We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great campsite ”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penrith
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gill Head Farm Self catering Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

We came here with family for a weekend away. The campsite was lovely. Clean toilets and showers, staff were friendly amd helpfull. It wasn't near to anything that was the only downside. I would come back again

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Good clean toilets and showers. Always hot water avaiibe. The lounge log cabin and undercover eating area are great when it rains. Grass pitches are well drained.

It is busy at peak times, but with amazing views of blencathra and great transport links to the rest of the lake district I can see why.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank joemch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed Friday through to Monday, even though they didn't know of me booking in advance (cool camping website - even after sending an email warning we would arrive late and getting a response) they were more than happy for us to set up camp. We had read about a hidden campsite with a river which we wanted to stay at, but it was full up. We did however walk down and it's beautiful! No cars allowed down so you would need to do multiple trips. The place we ended up choosing was just as lovely. Waking up every morning to the hills was a dream! 100% would stay here again!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah_G280395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

Really lovely campsite, good facilities, get a fire pit! Tents not too crowded together.

Didn't order the breakfasts, but great to have the choice

Nearby pub was nice.

We didn't find the hidden field!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank walshc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

We booked 4 hardstandings for motorhomes and two pods. The weather was changeable so we were particularly grateful that there is a communal room with comfy settles, dining tables kettle, toaster and fridge freezer.
Spotless showers, lovely flowers in public areas, best of all run by a friendly hard working farming family.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank SandsBandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penrith hotels
15.7 km away
The Rebels Hide
The Rebels Hide
#3 of 3 in Clifton
46 reviews
13.4 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
9.0 km away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
The Sun Inn
The Sun Inn
#1 of 2 in Newton Reigny
65 reviews
22.9 km away
The Black Swan Inn Culgaith
12.7 km away
The Ginney Country Guest House & Holiday Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gill Head Farm Self catering Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gill Head Farm Self catering Holidays

Address: Troutbeck, Penrith CA11 0ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Penrith
Price Range: $7 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the spectacular backdrop of the mighty Blencathra and the northern fells, Gill Head Farm offers a warm welcome to our family run working hill farm with a caravan and camping site and traditional lakeland farmhouse self catering accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gill Head Farm Self Catering Holidays Penrith, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing