We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and appalling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spencer Court Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Reviewed 5 June 2016

We are well travelled unfussy Aussies. We got a bit panicked by a long weekend and had trouble finding accommodation. For the first time ever I did not check reviews just so glad to find a room. Big Mistake!!
We had done B&B round England for three weeks finding good breakfasts and warm welcomes. Rooms were often wardrobe sizes with a broom closet for a bathroom but adequate and clean.
Spencer Court is not a hotel as some ads state but a down at heel very dirty doss house. The room was dirty the carpet had not seem a vacuum in months and was covered in dirt and hair. The bathroom mat looked as if it had not been moved for years and the detritus under the bed had to be seen to be believed. The tea tray had a half eaten biscuit and an open packet of sugar on it. The windows were filthy inside and out with on curtain barely attached to the rail.
The "breakfast cereals"----just cornflakes and it took half an hour to get scrambled eggs because they did not have an extra fry pan. Soggy supermarket white toast completed the disaster.
I felt like I needed a shower after we left--and it was not particularly cheap.
Booking.com should remove this establishment. DO NOT GO HERE.

Room Tip: Stay away from this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweet_thistleoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

Though we said we would check in late, the first words from the landlady were: "Why are you so late" in an unfriendly manner. The rooms are cheap, so that's what you get. But cleaning was poorly done. Multiple dead bugs everywhere en hairs in the sink and shower.

Breakfast was okay. But the landlady said only full English breakfast on Sunday, because she was of on Sundays(!)

When I asked for extra mil for our cereals, she huffed and puffed and said "if you don't use it, I will give it to another table. We were shocked.

However, the staff on Sunday was the opposite. They were very guest minded and friendly.

Next time, I will pick another place for sure.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank DannyvanderSluys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016

I would have liked the room and bathroom to be cleaned there was toothpaste all over the basin and what could have been vomit on the basin and toilet.
The toilet didn't flushed through in room number 4 so we had to use other toilets in the building. No clean towels even after 4 days and the bedroom wasn't cleaned up in all that period
Uncleanliness
Condition of bathroom
Room felt dirty
Musty smell & dated
Furniture seen better days
No choice of breakfast menu were only allowed a full English.
WIFI not strong.
The landlady was unmotivated and incredibly rude!!

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel if you stay longer then one night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JesseM12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Stayed in a family room as twin room en-suite which we had booked in advance was not available until next day. In their favour, the owners refunded £25 for inconvenience caused. The room was dirty and could barely see out of the windows. Shower had not been cleaned possibly for months. Washed in a little sink in the bedroom. This B&B needs a complete reverb as even electrics were loose in places. It is just gloomy and horrible. There is one employee doing everything and she was friendly and cooked us a good breakfast. Parking can be difficult as busy.

Room Tip: Stairs at top floor extremely steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srpjdp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Both our friends and us had dirty rooms, shower and bathroom needed good clean and decor bad. Carpet needed cleaning bed ok glad we were only staying one night.
Problem with shower controlling hot/cold water also water coming up through shower plug. We had booked in advance but this was not what we were expecting. Lots of narrow stairs and rooms small.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jenny w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsgate
1.3 km away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#9 of 10 in Ramsgate
334 reviews
0.2 km away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#4 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,141 reviews
0.5 km away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 km away
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
6.8 km away
Premier Inn Margate Hotel
6.8 km away
Premier Inn Ramsgate (Manston Airport) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spencer Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spencer Court Hotel

Address: 37 Spencer Square, Ramsgate CT11 9LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range: $88 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spencer Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Spencer Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing