We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
All Seasons Rest(Windermere)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$122
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$158
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Elleray(Windermere)
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rosemount(Windermere)
US$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
US$67
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$75/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$170
US$149
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glencree(Windermere)
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$409
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
211
26
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
211
26
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathattic roomfour poster bedself catering cottagerefreshed dailyowners were friendlylovely placesmoked salmonfeel very welcomewithin easy walking distanceminutes walk awaymy partnerlovely roomquiet locationexcellent hostscumbrian breakfastlake district
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 242 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2018

We stayed for two nights in the Cranny studio cottage and really enjoyed our stay. The Cranny is cosy and comfortable with everything you need. We didn't eat in but there was a microwave and hotplate for use. Coffee, tea, sugar and hot chocolate are provided and our host also left milk in the fridge and two lovely banana buns. It was really nice to have a private entrance so we could come and go as we pleased without disturbing anyone. The room was incredibly clean, comfy bed and lovely thick towels in the bathroom, there were also toiletries provided. The shower was a little awkward to use due to location of the shower head but it was perfectly functional. The room was very warm once the heater got going which was great. There is a pub (Brookside Inn) round the corner which serves food, but bring a torch as the short walk is quite dark. Also within 10 min walk of Bowness where there are loads of pubs, shops, restaurants. We had food in Jintana Thai restaurant which was lovely and quite reasonably priced (the whole area tends to have higher than usual prices for food & drink). The only tiny criticism is check in was 4pm and check out 10.30am, which I felt a little late/early, but we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank debsManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

Ivythwaite was a beautiful much needed getaway for a couple of night. We felt very relaxed in this homely b&b!

Wonderful location right in between Windermere and Bowness, the room we stayed in was lovely, spa bath greatly appreciated - especially this time of year!!! And the the breakfast was the perfect start to the day. Welsh Rarebit was a real treat!

Thank you for a lovely stay, we will be back!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Acn91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

My partner and I recently stayed here over New Years for 2 nights and the service we received was excellent. We stayed in the Langdale Pikes Room (number 1) and was pleasantly surprised with how spacious the room was and especially enjoyed the spa bath! The house is very classic but has homely feel to it and loved that the Christmas decorations were still up.

The choice of breakfast options were more than sufficient for a small B&B and the food was excellent.

The location was perfect for us as it's a short 10/15 min walk to either Bowness or Windermere so we got the best of both locations.

The owners were very friendly and helpful and even let us in to our room when we showed up early to check-in. The homemade cupcakes left in our room was also a nice touch!

Would definitely look to return when visiting this area of the Lake District again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbradfield1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights. Standard Studio. We felt it a bit “pokey” uncomfortable double bed, silly shower door. Couldn’t get TV working, ran out of toilet paper, what toiletries? Fresh towels daily would have been good. Never anyone there when we rang doorbell; not even when we were leaving. The old house is lovely, gardens beautiful. Great location, walk to town.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MeggsMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Owner at Ivythwaite Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Many thanks for your review. We're sorry that you found your stay less than the perfect that we aspire to. We're aware that your reservation was a gift and therefore booked for you; perhaps you weren't aware that The Cranny is a self catering studio and not a room in the Guest House. As such The Cranny is not refreshed daily nor the towels changed as they would be in our Lodge. We provided toilet paper and toiletries (shampoo, shower gel and soap) but in self catering apartments these would not normally be topped up during your stay.
We're also sorry that we weren't available to assist you with the TV settings when you rang the bell; we do live in the Lodge and are there most of the time. We were also running a breakfast service the morning that you checked out so I'm not sure why we kept missing each other. We have since put together a TV guide for those guests not familiar with using Sky TV.
Once again, we're sorry that your stay in The Cranny was not to your satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

Beautifully decorated self catering cottage in walking distance to great restaurants and shops. Friendly and helpful owners. Perfect place for a recharge. Superb Cumberland breakfast and good coffee! Will be back for sure..

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theresa580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Owner at Ivythwaite Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Ivythwaite Cottages and also that you enjoyed your breakfast when you joined us in the Lodge. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews