We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant”

Regent Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #45 of 122 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 10 April 2017

After being let down by a previous once good restaurant we decided to try the regent. The staff were very attentive and we were shown to a table in a lovely airy dining room. Our food came quickly and was fresh and full of flavour. We would happily eat here again. well done.

Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, Food and beverage manager at Regent Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Thank you very much for trying our restaurant , and your kind words about food and service.We look forward to seeing you again .

Kind regards ,
Paul Muresan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2017

Food available until 9.00 pm. Bar, restaurant and specials menu. I had home made garden pea soup with air dried Cumbrian ham, sea bream with samphire followed by lemon tart. Excellent.
Breakfast - scrambled eggs with crispy bacon bits and grilled cheese. Highly recommend

Thank suel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, Food and beverage manager at Regent Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Great review thank you very much , we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards ,

Paul Muresan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Spent four nights here, bed and breakfast.
The rooms are cosy. We had a twin room and the beds were rather hard for me.
The breakfast is excellent.
The lounge menu served through the day is good, with generous helpings.
We didn't eat in the restaurant as we felt it was just that bit too pricey.

Thank moxxy-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, Food and beverage manager at Regent Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Thank you very much for taking time to review your recent stay with us . We look forward to seeing you again when in Ambleside , maybe you give the restaurant a chance as we think the menu is great value for money .

Kind regards ,
Paul Muresan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

My wife and I have eaten here many times and have found it to be excellent on each occasion. This time one night was the steak night where there is a deal including wine. This is always good value. For the next meal we ate off the main menu and again were very pleased with the service and the food. The bar area is also comfortable and has a relaxed atmosphere. A good place for the coffee and brandy!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Graham N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, Food and Beverage Manager at Regent Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Great review ,thank you very much .Steak night offer is good value indeed , so is the main menu , and coffee and brandy to end the evening sounds great . We all look forward to seeing you again.

Regards ,

Paul Muresan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We were suggested this restaurant by Lakes Lodge which is a related hotel and they give you a 10% discount if you are staying there. Having read the previous review, and not wanting a very formal meal, we opted for the bar menu for which we didn't have to book. We had a burger and a chicken burger which were both large and very good with chunky chips. Not the cheapest but good quality and very good service which I felt was not affected at all by the fact that we were in the bar and not in the main restaurant.

The main restaurant did look quite smart and did appear to cater to a certain clientele wanting a more formal meal. I would not want to be eating there in jeans! It also looked very busy for a Tuesday night in March so booking is probably advised.

All in all a good meal.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jillm0962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentLakes, Food and Beverage Manager at Regent Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about your recent experience at the Regent ,we really appreciate the your feedback . You are more than welcome to have a meal in our restaurant even when wearing jeans,no problem at all.Thanks again.

Regards ,

Paul Muresan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Regent Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Regent Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing