We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Brantfell House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brantfell House
Ranked #51 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great B&B”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We recently stayed here for a couple of nights with our dog. We couldn't have been made to feel more welcome. The room was spotlessly clean with a massive comfy bed. Breakfast was great. We woud highly recommend this B&B, especially for dog owners!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siubhan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    11
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
101
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

After our recent stay at Brantfell House we feel we have been to stay with old friends (and I don't mean the "old" literally!!) rather than staying at a B&B for the first time. Chris and Jane have gone out of their way to make us feel so welcome and spoilt and they really take time out of their busy schedules to chat and ensure you have everything you need to make your stay a pleasant one.
The rooms are very contempary with no chintz or pine in sight, spotlessly clean, fantastic en suite with double shower and an AMAZINGLY comfortable super king size bed that just moulded around you!! We didn't want to get out of it in the morning and Jane very kindly let us have a late breakfast so we could lay in.
At risk of repeating other guests comments the breakfast was superb with an excellent choice all cooked fresh to order. The portions are HUGE and really set you up for the day.
We have no hesitation in recommending Brantfell House to anyone wanting a bit of luxury at an affordable price whilst being looked after by amazing hosts.
Keep up the good work Jane and Chris!
P.S-big hugs and licks to Sid and Doris! Cousin Hoody sends his love!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank digby0806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
county durham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Stayed for three nights over a weekend period. B&B full but owners very relaxed and friendly. Room spacious and clean, Chris and Jane couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome. Breakfast great, best we've had at a b&b, well worth going for this! Even our dog got a sausage cooked for his breakfast! Ambleside lovely and plenty of walks for our dog with lot's of dog friendly pubs. Would definately return and will highly recommend to all our friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelleCountyDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

An enjoyable 3night stay. located in the Town and 5mins walk to shops,pubs etc.
Very nice accommodation (we had a suite) with a great choice of breakfast. Also free car parking was very handy.
handy for the buses and 15mins walk to the Windermere ferry service.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adyval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North wales
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

A really homely B&B, the owners were really friendly and welcoming. Recently refumished the whole B&B was modern and comfortable. The room was spacious and clean with a really comfortable bed. The breakfast was fantastic and we would recommend the Brantfell just for this alone. All freshly cooked to order your options are endless and you can have as much or a little as you want. If you lazy like me you can ask for a late breakfast which is great or opt for a breakfast butty to take out when you do surface. Really well located in the town, with really lovely views from rooms at the front of the B&B. An honesty box is left down stairs and you can have beers or wine. We had our honeymoon here and hope to have a return visit soon. A lovely stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are slightly noisy due to the road but were really clean, modern and comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiFiandhadyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.6 km away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
7.5 km away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
154 reviews
2.4 km away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,204 reviews
4.9 km away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,384 reviews
6.4 km away
Sun Inn Hotel
Sun Inn Hotel
#11 of 23 in Hawkshead
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brantfell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brantfell House

Property: Brantfell House
Address: Rothay Road, Ambleside LA22 0EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price range (per night): $148 - $196
Hotel Class:4 star — Brantfell House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Brantfell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brantfell House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing