We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ivythwaite Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$198
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$244
US$237
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$292
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillthwaite(Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wild Boar(Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lamplighter(Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
200
25
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
200
25
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathfour poster bedself catering cottageb bshort walkowners were friendlylovely placemy partnerlovely roomsmoked salmonfeel very welcomea great stayfantastic breakfastquiet locationwithin easy walking distancelake districtcumbrian breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2017

My husband booked this for our anniversary and we had a fabulous time.
We arrived before check in time as we didn't want to waste a day. The owner Wendy was really friendly and said we could leave the car there.
Ivythwaite lodge is in the perfect location being set between Windermere and Bowness. The room was very comfortable, with four poster bed and spa bath which is great for aching legs after a long day walking.
Breakfast is pre-ordered the night before with plenty to choose from, the pancakes are gorgeous with maple syrup.
This was our 1st trip and Wendy has plenty of hints & tips so don't be afraid to ask. We personally recommend catching the buses, as they're easy to understand and great value for money!
Really loved this hotel and will definitely be back. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cat160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

We stayed for 3 nights in room 1 which was lovely. Lovely friendly hosts and very welcoming. The mattress was a bit too firm for us, the spa bath was nice after busy days walking & shopping. The breakfasts were delicious and served by a delightful young man (sorry I didn't ask his name) who was always cheerful and friendly. The local pub The Brookside was excellent for food and Bowness and Windermere are within 10/15 minutes walk away with plenty more places to eat and drink. All in all a relaxing very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Lovely guest house, Mick and Wendy were the perfect hosts very welcoming, thoughtful and friendly. The rooms are luxurious with spa bath tubs and are very clean. The veggie breakfast was the best I've had and that's saying something considering we've visited some of the best places in the u.k. If you want attention to detail by your hosts and a quite location you will not be disappointed with this guest house, it's also within close proximity of the town centre.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Frankel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

A group of 4 of us stayed here a couple of weekends ago. What a lovely lovely place. It was full of character (as was the gentleman who co-ran it). The house is spotlessly clean. Furniture is fitting for the period of the property with some interesting pictures and ornaments/lamps etc. Rooms were just like the pictures on the net, if not better. The gardens are delightful and we had a couple of very relaxing evenings under the stars enjoying the start of summer. Breakfast is pre-booked the night before, plenty of choice. Pancakes highly recommended as are the home made sausages. Short walk into town, mostly flat. Parking fine. Would suit all ages and all abilities. Lovely, will be back very soon. Wifi fast too.

Room Tip: Walk into Town, great eateries
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

Me and partner stayed at the lodge and amazing is all I can say the room, the breakfast, the gardens and most of all Wendy the proprietor made us feel very welcome. Definitely will be going back later on in the year

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ade V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews