We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,358)
Filter reviews
1,358 results
Traveller rating
881
359
81
25
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
881
359
81
25
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free entry unique location canterbury cathedral main gate ring the bell lit up at night breakfast was excellent kippers wedding reception modern hotel bedroom window eggs benedict the heart of the city full english breakfast double bed comfortable rooms stayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
356 - 361 of 1,358 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Clean room, lovely staff, delicious breakfast and incredible iconic location to base a Cathedral and wider Canterbury visit, with almost private access at night.

My only complaint would be that the bed was, for me, way too hard, and the pillows and duvet were very basic, leading to a bit of broken sleep. Feather pillows may be available on request, I don't know as I didn't ask.

Overall, a very nice weekend away, and to witness the choir singing at Sunday Matins, was sublime.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quantumpoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra H, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2016

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post a review – it is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Lodge and your feedback is much appreciated. I am sorry to find that you did not have a good nights sleep. We do realise that mattress firmness is such a personal preference but I would like to assure you that we take our guests comfort seriously and use Hypnos mattresses throughout the hotel and hypo-allergenic pillows and bedding to ensure a consistently high quality.

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

You can't get a much better location than this! The hotel is set within the Cathedral grounds and the price you pay includes entry to the Cathedral which is an added bonus. It's a beautiful place.

Staff were all really friendly - everyone we spoke to was really nice - the lady we rang for parking advice before we got there, the reception staff and the waiting staff at breakfast. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

There is a limited number of parking spaces on site - you can reserve a space before you arrive. We forgot to do this but it wasn't too much hassle - we parked up in Queningate and then went to the hotel to buy a 24 parking pass for £6. This is valid for a number of different car parks across the city.

The room was clean and modern with a nice selection of toiletries.

Excellent choice at breakfast.

Only downsides for us were the room was a little warm and it took a long time for the breakfast to arrive.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emsworth89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra H, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2016

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I am sorry that the room was a little too warm and do hope that you were able to make use of the fan. Please do accept our apologies for the delay during breakfast, we freshly cook to order so that we can ensure good quality and freshness and at busy times this can result in a slight delay.

I hope that you choose to stay once again if you return to Canterbury.

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016

I hope whomever came up with the idea of letting "pilgrims" who come to visit Canterbury Cathedral stay on the grounds got a big reward because that person is a genius. The rooms were spotless, beds were comfy, the view from our window was priceless, reception was friendly and helpful, breakfast was delicious, overnight parking was convenient. They really have thought of everything to make your stay memorable. Nothing short of perfection! 5 stars!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra H, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2016

Dear Reviewer

We are delighted you had such an enjoyable visit! Your kind review is greatly appreciated and we do hope that you are able to return in the not-too-distant future.

With kind regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

From the moment we entered the lobby and all the way to the end of our four day stay the staff was attentive and cordial. The only minor snafu was the wifi wasn't working. I called down to the desk and forthwith (maybe fifthwith) they were there to fix the problem. You can have either a full English breakfast or any part of it. The food was excellent. The rooms are generous by European standards and well appointed. Normally when you are right in the center of town, it can be noisy. Here, you are within the walls surrounding the cathedral and it is very quiet. The cathedral is about 200 meters away but tourists don't usually come close. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael3288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra H, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2016

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Lodge whilst visiting Canterbury. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are delighted that you received a warm welcome. I do apologise for the difficulties experienced with our Wi-Fi connection but am pleased to find that they were quickly resolved.

We do hope you are able to return again soon.

With thanks & regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016

One night stay at this wonderful hotel. Location is everything they say and this proves the point. Set within the precincts of the Cathedral, The rooms were well appointed and the staff were welcoming and helpful. Although the lodge doesn't do evening meals they have a list of restaurants that they have arranged discounts for guests, also plenty of choice in the surrounding area. After the public have left and the Cathedral closes you are free walk around the precincts, a special place to be.

Room Tip: Ask for a Cathedral View
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra H, Guest Relations Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2016

Dear Reviewer

I am delighted that you were able to enjoy our special location within the private Cathedral Precincts. It is a pleasure to find that you enjoyed your stay and your kind feedback is greatly appreciated.

With thanks & regards

Joanne Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews