We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$213
Hotels.comUS$213
TripadvisorUS$213
Trip.comUS$297
eDreamsUS$213
Orbitz.comUS$213
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (453)
Filter reviews
453 results
Traveller rating
320
90
28
13
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
320
90
28
13
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sister hotel florence arms mercer collection lovely hotel attic room beautiful room off road parking two night stay breakfast was delicious booked this hotel free parking isle of wight the pub yogurt gunwharf quays bath seafront
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 453 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a beautiful hotel. This has to be one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Wonderfully designed. Fantastic staff - nothing is too much trouble! We were lucky enough to eat at “The Garden” - I’ll leave a separate review for that.
Can’t wait to return.

Room tip: Staff will help with Parking
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kports1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception H, General Manager at Somerset House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you so much for your delightful review. It was wonderful to welcome you and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice enough hotel in terms of clean and well-furnished rooms, good location to the beach and Southsea town however we were so let-down by how noisy the room we stayed in was - the walls in the Somerset House building (essentially a converted house) are paper-thin and you could hear everything from the other rooms - walking, talking, singing - it felt like we were staying in a bedsit or in someone's house. The doors to the building and rooms also slam really loudly (and an alarm beeps when they open), so if you have a room on the ground floor as we did, this gets tiring quickly. Whilst I was told there was a knack to closing the doors quietly, this isn't communicated and it's a stretch to expect people to abide by this. Please please look to rectify this. I was also disappointed with parking - hotel parking is not necessarily guaranteed as there are only a few spaces... yes you are given a residential parking permit to park on the street which is handy, but we had to drive around a bit to find a space and the spaces and roads are TIGHT, so if you have a big car or fear of parallel parking, this will be a challenge. The hotel is nice and comfortable for a stay at the beachside, but i'd say value-for-money (especially compared to boutique hotels in Europe), I would have expected more in terms of facilities.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruanaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception H, General Manager at Somerset House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to read you didn't enjoy your time with us due to some noise from other guests for a very brief period. We are glad you liked the location, cleanliness and the newly refurbished rooms.

It's a shame that the call we had with your partner (or possibly yourself) the day after check out has not been reflected in your review at all. As discussed with your partner you experienced some noise from a family group coming back at night whilst they came in together and went to their rooms. As she mentioned she was very aware they were not a rowdy group but simply a family coming back and going to bed but they sadly didn't do this in the quiet manner we would have hoped. This is unfortunate and regrettable but something that all hotels will experience at times. This did disturb you and we apologise for this but the disturbance was momentary whilst they came in the hotel. We have nightstaff on hand for actual disturbance from guests, though rarely needed and of course would happily have moved you to an alternate room for your stay if you preferred, we had different options available if you had asked and could have shown you these.

I'm sorry you were also disappointed by the parking. As clearly displayed on the third party website you booked through parking is mixed but it is also free. We cover the cost of permits for guests and spaces are always available, though if arriving on a weekend as you did it can take a minute or two to find a space but you will never be far from the hotel. The plus side of this is we are just literally minutes from the beach, waterfront and shops and restaurants and you are not spending an extra £50+ to park your car like many city hotels.

Once again we are sorry you are disappointed and it's a shame that we couldn't speak to you about your experience as the conversation we had with your partner (who mentioned you were disappointed with the weather mainly.) is not reflected in your review you have left across the web. We'd always rather resolve a problem if we can and fix it so a guest has a pleasurable stay rather than you leave disappointed but to do that we have to be given the opportunity whilst you are at the hotel. As mentioned on our call we were very surprised not to have been given any opportunity to help you before departing. We wish you well on your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2021 via mobile

Myself and my partner have become frequent users of this hotel over the last couple of years and always have a pleasant stay. The staff are always friendly, have

a great attitude and are always available to help.

Having stayed here multiple times for work throughout the pandemic I have been able to witness first hand all the changes the owner has made during this tough period. The hotel has been beautifully refurbished throughout both inside and out, with bedrooms being refreshed and a new outdoor dining area being introduced.

This place really has a home away from home feel and is a must visit post lockdown for all!

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Melissa149853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception H, General Manager at Somerset House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us Melissa - we were glad to have been able to host you whilst working through the last lockdown! We are pleased you have got to see the transformation of each room and hope you can join us for a break rather than for work soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2020 via mobile

Unintentionally, I booked this hotel for a two night stay, having previously reviewed it's sister hotel, The Florence, 8 years ago. On that occasion, I gave a good review but regretted the noise: sadly enough, this is an echo of the past.
The Somerset is a lovely red brick hotel, very conveniently based near Southsea promenade with off road parking and sharing a breakfast restaurant with it's sister hotel, The Florence, across the road. Our room was on the first floor. No lift but not an issue for us. Well decorated large room, easily accommodating three of us. The shower head was indeed of descaling but other than that, very clean.
Only two let downs: breakfast the first day was great and staged (considering you have to order the day before which is understandable) but the second, there appeared to be an obsessive need to bring cereal, yoghurts, drinks and hot food all out at once and the waitress had to be asked to take the hot food back before it was left to get cold on an adjoining table. Totally insane.
Secondly and here's the repeat: the noise. Surprisingly, the walls are as thin as the Florence. The first night, we could hear talking, the TV and snoring from below, next door and above us. Just about tolerable. However, the second night were kept up by the selfishness of the next door residents until 2am. Despite calling the manager twice and one visit heard, nothing changed and let down The Mercer collection again.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank rjs121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception H, General Manager at Somerset House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review us and pass on your comments via tripadvisor.

We are very pleased that you like the look of the hotel, room decoration and found the room very clean. We are most sorry to read all of your breakfast items were brought at once - that is not normal and we apologise as, as you say, it does not make any sense. I'm glad this issue was rectified for you straight away.

It's disappointing to be marked down by the behaviour of other guests - particularly as the night staff waited in the building until the noise had completely stopped when you called the second time. The issue was resolved quickly and unfortunately is a problem in every hotel worldwide - you sadly will always get disrespectful people who don't think of the consequences of their actions but we do put measures in place i.e. night staff to resolve anything like this straight away so it limits the problem to a very brief period - as this was. Staff ensured they spoke to you and apologised on departure also.

We are sorry you won't be joining us again and do hope you can find somewhere that better suits your requirements in the future when staying in the Portsmouth area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2020

We spent two nights in Somerset House, which is a large converted Edwardian property. Our room was spacious with a good sized ensuite, both being clean and well maintained. Tucked away in a quiet and attractive street, it's five minutes walk from the beach front. The hotel consists of four different houses that are clustered together, with the reception and restaurant in one of the buildings. We booked breakfast as well, which was freshly cooked and came with really good coffee! I'd definitely recommend this lovely quirky hotel, which is convenient for all the tourist attractions.

Room tip: We were in room 4 which is on the first floor (not ground). The room was bright and sunny, overlooking Florence Road.
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank moshi60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception H, General Manager at Somerset House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2020

Thank you for this lovely generous review. We are so pleased you had such a fantastic stay and liked the location and all stay aspects.

We hope we can welcome you again if in the Portsmouth area.

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews