We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$132
US$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hideaway At Windermere(Windermere)
US$153
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$133
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Elleray(Windermere)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$162
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$164
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glencree(Windermere)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House(Windermere)
US$366
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (911)
Filter reviews
911 results
Traveller rating
276
341
144
83
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
276
341
144
83
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself driveshearings hotelsshearings holidaypremier roomcoast countrymeal timesbooths supermarketlake districtevening meallounge barreception stafforrest headsingle roomweekend breakthe general managerpublic roomsmy wife and i have just
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 911 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

We have just come back from a four night visit to this hotel. The staff were very pleasant. We were given a room with a view, it was small but effective. The bed was very comfortable and the room was as warm as toast. There were some plumbing issues tho. Not enough hot water ran through. One has to have a shower early enough so it did not run out of hot water.
The food was good. But shame some of the popular dishes ran out in the evenings when we had a late sitting which was no fault of ours. Had to make do with some other food which obviously wasn't very popular and bland.
The £25 credit was a bonus for each person. This made up for having to pay £8 a night for our car to be parked on the premises, which mounted to £32 for four nights.
Our room was first tidied after the first night. The towels were replenished. I must point out tho, we had some bananas which went missing on the first morning. We brought two crystal wine glasses which also went missing on the third morning. I ventured out only to find them by the cleaners items. Maybe more training should be given? I'd mentioned this at reception and they took note. Afterwards our towels were never replenished after I had complained.
All in all, for the price of our stay, it was worth it and we would come back again.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Champagnepreferred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindermereHotel, Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Dear Champagnepreferred

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor. We were pleased to hear that you had enjoyed your stay and would be happy to return in the future.

I will pick up the housekeeping and plumbing issues with the relevant teams to address these moving forwards, thank you for flagging the issues to us.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

The hotel was lovely and food superb and staff excellent. The bus driver was fantastic and had lots knowledge. My only small grip was our shower didn't get hot but we used the bath and toilet but funny and struggled to flush but apart from this was fantastic.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Julie Smallwoo... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindermereHotel, Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Dear Julie Smallwoo... S

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us.

We will look into the issue you experienced within you room.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards

Andrew Goode
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

We have just returned from a short break with Shearings and we found the hotel very nice and quiet and the staff, food and our room was very good. The driver Joanne who lives locally was great she told us lots of interesting things when on trips. We have always found shearings to be good value and this hotel was no exception we had £25 pounds each in house spend which was an added bonus. We will be visiting again and we would recommend this hotel to anyone going to the lakes.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank pigletns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindermereHotel, Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Dear Pigletns,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your experience. we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards
Andrew Goode
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

We came for a mid-week break at the end of January, Mon-Fri. Our trip included
- Car parking which was £8pd but conveniently situated right in front of the hotel, not that we saw anywhere else nearby that was convenient and free.
- View room. Perhaps I should have researched a little better as the view was of Windermere Town/Village rather than the lake I had imagined. Given where the Hotel is what else can you expect? We could , weather permitting, just about see the lake.

If you are active the 1.5 mile walk down into Bowness and the Lake itself is fairly easy. There's a steep section back up from the lake shore but there are lots of shops if you don't want people to know you are catching your breath.
In the opposite direction above the Hotel is a much harder walk up to Orrest Head (the launchpad for Wainwrights life long love of the lakes). My advice go on a nice day. Bracing walk whatever the weather.

The food was good with decent portions, we ate from the set menu, I particularly enjoyed the breakfasts. The staff were all lovely and prepared to stop and chat a little.

There was a Shearings Coach trip and all the guests from that holiday who we spoke too were all without exception very warm and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank MikeGreenwood63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindermereHotel, Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Dear MikeGreenwood63

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience of The Windermere Hotel here on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to hear what an enjoyable time you spent with us.

There are some lovely views from the hotel but as you say it can be somewhat weather dependent. The views from Orrest Head on a clear day are breath-taking.

Your feedback about the food and team are very welcome and will be shared with the staff who I know will appreciate the comments.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

Stayed for 5 days and 4 nights on a Shearing's coach trip. Having travelled with Shearing's the past we had a fair idea of what to expect. However the hotel was excellent it looked like it had just been refurbished. The staff were very helpful and friendly. There were 2 coach parties staying at the time and the only complaint that we heard was that it was to hot. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and I am sure that we enjoy a return visit at some time in the near future.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Eddy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindermereHotel, Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Dear Eddy D

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience of the hotel here on TripAdvisor, We were delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Francis Hindle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews