We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
All Seasons(Windermere)
US$245
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$156
US$151
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosemount(Windermere)
US$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hideaway At Windermere(Windermere)
US$151
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$127/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
US$101
US$98
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$184
US$165
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glencree(Windermere)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
209
26
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
209
26
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathattic roomfour poster bedself catering cottagerefreshed dailyshort walkperiod featuresowners were friendlymy partnerlovely placelovely roomsmoked salmonfeel very welcomea great staywithin easy walking distancequiet locationlake district
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2018

My partner and I recently stayed here over New Years for 2 nights and the service we received was excellent. We stayed in the Langdale Pikes Room (number 1) and was pleasantly surprised with how spacious the room was and especially enjoyed the spa bath! The house is very classic but has homely feel to it and loved that the Christmas decorations were still up.

The choice of breakfast options were more than sufficient for a small B&B and the food was excellent.

The location was perfect for us as it's a short 10/15 min walk to either Bowness or Windermere so we got the best of both locations.

The owners were very friendly and helpful and even let us in to our room when we showed up early to check-in. The homemade cupcakes left in our room was also a nice touch!

Would definitely look to return when visiting this area of the Lake District again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbradfield1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights. Standard Studio. We felt it a bit “pokey” uncomfortable double bed, silly shower door. Couldn’t get TV working, ran out of toilet paper, what toiletries? Fresh towels daily would have been good. Never anyone there when we rang doorbell; not even when we were leaving. The old house is lovely, gardens beautiful. Great location, walk to town.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MeggsMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Owner at Ivythwaite Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Many thanks for your review. We're sorry that you found your stay less than the perfect that we aspire to. We're aware that your reservation was a gift and therefore booked for you; perhaps you weren't aware that The Cranny is a self catering studio and not a room in the Guest House. As such The Cranny is not refreshed daily nor the towels changed as they would be in our Lodge. We provided toilet paper and toiletries (shampoo, shower gel and soap) but in self catering apartments these would not normally be topped up during your stay.
We're also sorry that we weren't available to assist you with the TV settings when you rang the bell; we do live in the Lodge and are there most of the time. We were also running a breakfast service the morning that you checked out so I'm not sure why we kept missing each other. We have since put together a TV guide for those guests not familiar with using Sky TV.
Once again, we're sorry that your stay in The Cranny was not to your satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

Beautifully decorated self catering cottage in walking distance to great restaurants and shops. Friendly and helpful owners. Perfect place for a recharge. Superb Cumberland breakfast and good coffee! Will be back for sure..

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theresa580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Owner at Ivythwaite Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Ivythwaite Cottages and also that you enjoyed your breakfast when you joined us in the Lodge. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

My wife booked a surprise weekend stay for my birthday. The location is perfect with Bowness and Windermere 10-15 minutes in each direction. The hosts were attentive, friendly and took an interest in our plans and offered recommendations.

The B and B it self is lovely, quiet, comfortable and maintained to a high standard. Breakfast was perfect and can be ordered the night before.

We visit the Windermere area every couple of years and would return to Ivythwaite Lodge without hesitation. Great little B and B, highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank andyhalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Owner at Ivythwaite Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Many thanks for your lovely review. We're so pleased that you were happy with your wife's choice of a surprise weekend! We pride ourselves on our convenient and quiet location and are glad that you found it so.
For our best rates, please contact us directly should you decide to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Arrived on Tuesday and were warmly welcomed by Abigail and Andrew. The rooms were spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. We were guided in our excursions and the breakfasts were perfect... I recommend a stay here! If only I didn't have to work I could stay much longer.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank julierumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Owner at Ivythwaite Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. We'd be delighted to host you again - we have new items on our breakfast menu to sample and many more excursions to enjoy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews