We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Heaves Country House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$58
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
County Hotel(Kendal)
US$83
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Kendal(Kendal)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
26
20
4
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
20
4
4
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 29 February 2016

We have stayed here a number of times over the years as part of a group, with a meal in the evening with most staying the night in the hotel. We have always looked forward to our stay here and have always found them to give good service and value. There is something quaint, quirky and creaky about the hotel, but it is this that gives the hotel its unique character. The rooms are large and all very individual; and perhaps there is a need for some TLC here and there, though we were pleased to see everything was unchanged from our last visit.

We enjoyed our evening meal there, generous proportions and great value as always. From the other reviews on TripAdvisor you can see that guests to this hotel seem to either love it or hate it. It might not be for everybody, but we have always liked our stays here.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Captain_Coyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2016

We have often eaten here when we have been caravanning near bye but not stayed at the Hotel. It was a pleasure to stay in a room that had character not a small box. The bed was a four poster we had two comfortable arm chairs and table.Very quite the ceilings are high and the walls thick.The breakfast was comprehensive with every thing you could possibly want.We had a very warm welcome in every sense , a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kenneth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2015

We were unfortunate enough to get stuck in the storms recently experienced in Cumbria. We ended up in our car not being able to move in a any direction. We therefore ended spending Saturday night in the car. On Sunday we tried to get through again but no joy. We went to the Heaves Hotel who despite problems of their own welcomed us with open arms and provided Bacon Butties. We spent the day there waiting for the road to clear but as time wore on it looked liked that was not going to happen. The owners offered to let us stay in a self catering cottage which we gratefully accepted. The cottage was lovely, spacious well equipped and warm. The owners went out of their way to help us as much as they could and on trying to settle to bill did not want to charge us anything for accommodation. We can't thank them enough.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015

The building is old, victorian I think and has many interesting bits. The main dining room is lovely and the library, used as an overflow is fine. The bar is spacious but just okay. The bedrooms on the first floor are large, good windows and all have en-suite. Winter is not very good, the owners are generous and have electric fires (imitation coal effect or such) in every room and keep them on. Nevertheless the high ceilings give something of a chill. The family owners have difficulty with the maintenance, but are delightful people and their catering is generous and quite good "middle of the road", it is very good value. The place is clean but lacks the finish of higher grade places. There is no lift. We have been many times near to relatives to visit, so okay for overnight or walkers etc.

Room Tip: Rooms 9 to 12 are all okay.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank eric w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015

We had the pleasure to stay in this hotel over August long holiday weekend, 2015. People can argue that this is dated property but that's the whole point in keeping it original. The owners and staff left no stone unturned in providing great services.
Pros: Big green area; plant nursery; animals in nearby farms (kids loved it); sighting of rabbits within the green area

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kuldeep M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews