We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tea time meal”

White Lion Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #55 of 123 Restaurants in Ambleside
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Enjoyed a tea time meal a here, food was very good. Had Cheesy garlic Ciabatta followed by a rump steak meal. Partner had the same and was pleased with how his steak was cooked.
Would visit there again for a meal and have done before. Cost of the food appeared resonable. Staff were polite and helpful.

Thank scottsrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at White Lion Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you scottsrep we're glad you enjoyed your meals. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 37 of 1,226 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Went to the White Lion for breakfast. We all went for the full English. Food arrived quickly, was nice and hot and really good quality.
We would highly recommend the pub for breakfast to all those visiting Ambleside.

Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at White Lion Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you Matt C we're happy to hear you enjoyed your breakfasts. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Visited here Saturday evening for a couple of drinks and meal. Having previously visited we knew it was going to be busy, this only adds to the great atmosphere. We ordered a couple of drinks and asked the lady running the restaurant how long for a table roughly 20 mins, less than 20 mins later we were shown to a lovely table, and enjoyed a lovely steak and lasagne meal. Big thanks to the lady running the restaurant she was great we will be back next time we are up.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jandcm2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at White Lion Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Jandcm2013, we strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive experience at The White Lion Hotel. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Popped in to this hotel for a couple of drinks and asked for a double Bailey's ,when presented with the glass I asked if it was a double and was sarcastically told it's 50 ml.well 50 ml is a single not a double but I was just so tired at the time that I couldn't be bothered to argue but thinking about it afterwards I felt a little aggrieved.please train your staff properly.

Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at White Lion Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Thank you for letting us know about your recent visit to The White Lion Hotel. Sorry about the misunderstanding, your comments have been passed on and won't happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Booked a table for 4 for Sunday lunch. When booking we were told the kitchen was undergoing refurbishment but would be open in time. Indeed it was and quite busy too.
Settled at table pursuing menu we made up our minds to the accompaniment of a screaming child on a nearby table - his ear piercing noise (through our hearing aids) was very annoying but principally because the parents, were causing it by putting a cloth over the child's face and he thus screamed. Others, of their party didn't seem to mind, but it goes to show the insensitivity and thoughtlessness.
Our meals came in good time and well presented and we all enjoyed our choices, plus drinks. Halfway through the family interrupting the ambience left. Good.
Anyway, we have been here before - sometime back and generally all was well.
Good friendly helpful staff

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 455Douglas1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at White Lion Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to feedback 455Douglas1948 glad you all enjoyed your meals. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Lion Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to White Lion Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing