We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,244)
Filter reviews
1,244 results
Traveller rating
446
496
208
61
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
446
496
208
61
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverswimming lessonsleisure facilitiessauna and steam roomswimming poolkendal castlecar parklovely hoteltown centreself servicefamily roomgood sizeironing boardevening mealbuffet breakfastshort breakreception staff
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 1,244 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

Lovely location in Kendal, for access to the Lakes. Room was well equipped and simple bathroom shower. Easy access to shops down the road on the High Street. Good covered parking too.

Didn't go to breakfast so can't comment. WiFi worked well for me throughout.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
Thank moshyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Thanks for staying and for your nice comments! Happy you enjoyed the hotel's location and accommodation. We work hard to keep the hotel great value for our guests and it's nice you found us to be the right price for your stay. Hope to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

The hotel is ideally located with riverside views and a short walk from most of the amenities in Kendal. If entering Kendal from the northern end it is ideal as accessible without having to go around the entire one way system.

We arrived mid afternoon to an unmanned reception. After ringing the bell the Receptionist came through from the bar area where she was chatting to other staff members who were drinking in the public bar. Before we get a response from The Management declaring that staff don’t drink in the bar we know they worked there because they told us! .Never before have I come across staff members socializing in an area reserved for guests. They were also quite loud and, while sitting quietly trying to enjoy our drinks, we found them quite distracting as they chatted (quite loudly) at the bar and walked past us to go and smoke outside. Girl early 20's with short brown hair and a foreign young man - possibly Italian.

The bar area was quite jaded and definitely in need of a refurbishment. For the price of the hotel the public areas are quite shabby (sorry). They are NOT dirty... just a bit drab and dated. A mention to the lady working who was VERY smiley, happy and polite. Thumbs down from me for the poor gin selection. Very slim pickings and not even any quality gins to sample.

The room... (and this is where it goes pear shaped). Firstly no Aircon and the heat in the room was stifling and we couldn't sleep. There was a fan in the wardrobe but this did nothing other than move the hot air around the room and was very noisy. Shower was poor. I know the hotel is only 3 star but you do kind of expect a decent shower when you are paying £130 a night. We were only supplied with one bath towel, one hand towel and one bath mat (for 3 adults). We asked for more at Reception and was promised that Housekeeping would bring more in the morning. They didn't. Two lightbulbs not working (not major issue but annoying none the less), comment card and no pen (yes, really!). Decor was akin to to something from the 1990’s. I can't imagine that this hotel has been decorated lately - the landings feature blue carpets and dark varnished wood. It's not exactly ugly but far from being modern and clean looking. The curtains didn't fit the windows properly and had holes in them (at each side)... didn't give a good impression (sorry). Check room 408

The room next to us was beautiful so I know not all rooms are equal. Maybe we were just unlucky.

Staff lovely but disappointed with the standard of the hotel. Even the private car park was full. I’m assuming not with guests as most cars appeared to be using the free parking due to the barriers being open for the entire stay. If secure parking is important to you then you need to take this into consideration.

Nice selection of hot drinks/biscuits in the room and great toiletries. It was nice to get a shower cap! Seldom see these now a days.

Oh dear... I'm almost embarrassed to go on. The beds weren't comfy either (time to be replaced?).... The Room Service Menu was quite impressive though although we didn't order any food to try it.

Breakfast was fine. Although, as we arrived during a popular time, we had to clear a table ourselves as every single unoccupied table was dirty. Staff were working really hard but there did not appear to be enough working to cope with the numbers in the hotel that day. Some of the food under the lights looked a bit sad but, all in all, it was possible to get a decent breakfast. The sausages and the bacon were very good quality! There was no option to get a latte but the filter coffee, whilst not really strong enough for me, made an OK replacement.

I remember this hotel from years ago and it used to be quite grand. Unfortunately now it looks a bit tired and dated. I know that isn't the fault of the Management who have to work with what they have. Overall the staff were very good. All seemed to be working hard and were helpful when approached.
.
Sorry I couldn't be more positive but we left disappointed with our stay

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank scimmietta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

We're terribly disappointed to read this review of course. We work very hard to give guests relaxing stays and I apologise that this wasn't the case for you. A few points; one of our staff members had just returned from holiday and was meeting with some friends in the bar. He was off duty and his friends live in town and so were actually paying customers. We have never had a problem with our staff, when not in uniform, from using the hotel facilities when off duty. They know they are the face of the business and generally act as such. Also, at 7 gin choices (more than ever for us), we're surprised you couldn't find one to your liking. Thanks for the feedback with the room, very helpful indeed. It had been exceptionally hot lately and without air conditioning that has proven challenging. Luckily the temperature is more comfortable these days. Anyway, thanks again for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

The Riverside is a lovely hotel with beautiful views in a good location. The staff were pleasant and friendly throughout our stay and the on site facilities (pool, jacuzzi etc) helped us to relax throughout our stay. They allow pets so if you can’t get away anywhere due to having no one to look after your pets take them here. They are very accommodating.
Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 3119JamieSmith9888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Thanks for coming to stay and taking the time to write your lovely, 5 star review. Reviews really do help us a great deal so thank you! Thanks for mentioning our pet friendliness too! We love that you would stay again and hope you do :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

A very comfortable room overlooking the river, as well as outside seating on the river's edge and a restaurant directly above with good views. The menu was very limited on the night we visited but the food was good and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Thanks for your short and sweet review! We're very pleased you had a nice stay. The restaurant menu does change each night and is a special selection of the best dishes of the day from our chef. Our bar menu is much more extensive and might be better for those looking for more choice. Anyway, thanks for your lovely comments and hopefully we will get to welcome you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

What an amazing place to stay. I booked for two nights via Booking.com and without realising only went and booked the best room in the hotel - The Bellingham Suite.
It's been years since we managed to get away from the kids and this was a welcome break we were both looking forward to: And then I opened the door to the room....

OH MY GOD! - IT IS AMAZING!
I must say, this is by far the best room we have stayed in EVER, and for the same price as a normal room in other places. The massive fourposter, classy and matching furniture, drawers, huge mirror and writing desk all made the stay magnificent!

The separate room with his and hers sinks and storage, then through to the bathroom with slipper bath, WC and walk through double head shower. This place is just Ace!
The view from the room is lovely over the river and ancient bridge, oddly though some dodgy councillors or other allowed an eyesore to be built on the other side of the bridge ( whatever it is - looks like a 1970's multi storey car park ).

There's a free swimming pool, with Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna to use as often as you like, and free under cover parking as well - don't be an idiot and leave your interior light on all night though... flat battery next morning, D'oh
There's a well equipped gym there as well but didn't use that this time.

The breakfasts are very filling, you won't need to eat till the evening after one. Our evening meal was superb on our second night in the bar area, I can recommend the Gins..
Easy drives to Windermere or Ullswater ( we did both on the same day ) - lots of free places to park up round Ullswater to dip your toes in or take photos. Boat trips on Windermere are a treat.

All the staff were very friendly and approachable and nothing was too much trouble.
Would I stay there again?
Absolutely, might even take the kids next time ;-)

Room Tip: Ask for the Bellingham suite - it will blow your mind when you walk in the room!
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricWalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

What can we say; your review means so much to us as does the fact that you had such a lovely stay. The Bellingham Suite is a firm favourite of our guests and now we can add you to that list! There's nothing we can add except thank you thank you and we hope to see you again, with kids in tow if you choose!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews