We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$244
US$237
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
County Hotel(Kendal)
US$85
US$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$113
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
90
10
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
90
10
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This B & B should be classified as a national treasure. Amazing views, wonderful hosts, best breakfasts we've had in a B & B and all surrounded by some of the UK's most stunning countryside. Rooms were comfortable and very practical in design - we were in the Blue Violet room and loved waking up to the views of rolling green fields and hills across the Lyth Valley. We stayed for 5 nights and left very reluctantly having felt like we had stayed with friends who we would miss as well as their delicious little sweet treats left temptingly on the hall table. Thank you Sam and Tiree.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Zwizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Awwww! Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We miss you too! Hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in the UK and that you had a good journey back home. I'm sure we'll see each other again at some point - even if it is when Milo is in secondary school!! Lots of love Tiree and Sam xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This house sits facing some breathtaking scenery! We only stayed 1 night due to it being booked but the owners were VERY helpful in helping us find another location. I also accidentally left a jacket there and they made sure to call and let me know. Couldn't ask for better people or better scenery!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hwolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosthwaite_House, Owner at Crosthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you so much for leaving a review. It was such a shame we couldn't accommodate you for another night - August has been very busy for us! Really pleased we were able to help find you somewhere though. Best wishes Tiree and Sam xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Absolutely wonderful B&B. Comfortable beds, spacious rooms, amazing welcome, wonderful recommendations, delicious food and to top it all off accessible without being in the mix of the tourist trade. Gem of a place that I will highly recommend to anyone heading to the Lake District who is comfortable driving.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thanks so much for leaving us a review! We loved having you both here, you were great guests and it was lovely to meet you. Hope you had a safe journey home and that we see you again at some point! Best wishes Sam and Tiree xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Wonderful place to stay, peaceful and beautiful rooms, delicious breakfast with some unusual choices, and welcoming owners.What's more, gorgeous walks on the doorstep, lovely pub two minutes' walk away...
We stayed only one night but but would like to return for longer soon.

Room Tip: All looked lovely
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you so much for leaving us such a lovely review! We're really glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back for longer next time - there are loads of nice pubs to try in the area! Best wishes Sam and Tiree x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I stayed at Crosthwaite House for two nights combining business with a little break and can thoroughly recommend this beautiful B&B. The location and views are idyllic, the owners couldn't be more helpful and the breakfasts were superb with great choice catering for vegetarian plus other diets.
The house is very vintage style with lots of prsonal touches.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the from of the house overlooking a small valley
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Thank you so much for leaving us a review, we're do glad you enjoyed your short stay with us. Hope to see you again, best wishes

Sam and Tiree x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews