We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
137
48
13
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
137
48
13
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews period features lovely building lake district quiet location fabulous hotel short break short walk from the centre full english breakfast breakfast was excellent small hotel cooked breakfast large room warm welcome night stay single room plenty of choice stayed for nights
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed for a couple of days in September. Our room was small but had all we needed for a short stay. Clean and comfortable and good wifi. View of Skiddaw. Excellent cooked breakfast. Only criticism would be request for more varied fruit salad on the breakfast buffet Easy parking and not far to walk into Keswick.

Date of stay: September 2017
2  Thank lancasterlady2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you for your very kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

This is our first stay at the hotel. We felt welcome from the start and had a brilliant stay. The breakfast is superb and had plenty of choice. The location is spot on as it is a short walk to the town and Derwentwater.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Manager at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you for tyour very kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

We have just returned home after a 3 night break. (Our 4th visit in 5 years/we missed the year of the floods). Again we were given a warm welcome, I won't repeat everything everyone else has previously said but the location/parking/ breakfast/cleanliness are all what keeps us returning. Thank you Malcolm & Jennifer, see you next year.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Filey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you for your very kind review. Visits from return guests are one of the best things about running a hotel. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

We stayed in Gran's room - large room with a very nice washroom. Quiet at night. Lovely views wooded view from the front and fell view from the back. Breakfast was devine - best proper bacon I've ever had. Easy walk to Keswick using local footpaths. Malcolm was wonderful to talk with and offered many suggestions on the days activities. Looking forward to visiting again.

Room tip: Loved Gran's room because of the size.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JSH320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Manager at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you for your kind review. Your comments about breakfast are particularly welcome in view of the following review! We look forward to welcoming you back to Lairbeck soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

Stayed here in a very small room - only just enough space to move around the bed. One chair in room, no headboard on bed and cushions on bed needed new pads. Bathroom fan did not work and had not been working for some time as evidenced by mould on ceiling above shower. Bedside light also did not work. We were moved after the first night to another room - much bigger and with a table and chairs to sit at, but I would not have paid the extra amount for this room. Breakfast was average but with good service. This hotel is rather old fashioned. Plenty of parking and good grounds.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JBH32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmHutchinson, Owner at Lairbeck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

We know we have to take all reviews seriously and try to learn from all of them but sometimes its difficult. You told me that the extract wasn't working on the morning after your day of arrival. Unfortunately I didn't check that out as I had a pressing appointment so I arranged for you to be upgraded free of charge for your final night to one of our deluxe rooms. A mistake because you clearly didn't appreciate it. In fact there was nothing wrong with the extract fan, it had simply been switched off at an isolator switch high on the wall in the bathroom. We know that it was working during housekeeping on the day of your check in. This is one of our standard double rooms, it has a king size bed, a chest of drawers, two bedside cabinets and a large wardrobe. The room and bathroom have been fully re-tiled redecorated and re-fitted very recently. You are right there were a couple of small black marks on the bathroom ceiling (now removed) but we fail to understand how you concluded that there was only one chair when there are clearly two. This is a well maintained Victorian Country house there is a subtle difference between that and "old fashioned". A more objective assessment of the standard of our breakfasts can be found in many other Trip Adviser reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews