We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap for the area, clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
University Of Kent - Turing College
Ranked #42 of 73 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 August 2017

A good standard for a student hall of residence. Accommodation was clean and comfortable. Having breakfast included was a great bonus. Regular bus links to the city centre was a huge help. I will be staying here again if I need to return to Canterbury.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewXanadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2017

In need of an extra night in Canterbury at short notice we chanced on this offer - summertime student quarters, slightly poshed up for visitors to the area during the holiday break.
The room is a bit cell-like, plain white walls and spartan carpets and cupboards, and the bathroom is compact, to put it kindly, but everything worked, the shower was good, there was a functional drinks tray and complimentary toiletries.
Facilities on a par with a modern budget hotel but in a parkland setting with fearless rabbits happily bouncing around as you set off for the walk into town - there are regular buses too, or it's a short taxi ride.
Breakfast is pretty much a canteen offer, lots of variety in cereals and hot drinks, if you're going for the cooked option it's all down to timing. You might get piping hot stuff or it may well be a bit lukewarm and tired. Didn't seem to be putting off the wide variety of people taking advantage of the facilities - family groups, mature couples, foreign visitors as well as student types.
If this sounds good for you, check in as soon after opening time as you can to grab one of the handful of parking spaces near the blocks, otherwise you'll be stuck in the main car park further away.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

On a trip through South-England, we wanted to visit Canterbury and stay for one night. Perfect place: leave your car on the parking (included) and take de Uni-bus, no problems with (expansive) car-parkings. Clean and comfortable-room, good bed, complete breakfast, all you need for this kind of trip.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Johan8870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Dirty bathroom floor looked like it had not been thoroughly cleaned for ages. Dirty tray under coffee cups. Missing toiletries. No water provided, though I saw little bottles going round with the cleaners the next day. Chipped paint on ceiling and walls, which did not bother us particularly, whereas the dirtiness did as you wonder how much it is the case in the rest of the building. I gave this feedback on the form when returning keys, but have had no reply from them.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anneeba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

We stopped at Turing for one night. It was very convenient to stay on campus in order to take some of our son's luggage. Breakfast is included and also a free parking permit. It was very easy to walk into Canterbury and leave the car parked.
The room was clean with a kettle and coffee and tea - always a plus. There are also bath products. I did find the room rather hot and there was air conditioning, but nothing that we could adjust.
Unfortunately I found the bed a little uncomfortable, the TV remote didn't work, which meant it was stuck on itv2 and I had to switch it off at the plug and the sanitary bin didn't appear to have been emptied.
Apart from these minor points I still think that staying in campus is great.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nicci K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
3.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
756 reviews
0.2 km away
University of Kent - Keynes College
7 km away
Evenhill
Evenhill
#1 of 2 in Littlebourne
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Howfield Manor Hotel
Howfield Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chartham
391 reviews
2 km away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,032 reviews
13.6 km away
Heathwood Lodge
Heathwood Lodge
#2 of 2 in Stelling Minnis
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Of Kent - Turing College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Of Kent - Turing College

Address: Turing College University Road | University of Kent, Canterbury CT2 7FN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Hotel Class:4 star — University Of Kent - Turing College 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a modern campus set in 450 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds overlooking the historic city of Canterbury and its historic cathedral.During the vacation periods (Easter and Summer) we offer visitors a wide range of accommodation and facilities, making us an ideal location for your holiday or short break. Bed and breakfast or self-catering (Summer only) accommodation* On-line booking * A wide variety of restaurants, bars and bistros * Superb indoor and outdoor sports facilities * On-site shops and banks * Free on-site parking * Easy access to London, Dover and the Channel Tunnel for visits to France ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your University Of Kent - Turing College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Of Kent - Turing College Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing