We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Visit to Art Gallery to see British Impressionists exhibition.

Mainly visited to see the William Stott of Oldham and British Impressionism exhibition. This runs... read more

Reviewed 27 October 2018
Charles G
,
Wimborne, United Kingdom
QUALITY BEFORE QUANTITY AND IT'S FREE

Make this a destination if you've got a bit of time to kill . Have a nibble at any of the quality... read more

Reviewed 24 October 2018
OutstandingW
Read all 180 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Southampton
from US$10.40
More Info
from US$661.00
More Info
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
90
68
14
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
68
14
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on display free entry burne jones old masters worth a visit interesting pieces changing exhibitions mile end regular exhibitions amazing space southampton city souvenir shop beautiful building helpful staff couple of hours perseus sculptures
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2017

Popped into the gallery before heading home and was pleasantly surprised on how good the collection was.It was well lit and not over filled. It was free entry and there no audio guides.

Downside was I had to drag my suitcase around.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank ianrwilliams62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We went specifically to see the Mile End to Mayfair Art Exhibition. We were not disappointed. We recognized some of the areas in the paintings.
Some of the paintings were very good but we loved all the information provided next to each one. They were very interesting and gave a good insight to the period. Well worth a visit, Free entry. It has whet our appetite for these Royal Academy painters. We are now going to visit the Nunnery Gallery in Bow Road, London where a new exhibition has just opened which also showcases these painters who painted" what was all around them "

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank homesteads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

Day trip to Southampton to see the city and an exhibition at the City Art Gallery. The gallery is part of a museum and library complex which also has the historical museum within a short walk.

The city gallery, which also includes a library and performing arts place held an exhibit by London artist known as be East a London group. The artwork was displayed in straightforward fashion, and told the story of this group of artists. The works, from private collections and other museums was quite good, and told the story of these talented group. Reminded me of some of Edward Hoppers work, and showcased east London in the 1910-1930 period.

The museum also has works by Gainsborough, Degas, JS Sargent in its collection.

Well worth a visit!

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We visited the gallery specifically to view the exhibition "Capture the Castle" as we love visiting castles around the country. We were amazed at the variety of paintings and drawings. It was helpful to have a brief description of the artist and the castle alongside the work. An added bonus was the availability of an illustrated book featuring the the paintings in the exhibition.
There is no admission charge to the gallery.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank HawaiiSeaDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

I was told that they have the biggest art collection after London. Their catalogue is indeed very impressive. It's just a shame they have just one floor (what means not enough space) to show it. Very nice staff. The library on the first floor is also very nice.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank loveUK1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews