We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously great grub”
Review of Bacaro

Bacaro
Ranked #6 of 913 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$33
Description: Our philosophy echoes that of the Italian Bacari - that the simple pleasures are the most important for our health and wellbeing. Good wine, delicious food and the company of friends are the recipe for a life well lived. Relax with us and enjoy a few Chicetti (small plates) a glass of wine and take pleasure in the moment, free from worry. Pleasure is the greatest good.
Restaurant details
Description: Our philosophy echoes that of the Italian Bacari - that the simple pleasures are the most important for our health and wellbeing. Good wine, delicious food and the company of friends are the recipe for a life well lived. Relax with us and enjoy a few Chicetti (small plates) a glass of wine and take pleasure in the moment, free from worry. Pleasure is the greatest good.
Reviewed 13 November 2017

My wife, our 2 sons and their girlfriends dined here on Sat 11th Nov in the evening for a belated birthday dinner for me. Had to wait a bit for our table to be ready but wasn't a problem as we watched the barmen expertly make the cocktails. Ordered every fish and meat tapas plus bread/pizza etc from the menu. Food was excellent - arrived hot, beautifully presented and absolutely delicious. Buzzy atmosphere, great level of service - a really good night. Delicious desserts - I had an enormous cheese board and a birthday candle in the apple! Whole place sang happy birthday! We had a great time, we will return! Recommended!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 63cantona7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy W, Owner at Bacaro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Thanks so much for your lovely review, we are really glad you had a great birthday meal and enjoyed all of your dishes, we hope to see you soon.
Team Bacaro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

I visited Bacaro with a group of six friends. We all really enjoyed our food which was of very good quality and all freshly cooked. The staff were very friendly and I liked the way I was immediately welcomed despite the bar being busy. There was a slight muddle over our booking which wasn’t very clear from the handwritten bookings record. Several additional dishes turned up with our order but these were deducted from our bill. It was a Saturday evening, it was busy and it did get uncomfortably noisy at several points. Hence several of us vowed to return at a quieter time. Several in our party also found it a little difficult to locate so possibly signage could be improved. I would certainly return for the very tasty food.

Thank Brumas123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy W, Owner at Bacaro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Thank you so much for your review, Sorry to hear about the muddle up on your booking and a few extra dishes, Fridays and Saturdays for us can be quite busy but no weekend is ever the same, so best to check when you book and we can let you know how it is looking and find the best table for you, We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Bacaro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Don't who has written the rest of the reviews but I'm pretty sure they must of been to a different restaurant than me. The service was ridiculous only 3 other people in there. And still took 20 before asking us what we wanted to drink then another 20 minutes to actually get it. Then 10 minutes later they ask us what we want to eat. After waiting another 1/2 hour for food they come back to say they don't have one of the meals. Eventually after over an hour our cold food decides to make an appearance. Would definitely not recommend.

Thank Karl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy W, Owner at Bacaro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Hi Karl,
We have emailed now but thank you for taking the time to leave your review, Good or bad feedback is always necessary to see where sometimes where we go wrong, so i appreciate you taking the time to do so and again apologise for your experience at Bacaro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

Went with a group of friends for a meal and a meeting. The pizzas are very good, and similar to those you'd get in France or even Italy. I keep pizzas simple and had a number 2 which was vegetarian with some aubergine on it. The house wine was pretty good too

    • Value
    • Service
Thank davesouthamptonqpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy W, Owner at Bacaro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Hi Dave,
Thanks for your positive feedback on our Pizettes, We are really glad you enjoyed them, We hope to see you again to try some more!!
Team Bacaro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

This is a very nice moderately priced Italian Tapas restaurant. Opted to come here for my girlfriends birthday and the settings is rustic and quite romantic which was perfect. It was very quiet, probably due to it being a weekday and the fact it had been non stop raining for a long time, but I quite like that. The service staff were very attentive and friendly and the food came out quickly but was perfectly staggered so we didn't end up with all 6 plates on the table going cold at once. We had 2 of the specials, both which were fantastic - the Italian sausage cassolletti especially. They also brought us a complimentary scoop of birthday ice cream with a candle which is always appreciated. The girlfriend was very happy so thanks for that!!

The average small plate is around £6.50-£8 and you need around 2-3 per person. They actually had 2-for-1 on the pizzette when we went (a Tuesday) which helped with the final bill a bit. I would definitely recommend the smoked salmon and the beef braciola, and also the roasted vegetable pizzette.

A really great experience, I'm sure we will be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jack A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy W, Owner at Bacaro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Hi Jack,
Thank you for your lovely review , We are really glad your girlfriend had a lovely birthday and you enjoyed all of your dishes!!
We hope to see you again soon at Bacaro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bacaro also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Bacaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing