We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ivythwaite Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$243
US$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$291
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House(Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillthwaite(Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Craig Manor Hotel(Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
200
25
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
200
25
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathfour poster bedself catering cottageb bshort walkowners were friendlylovely placemy partnerlovely roomsmoked salmonfeel very welcomea great stayfantastic breakfastquiet locationwithin easy walking distancelake districtcumbrian breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

Me and partner stayed at the lodge and amazing is all I can say the room, the breakfast, the gardens and most of all Wendy the proprietor made us feel very welcome. Definitely will be going back later on in the year

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ade V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

We arrived and was greeted by lovely views and a warm welcome. The property is well maintained and is clean. It is located just outside the main town and takes about 15 minutes to walk down to the lake. My only complaint was the bed, the room was great but the bed really needed a better mattress, you could feel every spring and everything you turned over you could play a tune, this contributed to a poor night sleep. This shouldn't put anyone off but maybe highlighting this will prompt a new mattress.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ttocrum76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Beautiful rooms. I even dropped the mega review of 'best B and B I've ever stayed in'. The owners were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely and a great start for the day and just little things like leaving milk in the hall so you could just grab some if you ran out. Would highly recommend and would hope to stay again. Thank you for a perfect base for a great weekend.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sunshinegang1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017

We stayed here for two nights in March. We came over to walk up Helvellyn and explore the Lakes. What a lovely place to stay. The B & B is very well looked after and certainly ticked all the boxes. As soon as we arrived we were shown to our room (we were upgraded to The Cranny as they were doing some work on the room we were going to stay in). The Cranny is absolutely lovely. Its cosy and warm and it was ideal for us as we had a lot of gear with us so it was nice to have that bit of extra room. It was modern and fresh/clean and had everything that we needed. Mick showed us how everything worked and recommended some places to eat which weren't too far away. We ordered our breakfast the evening before which had a great selection to choose from - pancakes, smoked salmon, scrambled eggs, a full English, fruit, granola and yogurts. The owners were very chatty and friendly and it was like you had known them for years. We didn't have the best walking weather but that didn't put us off walking Helvellyn (we nearly made it to the top!!) We had a lovely day exploring and went to Langdale Spa (about 25 mins away) for a swim and sauna in the evening (much needed after walking all day!) I would thoroughly recommend Ivythwaite Lodge to friends and family and anyone who wants to explore the Lakes.

Room Tip: The Cranny is ideal if you want that bit more space, ideal for couples.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gem17081986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

Great location in Wimdemere, Lovely room with a spa bath, staff were friendly and welcoming, breakfast was beautiful with plenty of options to chose from, will be visiting again, great stay at a lovely place.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews