We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (554)
Filter reviews
554 results
Traveller rating
75
125
118
108
128
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
125
118
108
128
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 554 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2018

We were attending the theatre and decided to stay overnight. We booked through booking .com and got a great last minute deal. Reception lady was extremely helpful and pleasant, room was great..lift was a bit strange and old fashioned!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveshaw36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Very musky smell room pokey. Lift was back in the 1920 one with a door and ten a grate like door to close was given the wrong wifi password tried all night to get on to wifi. Central to cruise terminal ok for 1 night.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank carol m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

This was our 3rd visit to Southampton in 3months to visit a relative in Princess Anne Hospital.
The Star hotel was the best. All the staff were exceptionally helpful, especially Maggs. Our room was spotless and airy, the breakfast was good and we look forward to returning .

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank lyndmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

Hotel was a pleasant surprise. We picked it for convenience to centre of city. Had read some poor comments but tend to take them with a pinch of salt. We faced the main street so had noise of people and cars while restaurants etc. were open but it went very quiet after that. Room was light and airy with comfortable beds. Yes it is a bit dated and tired looking but was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was good and staff really helpful.

Room Tip: We had room 61 which could sleep 4.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Billy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

All we needed was a bed for the night so I opted for a cosy room expecting something snug. But to our surprise it was light and airy, with a modern four poster bed , clean functional bath and shower room. It is an old building with creaking sloping floorboards, a maze of staircases and half levels but we found it comfortable. I wasn't aware of any fire exit instructions on show in our room but there were clear marked exit routes in the corridors.
The hotel is located in the old town and although we didn't have much spare time we were able to pop out to see some of the local sights, the wall, medieval buildings etc. without wandering too far.
Unfortunately, and no fault of the hotel we stayed on the night prior to the Royal wedding and with our room being on the front of the main building we heard all the revellers going and coming back after a night out. The bed was comfortable but the room noisy. During check out no one asked if we'd had a nice stay etc. But we had booked a cheap rate room and perhaps our bleery eyes indicated our reply! By some of the other comments it appears it's luck of the draw , our experience provided good value for money in a well furnished clean room.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews