We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
US$243
US$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$291
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House(Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillthwaite(Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Craig Manor Hotel(Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (688)
Filter reviews
688 results
Traveller rating
396
174
64
35
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
396
174
64
35
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjohn toveyarts craftsafternoon teaamuse bouchea lake view roommolton brown toiletriessmall balconytravelzoo dealwine listvenisonlake districtoverlooking windermerepetit foursturn down servicedinner bed and breakfaststunning viewsevening meal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 688 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed a two night stay here as a couple last weekend. The hotel enjoys beautiful views over the Lake and to the Langdales and the recent snows made the landscape that bit more magical to see. Trevor the hotels General Manager heads up a very friendly and efficient team; and we thought the food was superb. The hotel’s drawing room is a great place to sit and read; chat to other guests or enjoy a GnT or nightcap! We loved the mix of Arts & Crafts and sympathetic modern decor. Would recommend the owner splashes out and cleans up the exterior which slightly lets the property down but this doesn’t detract from the warmth of the welcome to be had here.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MontonChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

What a great place!

Mostly Edwardian, but with a modern restaurant.

Very comfortable bedroom with amazing views over lake Windermere and the snow capped hills beyond.

Great dinner with very good wine list and perfect breakfast – although freshly squeezed juice would be an improvement.

Problems? – horizontal rain! – but this was February!!

Room Tip: Lake view is best
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

Had a lovely two night break at the wonderful Miller Howe. Stayed in the very comfortable Windermere room with magnificent views of the lake. Woke up to a covering of snow the first morning which looked spectacular. The staff were friendly and helpful and we enjoyed a superb dinner each evening. The breakfasts were freshly cooked using the best ingredients. Looking forward to a return visit.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank joanbol2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

Had a lovely afternoon tea today overlooking the snowy fells. I had never been before and called the reception this morning to warn that I am dairy free. Our afternoon tea came and I was amazed to have a huge pile of various dairy free sandwiches and four desserts all to myself! I can tell you this doesn't happen very often so I was delighted. Thank you so much for all your effort. The atmosphere was so relaxed and the decor was lovely. Thanks again! A happy local girl.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

Was walking around the area and one in the group needed the ladies.... Next thing we know we are ushered into the lake view conservatory by the lovely very charming host. Ended up with cream teas and the most lovely scones and 'just placed on the cooling rack' brownies! After the light lunch with fantastic views- we realised we couldn't tear ourselves from the lovely and welcoming environment. We ended up in one of the wood fireplace lounges and had rhubarb gin and tonics and prosecco as recommended by the waitress and was very nice. It was an absolute pleasure being there with non rushing, friendly engaged staff in the lovely environs. Highly recommended. Go! Thank me later !!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank hols.away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews