We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smart new generation holiday inn express”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2016

A return visit for us - such a transformation. Gone - creaky doors, miserable bathrooms, dull corridors and dangerous flagpoles! This new generation of holiday inn express hotels is super -

large car park and easy access off the motorway [look for the shell petrol station when turning in] Close to Portsmouth and all its attractions and the ferries.

smart public areas - contemporary but still with comfort.

lovely spacious bedrooms, very comfortable bed with good quality bed linen, smart decor and a great bathroom with power shower. Extras like blackout curtains, pillow choice, full length mirror, excellent large flat screen TV, lots of plug points, sofa bed in family room, kettle, iron etc. Corridors are very quiet and we didn't hear much noise from other bedrooms. Air conditioning is very quiet as well.

Easy and efficient WI FI used in lounge area and bedroom.

Price includes breakfast [children stay/eat free] which offers a good variety - cooked and continental [I found my porridge, the husband his favourite - croissant with marmalade] Then we both had scrambled egg and bacon!!!

Staff helpful and pleasant.

Unfortunately dinner was a bit of a disappointment but this hotel is so keen to get things right I am sure they will sort this out. It was slow service the night we stayed - burgers, pies etc on the menu.

note - no safe in rooms and not a lot of storage. WE personally were not that keen on the orange shower/hair wash in the bathroom. Beware of trip hazard of amazingly long cord on the hairdryer - you could skip with it!!!!

Good value for money, very comfortable and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Those overlooking the inner courtyard are probably quieter as they are further away from traffic noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank caroline b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolinesanders2016, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2016

Dear Caroline,

Thank you for your complimentary review on your recent stay here with us.

We're glad you liked our newly refurbished hotel. Whilst we have removed safes from our bedrooms to allow for more comfort and space, we do provide a lock-box service at reception. Guests wishing to keep their valuables secure during their stay can use this service at no extra cost.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 340 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2016

This was our first stay at a HI Exp. Great welcome from David on reception who did all he could to ensure our stay would be a good one. Our room was well appointed, spotlessly clean and had everything we needed for our one night stay.. A good breakfast (included) the next morning. Will definitely use this chain again.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulww99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolinesanders2016, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2016

Dear paulww99

Thank you for your 5 star review on your recent stay here at the hotel.

I am delighted to read that you found the welcome you received from David on reception to be great and that David was able to help you with everything he could. As a team here at the hotel we do strive to give the best possible customer service to all our guests.

It is pleasure to read that you took full advantage of the facilities that we offer here at the hotel and that you found breakfast to be good to.

Once again thank you for the impressive 5 star review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Portsmouth

Kind Regards

David Mason
Nights Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

This was our first time in a Holiday Inn Express and we were very happy. Modern decor, big comfy beds, large tv, ironing board/iron, hairdryer and tea making facilities. We even had a full length mirror! Bathroom was lovely and spacious and we had plenty of towels.

Staff were very helpful and an excellent buffet breakfast is included in the price!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank Charlie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolinesanders2016, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2016

Dear Charlie R

Thank you for your recent review on your stay with us here at the hotel.

I am really pleased to read that you took full advantage of all the amenities that we offer here and that you found breakfast to be excellent to.

As a team at the hotel we do strive to offer the best possible customer service and to read that you found us to be very helpful this does make us smile.

Once again I would like to thank you for such a lovely feed back and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Portsmouth.

Kind Regards

David Mason
Nights Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016

We stayed for one night in a family room with our little boy on the sofa bed and toddler in a travel cot which we brought ourselves. We found the hotel to be very clean and modern. The bed was extremely comfortable and the shower very powerful. The children were pleased with the selection at breakfast - sausages, bacon, scrambled egg and beans as well as muffins and lovely warm croissants. Above all, we were pleased at how friendly all the staff were. The only criticism is that we went elsewhere for a meal before checking in and then found out that children could eat free for dinner at the hotel which would have been nice. It would be useful for the menu to be available on the hotel website so we could have a look in advance at prices and the choice available.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TravellingGirl31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolinesanders2016, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2016

Dear TravellingGirl31,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your 5 star rating. We are glad to hear you found the hotel clean and modern with comfortable beds, our power showers seem to be quite popular and have become a nice addition during the refurbishment.

I'm glad you enjoyed our selection of breakfast items and that the staff were friendly, we will pass your lovely compliments on to our breakfast team.

I'm sorry to hear you were not aware that children eat free at our hotel but we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Regards

Guest Service Assistant
Jacob Hanvey-Walklet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016

We have stayed in a Holiday Inn Express on several occasions, and they have all been pretty average. Not expecting much more here but we were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel was being extended so signs of building work but no disruption. The room was great, large, clean and decorated to a very good standard. It looked as though it had just been refurbished and the bathroom was the best we had seen at any budget chain. The breakfast was a good choice with coffee on tap. It would be first choice if we come back to the area.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pixel8ted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolinesanders2016, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2016

Dear Pixel8ted,

Thank you for your lovely review of your time staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth North. We have indeed been recently refurbished and it's nice to read you thought so highly of our new look bedrooms.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we're thrilled we'll be your first choice should a return trip to the area arise. We look forward to welcoming you back then.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
3.6 km away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,279 reviews
6.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
6.9 km away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#22 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,050 reviews
5.8 km away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#23 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,592 reviews
4.9 km away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North

Address: Eastern Road, Portsmouth PO6 1UN, England (Formerly Hilton Portsmouth)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $67 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, offering contemporary accommodation just a ten minute drive from the Historic Dockyard, home to the Lord Nelson's HMS Victory, and Portsmouth's thriving city centre. Gunwharf Quays is a fantastic location to enjoy great shopping and dining and the famous Spinnaker Tower can be seen from miles around. Southampton Airport is just 30 minutes away by car. Paulton's Park, home to Peppa Pig World, is just 30 minutes away. This Portsmouth hotel has recently been extensively refurbished and is now a proud member of the Holiday Inn Express family. We are proud to offer a friendly welcome, comfortable accommodation and a convenient location for business and leisure guests. Our guests can enjoy great facilities including evening meals and a licensed bar. All of our rates include breakfast so our guests wake up from a great night's sleep and enjoy a tasty and filling start to their day. Please note, due to an issue with our premises license we are not permitted to sell any alcohol from Friday 26th May until Tuesday 30th May. We apologise for any inconvenience caused. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Hilton International Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hilton International
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing