We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Randy Pike
Nearby Hotels
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Fisherbeck(Ambleside)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$251
US$165
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Queen's Hotel(Ambleside)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
169
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
169
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjumble roomdawson suitetriflemini barabsolute luxuryon arrivalcomplimentary minibarbreakfast broughtenormous bathbottle of bubblyan eclectic mixdrunken duckattention to detailromantic weekendlake districtmoment you arriveperfect hosts
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

From the moment you arrive to when you leave there are no disappointments. As well as being clean and a generally fantastic place to stay overall it was absolutely beautiful with great romantic decor, big bath fit for two and a massive comfy bed to crawl into at the end of the night.
As well as this the service is personal and of great detail with breakfast brought to your suite, cookies on arrival and you can pay a bit more to be welcomed with a bottle of bubbly.
I'll definitely be back to try out their new room which we were lucky enough to be shown!

(Pictures of the Vallaley suite)

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank OliviaAAllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

For us the Randy Pike has set the bar for customer service and comfort. Andy and Chrissy really are at the top of the game in terms of hospitality. Think of Federer in 2006 and Djokovic in 2015, they were flawless and the best at what they do, that's Andy and Chrissy's Randy Pike. If hospitality had grand slams they would win them all multiple times over. Hospitality and welcome 10, cleanliness 10, comfort 10, tranquility 10. They really can't do enough for you and everything they do is genuine and will love and care. I've read some other reviews and everyone feels the same, some people have expressed the price is a bit high but we don't think it is. You get what you pay for and if you want the best you've got to pay for it. Obviously Andy and Chrissy have worked hard to achieve what they have at the Randy Pike and they have worked hard to attract a certain type of clientele whom they enjoy giving hospitality to. I would recommend the Randy Pike to everyone as the experience will be one you will always remember.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

While Randy Pike may be more expensive than some other places in Ambleside, it is so worth it! From the moment you arrive, you feel so well looked after. From the home made cake on arrival and the free mini-bar, to the beautifully decorate rooms with walk-in showers and beautiful bath tubs, to the huge, luxurious and comfortable beds, it is the perfect break. It is about midway between Ambleside and Hawkeshead so easy to get to for walking, food and pubs, but more often than not, you are happy to enjoy the peace and quiet of Randy Pike's beautiful location. For a true "break", in all sense of the word, I cannot recommend it any more highly.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

I feel bad writing this review as I would keep this place a secret if I could, we have visited and stayed as a couple, with family and friends every time has been exceptional and even the wet weather didn't dampen our two nights.
The beds are gloriously comfortable, the rooms warm, stylist and well fitted, the quality of all furnishings are exceptional and Chrissy has fabulous taste. You must try the breakfast trifle it is amazing and the English breakfast will set you up for the day. Having stayed in Cartmel and eaten breakfast at Simon Rogans resturant the morning before I can honestly say "Simon.... Chrissy beats you hands down!" Two nights is enough to feel totally energised Thank you Andy and Chrissy.
Ps give the Jumble rooms a try for a relaxed tasty evening meal.

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous for different reasons, breakfast is served in individual rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsStephanieShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We stayed at Randy Pike (in The Vallelay Suite) for 3 nights over New Year 2016/17....a wonderfully appointed property, perched up above Lake Windermere and run by a very thoughtful, fun- loving couple in Andy and Chrissie - who did all they could to make our experience utterly top notch! The suite (with it's designer/chic furnishings, ultra comfortable bed, enormous bathroom, complimentary minibar - that is generously topped up daily), the food, the hospitality and the setting are about as good as it gets in the Lakes. We couldn't recommend this place enough! The owners also run a small bistro in nearby Grasmere, where we spent NYE and they laid on a taxi for us, to and from the house as part of the service. A lovely way to spend NY and topped off by the bottle of prosecco our hosts bought to the room as a NY gift. Congratulations on creating a superb getaway.

Room Tip: The centre suite - Vallellay
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews