We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, we really enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect location, we really enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Fantastic location in Ambleside. Hotel was clean and tidy, the breakfast was great too and filled us up for the day. Pool area was very impressive and you could swim lengths, then relax in one of the various steam room, jacuzzi etc. Lovely lounge area for a quiet coffee, we certainly hope to return

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, great comments abpout our pool, breakfast and facilities it makes it all worth while thanks very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    864
    330
    65
    19
    13
See reviews for
208
780
40
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seasider in Scunthorpe
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Nearly everything about this hotel was excelent. I refer to the breakfast in my title because it is probably the best hotel breafast I have ever had. There is a choice of just about everything one could think of from around Europe & the quality of the food was superb. The full English has everything too & is perfectly cooked, presented & served. The hotel itself is lovely too. I have been visiting Ambleside for too many years to mention. The Salutation was allowed to get a bit run down a few years ago but what a great job has been done on it now! It looks the part from the outside & inside is just as good. There is a nice little bar & Bistro with loads of seating on the ground floor. Downstairs is the gym, pool & spa, which is also excelent & free for guests. Our room was very well appointed with everything in it that you would want. It was, however, a little on the small side. It only had a double bed, rather than king size but it was exceptionally comfortable. The service we received from all the staff was excelent. Good value for money too. Not much more than the local B & B's yet with so much more to offer. I will definately make this place my first choice when staying in Ambleside again.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel overlooks the town & has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tangerinebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thanks for your review and great comments about our breakfast... we like to make a great impression for the start of the day and our breakfast buffet and cooked selection has become very popular! We do have King size beds there are in our Club rooms either in the main hotel or in the two Lodges.We do hope to welcome you back soon to sample some more of our award winning breakfast, your comments are very much appreciated .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houghton-le-Spring
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed here for the first couple of nights of the half term break. Excellent location and superb value for money!! Staff were very approachable and helpful and flexible to our needs. Food was great - breakfast is a must and is so tasty!! The leisure club is good as well and my daughters lover the pool and outside hot tub.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are a bonus as you can sit outside and admire the scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jezza1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Great location, super hotel, friendly staff, lovely pool and spa, excellent breakfast, in fact one of the best. Great place, will definitely stay there again. If you get booked early enough there is 20% off the prices, worth every penny. Great for children too.

Room Tip: 114 - first floor with own terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosey321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, Public Relations Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Glad you had a great break with us, thanks for the comments we are really pleased with the Spa facilities and think its a real bonus for the hotel, don't forget the Early Bird offers book well in advance and get up to 30% discount! Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmshore
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Our third stay at the Salutation for a winter break walking in the Lakes. This time we took our dog and the staff were extremely helpful, welcoming and understood the requirements of guests with dogs.
The staff are a real strength of this hotel and make guests feel special.
There is a lot of lounge space in a series of cosy rooms that give the guests a chance to sit quietly and chat the evening away. We had B&B and the the breakfast kept us going for a day's walking. There are many good walks within a short drive and, although located in the centre of Ambleside, some walks start right behind the hotel car park.

Room Tip: Join the hotel's Westmorland club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScubaMike520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you we like to keep our four legged friends (and their owners !) happy! Great comments about our staff we are always lucky to have such a good team and so pleased you enjoyed our facilities and our award winning breakfast... we will keep you up to date with all our great Westmorland Club offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
6.9 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.2 km away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,209 reviews
5.2 km away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.0 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
1.3 km away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,687 reviews
12.5 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 9BX, England (Formerly Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price range (per night): $218 - $376
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village centre location with breathtaking fell views from the doorstep. Award winning breakfast, luxury rooms some with private hot tub, great food, fabulous leisure facilities and spa, free onsite parking friendly attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ambleside
Ambleside Best Western
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing