visited”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Arrived a early and was told to go away and come back at check in time. No offer to store bags.
Came back later and they have adopted the no counter check in system where you try to find a person with a check in tee shirt. The receptionist was busy with a complicated foreign visitors needs so I waited and eventually another receptionist appeared and a git my room key and a present of some bottled water sweets and slippers.

Got to the room and as it was hot I looked for the air conditioning control, only to find there was none, only a small electric fan.

The room design was crazy so needed to move furniture to get into the bathroom and the light fittings had cables coming out of the headboard up to the ceiling and back to the light fitting, which looked like a possible hanging accident and surely can't comply with Health and Safety rules.

I booked a double room, but got two single beds, so not ideal.

Looks like the place has been refurbished, but lots of wasted space with the corridor being wider than the rooms.

Reasonable location

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Kenneth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Assistant General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Mr Kenneth,

Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your experience after your recent stay at the Ibis Portsmouth Centre.

I am really sorry to read that we fell so short on your experience in our hotel.

I have not been able to contact you directly over the phone in order to have a conversation with you and to know first hand the problems that you encountered.

Nevertheless, I would like to confirm the full refund of your stay, as per the email that I have sent you today.

Do not hesitate to contact me directly at any time via email (h1461-dm@accor.com) for any doubt or enquiry you may have.

I hope I can welcome you back to our hotel personally and make sure you have a pleasant stay with us.

Best regards,

Sergio Rojo

Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 1,579 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Ibis proved to be the only high point in an otherwise disappointing weekend in Portsmouth.Hotel staff were pleasant and helpful,booking in and out was quick,the room was very small but functional.Services were well presented especially the breakfast which was plentiful and well served by attentive staff,all in all a pleasant experience.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank clinton b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Assistant General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Portsmouth.

I look forward to welcoming you back at the Ibis Portsmouth Centre.

Kind regards,

Sergio Rojo

Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

The room was clean and the hotel well situated for both Portsmouth and Southsea. The staff were particularly good, really friendly and helpful. The lobby and the bar were very attractive.
However, there was no aircon and less towels than you'd normally expect both of which are probably good for the environment but felt like cost cutting that should have been reflected in the price, as the hotel was not particularly cheap.
Also the cleaner knocked on our door almost as soon as we arrived and also first thing in the morning, before the normal time you'd expect to have to put up a do not disturb sign, which was odd.
In general perfectly functional but should have been cheaper, considering the economies the hotel seems to be making.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Assistant General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Katy,

We very much appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at the ibis Portsmouth Centre.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your responses with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff.

Nevertheless, I take note on your comment about the Housekeeping service in your room. I will address to our Housekeeping team in order to improve the quality of our services for all our guests.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best regards,

Sergio Rojo

Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Room Tip: Make sure you book a big room, or else you will struggle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels
Thank _rjnorsenk
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

This is a perfectly functional hotel, very close to the ferry ports, it's also a short walk to Guns Wharf for all kinds of food.
The check in is quick and efficient
The restaurant only has a small amount to choose from but there is something for everyone I'm sure.
The rooms are very compact and clean but have all that you need for a comfortable stay..

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Assistant General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Portsmouth.

I look forward to welcoming you back at the Ibis Portsmouth Centre.

Kind regards,

Sergio Rojo

Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.9 km away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
5.6 km away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,272 reviews
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#20 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,044 reviews
2.1 km away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Portsmouth Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Portsmouth Centre

Address: Winston Churchill Avenue, Portsmouth PO1 2LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: $70 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Portsmouth Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis is the only city centre hotel in Portsmouth located 3 min walk from Portsmouth & Southsea train station, shopping centre and Guild Hall, 15 min walk from Gunwharf Quays, D Day Museum and shipyards. Hotel is nearly 100% refurbished and has 24- hour Reception and Restaurant, 2 conference rooms, on site car parking and Wifi in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ibis Portsmouth Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Portsmouth Centre Hotel Portsmouth
Accor Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing