We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Quiet...But bring a translator”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I was not expecting much, being a Motorway service station, however I was surprised at the quality of the room, and sleep that I had. I will definitely use again if traveling to Southampton.

The downside is however, that none of the staff speak English. We asked the night warden for recommendations of anywhere to eat in the area, and he said 'Food 7am-11.30am'. We searched for ourselves. In the morning we asked to check out, the receptionist did not know what checkout means.

On the upside however, free wifi - so you can search for everything you need online, thus not needing the help of the staff. Perhaps this is the business plan of Days Inn.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
There are newer reviews for Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

278 - 282 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2011

Have stayed here occasionally over the last 20 years and have always found it very quiet, bearing in mind you are on a motorway service area.Contrary to other reviewers, I have found this and other rebranded premier travelinns to have a much more comfortable feel once they are converted to Days Inn. This is quite an old property and this was demonstrated when I got back to my room to find the door lock wouldnt open! However the Polish night porter was very handy with a hammer( maybe used to be a plumber?) and got me back in my room in about 10 minutes.
For a room rate of only £25 at this time of year, this place is incredibly good value in comparison to all the other lodges & inns nearby - and you get free wifi.

Room Tip: Rear ones have nice view.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sleepytopcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

On our way to see an exhibition, we booked this hotel at £50/night, knowing it was in a Service Area off the motorway. The room was big, both beds - we booked a twin-bedded room - were 39" and comfortable. The room was clean and we could not hear the traffic of the motorway. Why I'm not giving it 4 stars is because there was mould around the bathtub and the postion of the toilet rolls made it difficult if not impossible to sit properly. We both had to sit sideways. I would go back but because of the lack of eating facilities, I would make sure we had a meal somewhere else first. There is only a Costa Coffee shop and the Road Chef serves food till 9pm only. The choice at the Road Chef is more than limited and the price of a small cup of tea is £2.10. When we queried this, we were told that the prices were displayed. They were not, we double-checked. So sleep there but eat somewhere else. Romsey up the road (12 miles) has plenty of good restaurants as we found out the next day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as you will be away from the motorway and you will be able to hear the bi...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie2149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We travel from Devon to Sussex for family visits and we like to stop over in Southampton occasionally to go the M&S in Hedge End or Ikea,John Lewis etc in Southampton City. Finding a hotel in So'ton is something we've yet to master and we struck out yet again with the Days Inn.

This is a former Premiere Inn and true to form the refurbishments ended with the change of sign. The bed was narrow, trampoline like and the furnishings were the same as they were when Premiere Inn first opened the place a decade or more ago.

The one plus was the price - or at least it seemed so on the web. But if you are travelling with a dog read the small print carefully - there's a £10 charge per pooch and a maximum of three per room, so your canine entourage is strictly limited. So you may be better elsewhere if you shop carefully.

You cannot pay for the pet stay online - which is very misleading in my view - nor are you asked if you will be travelling with a dog. So sneek your best friend in if you can! ;)

Would we come back - no! Did we sleep well - bed too narrow and old. The best thing about staying in the place was leaving.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mfs1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

It was a family trip to South of UK and stayed here . At £40 per room , i thought it was a deal in August but it was not even the average UK Hotel. Smell of dampness across the hotel and no smiling faces . The Soap Gel in shower area was empty ( poor check ups at room prep !! ) and toilet seat was in one end of the bathroom with hardly any space for a adult . Room was spacious but we were 2 people , not looking top play football in it.
The facility at Roadchef for breakfast was too expensive and very poor food was available at EAT-In .The pople at Costa and the Shop were very helpful even at night 10:00 PM.

Would only stay here if there are no options.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
7.1 km away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
9.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
6.9 km away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 25 in Southampton
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel
7.3 km away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
7.1 km away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Southampton Rownhams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Southampton Rownhams

Address: Roadchef Motorway Service Area Rownhams Lane | M27 Southbound, Southampton SO16 8AP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range: $77 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Southampton Rownhams 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Southampton Rownhams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Southampton (Rownhams) Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing