We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
76
11
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
76
11
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa room poster room host paul stream running direct access lake district beautiful house short walk three nights breakfasts were excellent within easy walking distance beautiful room superb location local knowledge a lovely place to stay home from home jacuzzi bath
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

We’ve had three blissful days in Foxghyll Country House. Paul is a helpful, caring host and we felt totally welcome.. Beautiful room looking out at gardens .. quiet and well furnished too. Would definitely recommend!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Batlow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

What a hidden gem !!! Beautiful house nestling in an area of incredible beauty. The garden views are stunning with fells ,rolling countryside and streams surrounding this characterful country house. With Ambleside to the right and grassmere to the left it's just the perfect spot . The host is friendly and welcoming nothing is too much trouble . We strayed in the spa room complete with comfy beds spa bath and access to the garden . The room was spotless and every detail had been attended to including a cork screw for our wine (that really is a first) and proper mugs for tea we felt completely at home . Breakfast was lovely , fresh and piping hot we could not fault it . Thank you for a lovely stay our only regret was not being able to stay longer

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank maria h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Just got back from a 2 night stay here, and cannot fault it. We stayed in the front bedroom, which was huge and decorated beautifully, and to a high standard. Views are also amazing from here! The host is really lovely and helpful-nothing too much trouble. Breakfast is exactly what you need for a day of hiking, and its good quality produce. My poached egg was cook perfectly! The location of the guest house is perfect...in a quiet peaceful location, but only a 10/15 minute walk into Ambleside.

Id definately recommend this place for couples,friends or families!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Foxy82x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

Stayed here with my partner a few weeks ago for the Ambleside Christmas Light Switch on evening.

What a find, beautiful house set in wonderful grounds with direct access to the path up to Loughrigg Fell and only a 10 minute walk into the centre of Ambleside.

We stayed in the 4 poster room with a view of the garden. the room was really lovely and very cosy with tea/coffee/ biscuits and little things that some b and b's overlook like a corkscrew and proper wine glasses (which we made use of) :-) The bathroom was very modern and clean with a great waterfall shower!

Paul is a great host and will help any directions/info you need and the two little dogs, who I think were called Barry and Roy are delight!

Breakfast was amazing and really set us up for our trip up Catbells that day, the portion was fab and cooked very well along with toast etc and extras if you need them

All in all a very enjoyable evening just wish we had been there for longer, wouldn't hesitate to recommend this beautiful B and B!

Well done Paul for first class service!

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clucky04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

Foxghyll is absolutely everything you could want from a stay in the Lake District. The house itself is steeped in history and the grounds are just beautiful and very well maintained. The room with the four poster bed was wonderful and so nice to come back to after a long day of walking. It has all the amenities you could want, lovely en suite, TV, comfortable bed etc. The breakfasts were delicious and kept me going all day on 25km+ walks. The owner Paul is an outstanding host and nothing was too much trouble. I can't recommend Foxghyll enough!

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Zina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews