We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Widest church

This is the widest church in England. I had a lovely walk round & it’s stain glass windows are... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Alison T
,
United Kingdom
Beautiful Stained Glass

It will make your visit more interesting if you pick up one of the leaflets which will guide you... read more

Reviewed 20 September 2021
vivEngland
,
Preston, United Kingdom
Read all 65 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Kendal
from US$161.10
More Info
from US$155.61
More Info
from US$168.11
More Info
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
39
24
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
39
24
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2019

Visited Kendal yesterday. After doing the river walk we cane across this church. Wow what a stunning church. So nice to be welcomed by the welcome volunteers Christine & David. Our dog was also welcomed in.
I strongly say if you go to kendal visit this church you won't be disappointed.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank 6Hurstbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 April 2019 via mobile

This church is cool! We only moved into Kendal in August and didn't ever go to church before then. It's only since my beautiful fiancee died that we started going regular as I was grieving so much and still am. We picked this church cus it was the closest one to us, we have seen a few in Kendal and stayed for some services but the kids like this one best out of them all so we have decided to leave the other church and come here. It is huge and very nice they have lots of cool stained glass windows that they don't have at other churches and the best bit of it is they have a nice chapel at the end, as we call it the Jesus corner as it's the part with a beautiful cRoss of him and that's where we feel closest to him. Also this church has a cool vicar he uses words you can understand when he talks not like normal vicar with their 'thou'words so it's easier to understand and the church wardens are cool. They have someone on the mentor team that we're very close too and she's ace. I think that even if your not religious you should come see it cus it kinda opens your eyes and let's you know there's more than just what we see. It's worth looking at ♡♡

Date of experience: April 2019
3  Thank Kimrsp87
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 March 2019

Kendal Parish Church is well worth a visit. There is plenty of car parking (paid) on site. It is a Grade 1 listed building with a huge capacity of 1100. It is often used for concerts and each December hosts a magnificent Charity Christmas Tree Festival.

The nave is 800 years old and looks beautiful when decked with Christmas Trees.

Do take time to walk round the grounds along side the River Kent, and especially during the summer look out for the swans and huge horse chestnut trees.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Cumpston
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VolsKPC, Volunteer Coordinator at Kendal Parish Church, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2019

Thank you for your lovely review!

We look forward to seeing you at the Christmas Tree Festival of course but hope you'll visit us again before then. From 01 April our volunteer welcomers will be on hand to greet you and introduce you to our new leaflet explaining more about the history of the building.

Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2019 via mobile

We stopped into Kendal today to see this church on the way back home after a weekend in the Lakes and we are so glad we did. The church is stunningly beautiful and we met two of the church wardens who were happy to chat about the church at length.
They were absolutely wonderful, a real credit to the church and so so lovely. What a beautiful church and what lovely people. Thank you.

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank Sophie_Albanite
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VolsKPC, Volunteer Coordinator at Kendal Parish Church, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2019

Hello Sophie. Thank you so much for your wonderful review. The wardens were so glad to read your words!

Please come back and see us next time you're in the Lakes, we'd love to see you again. From 01 April Mon-Sat our volunteer welcomers will be on duty for the tourist season and we will have a brand new leaflet to help you enjoy your visit even more. Or you can pop in on a Sunday morning.

Thank you once again, Lucy Foster.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2019 via mobile

We visited on Sunday just before a service commenced to which we were welcomed and invited to stay. Due to a busy day we did not however we did have time to have a good look around and appreciate the intricacy of it. Some stunning stained glass windows. It would have been nice to be able to find out some of the history whilst there as unfortunately the people their did not know the age etc however I did Google the information I wanted afterwards.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank AllannaKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VolsKPC, Volunteer coordinator at Kendal Parish Church, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2019

Hello

Thank you for your lovely review and we're so glad you enjoyed your visit and were welcomed so warmly.

We're sorry that we were unable to provide more information about the building on the day of your visit - on Sundays the people on duty are there to welcome people to worship and so don't always have indepth knowledge of the history of the building.

However from 01 April to 31 October Mon-Sat our specialist volunteer Welcomers are on duty to provide our visitors with such information. We'll also have a brand new leaflet about the building to help people enjoy their visit even more. We hope you visit us again as we'd love to welcome you once more.

Best wishes

Lucy Foster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews