We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, cozy and quiet weekend”
Review of Lairbeck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lairbeck Hotel
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2017

We spent two very pleasant weekend nights here. Malcolm and Jennifer were welcoming and helpful with suggestions, and managing parking when the hotel was full. Our room was just as described, clean and comfortable. Do your homework and get a room that suits your needs. Lovely dining room for a light or hearty breakfast. It felt as much like a B&B as a small hotel. It's an easy walk into the center of Kewsick and the hosts' tips on good local meals were spot on. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Each room is different, read descriptions to get what you want/need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrozPerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Thank you for your kind review.

Best wishes,

Jennifer & Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2016

My wife and I spent the first part of our honeymoon at the Lairbeck Hotel. Upon arrival, we were greeted by one of the friendly managers. Unlike a typical modern hotel, Lairbeck does not have a 'front desk'. Instead, all business transactions happen at the bar which is kind of cute. Our room (also known as the Servant's Quarters) was located on the ground floor next to the manger's room.

Our quarters consisted of a bathroom and bedroom. The bathroom felt very 'old English', but with modern utilities such as a heated drying rack and standing shower. The bedroom was quite large and had a nice view of the hills during the daytime. The bed was made up of two singles pushed together (I believe this is common in English hotels) and was comfortable enough for us during the night. We had two chairs and a small table for afternoon tea and biscuits which was quite lovely (the biscuits were restocked every day). A dresser, a wardrobe and TV were also included in the room. Overall, I was satisfied with the room over the course of five days.

A nice bonus that came with the room was the continental breakfast that was served every morning. In the hotel's dining room, you can enjoy a selection of typical breakfast foods (e.g. bacon, sausages, eggs, toast, etc.). I believe this experience has been my favourite continental breakfast I've ever had.

The hotel is located about a ten minute walk from the town of Keswick. We did not have a personal vehicle to travel in, so choosing a location close to town was important for us. Dinner was no longer provided on site anymore and the closest dining was about 2 blocks away at the Pheasant Inn. I'd recommend going into town if you want to get the full Keswick dining and bar experience.

I would definitely recommend Lairbeck to anyone travelling near Keswick. With spacious and clean rooms combined with friendly service, this is hotel that's definitely worth staying at.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Thank you for your very kind and comments and your thoughtful review. We wish you well for your future together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here two nights. Its a nice old house, and whilst modernisation might address some niggles (eg no shower), it would also ruin the places period charm.

Some other factors - the key system, the bar with no till - are a bit old fashioned. But there's nothing wrong with a bit of quirkiness. I would however suggest more frequent checks on things like toilet cisterns and lamp bulbs. That said, had we reported any issues I think they'd have been dealt with.

Key Positives: efficient staff, good breakfast served promptly and a lovely period room in a nicely modernised property in pleasant grounds.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank marko1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Thank you for your very kind comments and your review. Toilet cisterns and a whole host of other things are checked daily during housekeeping. Sorry if we let you down on those aspects. We welcome your feedback on points like this but please do let us know whilst you are here too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Returned for another short break and not disappointed, Lairbeck once again ticked all the boxes. Rooms very clean and tidy,staff very friendly and attentive,likewise the owners Malcom and Jennifer.
Nice home cooked breakfast with plentiful supply of juices,fresh fruit and cereal also on offer.
Would certainly recommend

Room Tip: Have stayed in two different rooms both excellent,would expect all others to be the same standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank shetland62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Had a long weekend break in Keswick and read the reviews about the Lairbeck and they were spot on with the hotel being in a great location. Short walk to town and ideal place for exploring the lake district. The staff are friendly and the room very comfortable room and a lovely breakfast. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have showers only baths
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank richardandrews521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
1.1 km away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
1.1 km away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
749 reviews
0.9 km away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#6 of 17 in Keswick
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
645 reviews
0.9 km away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
768 reviews
5.1 km away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#4 of 17 in Keswick
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lairbeck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lairbeck Hotel

Address: Vicarage Hill, Keswick CA12 5QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range: $216 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lairbeck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a relaxing holiday in a Victorian Country House in the heart of the English Lake District. Lairbeck is a 3 Star Visit Britain Hotel beautifully set in a quiet, secluded garden 10 - 15 minutes walk to Keswick, Derwentwater and the Theatre by the Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lairbeck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing