We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$78
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Portsmouth Marriott Hotel(Portsmouth)
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Royal Beach Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$77
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$104
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$114/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
US$121
US$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Hotel(Portsmouth)
US$115
US$102
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

G! Boutique Hotel(Portsmouth)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$105/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (488)
Filter reviews
488 results
Traveller rating
290
149
37
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
290
149
37
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspetrol stationusb socketsgood sizesofa bedhi expresswe booked a family roomlarge tvplenty of free parkingwalk in showermodern hotelbreakfast was includediron and ironing boardblackout curtainsthe breakfast areabaked beanspark and rideearly ferry
Filter
Updating list...
412 - 417 of 488 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2016

This was our first stay at a HI Exp. Great welcome from David on reception who did all he could to ensure our stay would be a good one. Our room was well appointed, spotlessly clean and had everything we needed for our one night stay.. A good breakfast (included) the next morning. Will definitely use this chain again.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulww99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolinesanders2016, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2016

Dear paulww99

Thank you for your 5 star review on your recent stay here at the hotel.

I am delighted to read that you found the welcome you received from David on reception to be great and that David was able to help you with everything he could. As a team here at the hotel we do strive to give the best possible customer service to all our guests.

It is pleasure to read that you took full advantage of the facilities that we offer here at the hotel and that you found breakfast to be good to.

Once again thank you for the impressive 5 star review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Portsmouth

Kind Regards

David Mason
Nights Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

This was our first time in a Holiday Inn Express and we were very happy. Modern decor, big comfy beds, large tv, ironing board/iron, hairdryer and tea making facilities. We even had a full length mirror! Bathroom was lovely and spacious and we had plenty of towels.

Staff were very helpful and an excellent buffet breakfast is included in the price!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank Charlie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolinesanders2016, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2016

Dear Charlie R

Thank you for your recent review on your stay with us here at the hotel.

I am really pleased to read that you took full advantage of all the amenities that we offer here and that you found breakfast to be excellent to.

As a team at the hotel we do strive to offer the best possible customer service and to read that you found us to be very helpful this does make us smile.

Once again I would like to thank you for such a lovely feed back and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Portsmouth.

Kind Regards

David Mason
Nights Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016

We stayed for one night in a family room with our little boy on the sofa bed and toddler in a travel cot which we brought ourselves. We found the hotel to be very clean and modern. The bed was extremely comfortable and the shower very powerful. The children were pleased with the selection at breakfast - sausages, bacon, scrambled egg and beans as well as muffins and lovely warm croissants. Above all, we were pleased at how friendly all the staff were. The only criticism is that we went elsewhere for a meal before checking in and then found out that children could eat free for dinner at the hotel which would have been nice. It would be useful for the menu to be available on the hotel website so we could have a look in advance at prices and the choice available.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TravellingGirl31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolinesanders2016, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2016

Dear TravellingGirl31,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your 5 star rating. We are glad to hear you found the hotel clean and modern with comfortable beds, our power showers seem to be quite popular and have become a nice addition during the refurbishment.

I'm glad you enjoyed our selection of breakfast items and that the staff were friendly, we will pass your lovely compliments on to our breakfast team.

I'm sorry to hear you were not aware that children eat free at our hotel but we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Regards

Guest Service Assistant
Jacob Hanvey-Walklet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016

We have stayed in a Holiday Inn Express on several occasions, and they have all been pretty average. Not expecting much more here but we were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel was being extended so signs of building work but no disruption. The room was great, large, clean and decorated to a very good standard. It looked as though it had just been refurbished and the bathroom was the best we had seen at any budget chain. The breakfast was a good choice with coffee on tap. It would be first choice if we come back to the area.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pixel8ted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolinesanders2016, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2016

Dear Pixel8ted,

Thank you for your lovely review of your time staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth North. We have indeed been recently refurbished and it's nice to read you thought so highly of our new look bedrooms.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we're thrilled we'll be your first choice should a return trip to the area arise. We look forward to welcoming you back then.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016

We stayed one night at this still fairly new hotel and enjoyed it a lot. At check-in we asked for a quiet room (as the hotel is located next to the highways). The lady at the reception was not quite sure, but she told us to check us and come back to her if we were not satisfied. Actually, we were not, and it was not a problem to change the room. The new room faced the inner court, so was much quieter, however, we had to use the stairs to get to the first floor as their are no elevators. You may want to consider this if you have a lot of luggage ... The room itself was very modern, very nice, the extra gadgets explained by other reviewers were indeed quite nice. Parking is free and very convenient, and Portsmouth's sites can be reached very fast.
Obviously, there is not much around the hotel, so we had dinner at the bar (pizza pepperoni), and while a bit pricey, tasted very well. Breakfast was also nice, nothing to complain about.
All in all, a definite recommendation for Portsmouth!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank barker0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolinesanders2016, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2016

Dear barker0410,

I'm glad my colleague was able to assist you with you room preference.

Thank you for leaving us with your feedback. We're happy you had such an enjoyable stay and you'll use us as a recommendation. Hopefully we'll see you again next time you're staying in Portsmouth.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews