We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent once again

Having used Hereford canoe hire several times they were the go to option for canoe hire on the... read more

Reviewed yesterday
TravellingEater2010
,
London England
via mobile
Great canoeing on the Wye

The whole canoe adventure was great, The river was warm and flora and fauna remarkably varied. We... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
hannahcM2246RJ
,
Gloucester
Read all 211 reviews
  
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveller rating
200
11
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
200
11
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ross on wye safety brief beautiful scenery river life picnic stop fantastic afternoon hoarwithy route herons kingfisher minibus company downstream briefing wildlife fab map
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 211 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2021

We did a half day trip from Lucksall down to Hoarwithy early in August and it was wonderful. It was slightly tiring, as we didn't hang around, but going downstream, the river did most of the work.
There were thirteen of us, including three teenagers and two under ten. The briefing was detailed and complete although a little hurried, but we were given a map with a list of way markers on the back, so it would be difficult to go wrong. The only part requiring any navigation was in passing an island and ensuring that we took the gentle rapids on the right hand side.
The scenery was stunning and incredibly peaceful. We saw jumping fish and lots of birdlife on the river: geese, ducks, swans, moorhens and a couple of heron.
All the members of our group were enthralled by the experience and felt completely safe because of the great organisation.
When I booked initially, we were advised that for our group we needed six canoes and so that is what we ordered and paid for. In the event, the way it worked out was that we only needed five. However, we were reimbursed for the difference.
I can't recommend this experience highly enough, especially if you enjoy beautiful relaxing countryside, a tiny feeling of adventure and are reasonably fit.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank 417ianq
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 August 2021

Absolutely loved this. A leisurely row down the river. Not too exerting so we could really enjoy the scenery.

The support team were superb and ensured we had a great safety greeting. Courtesy minibuses were great to ensure we had our car waiting for us at the end.

Would definitely do this again.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank 197colinj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 August 2021

Really enjoyable afternoon canoeing down the Wye. The grandchildren had great fun, as did we. Lots of laughs. The staff were very amiable and helpful too. Highly recommended. Money well spent.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 August 2021 via mobile

A brilliant trip along the beautiful Wye. The instructors were really helpful and thorough in the pre trip briefing so, as beginners (and old ones at that), we felt comfortable setting off on our own.

We had a panic thinking that we wouldn't make it in the time allowed so went pretty fast...we needn't have worried, we had bags of time...but wished now that we'd gone at a more leisurely pace and perhaps stopped to take in the peace and surroundings.

We got into a pickle at one point (going through rapids backwards isn't recommended!) but we sorted ourselves out without much of an issue.

A chip butty and a coffee were much appreciated at the end (from the food stall at Tresseck campsite) as we waited to be picked up.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank suenbern
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 August 2021 via mobile

The staff were really helpful and friendly. They ran through the health and safety with a demonstration. We got kitted up with a life jacket, paddle, map and bucket for pur belongings.

We did the half day trip from Lucksall Caravan Park to Tresseck Campsite. It took us around 3 hours and we stopped off a few times to enjoy the scenery.

Once we finished and moored up on the Campsite (as we were staying at Lucksall) they gave us a lift back again, which was great!

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank julialouisejohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews