We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (626)
Filter reviews
626 results
Traveller rating
582
39
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
582
39
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrecommend stlarge king roombreakfast menulake districta lovely staybreakfast was amazinghonesty barperfect locationplaces to visitfull englishmy partnereggs benedictleisure centreminute walkstayed for nightson arrivalfeel very welcome
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 626 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2018

Myself and my partner have just returned from a last minute weekend break at St Johns lodge in windermere. What a wonderful place to stay, everything about it was perfect! The host rich and his staff are all very welcoming and accommodating. We arrived at about 11am and we were able to check in straight away. The room that we stayed in was very spacious and had a very large and comfortable bed, mini fridge and a huge walk in shower, which was heaven. The breakfast was also lovely and there were lots of choices to pick from.
The location of this b and b is fantastic and right in the middle of Bowness and Windermere- a 10 minute walk to either one. We had a couple of lovely walks which you can set off from St Johns lodge both are mentioned in the welcoming pack in the rooms.
The only very minor downside is the spa has now moved and is a 5 minute drive away, so we couldn't manage to fit it in with our plans but that just means that we will have to return to fit it in!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jessicaherbert2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed at St Johns lodge two years ago and loved it so decided to stay again and we weren't disappointed. The room we stayed in was impeccably clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious but I think what stands out most about this hotel is the lovely staff. Nothing is any bother and they are so friendly. We will definitely return again, thank you.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

Great location, clean and warm rooms with housekeeping service. Really friendly staff, especially Richard which was always helpful and chatty. Fabulous breakfast with a lot of options, both cooked and continental. Definitely will be back!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Martyna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

Room very clean and well maintained. Rich and the team very approachable, professional and friendly. Excellent choice for breakfast including cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt and a choice of cooked breakfasts including I think, gluten free. The establishment is well positioned being only a 10 minute walk to the centre of Bowness, there are also bus stops situated just a few yards from the guest house. The use of the pool and spa at the Macdonald hotel has been discontinued but Rich has arranged for the use of another spa/pool/gym in the local area. Overall St John's Lodge is an excellent example of this type of accommodation at a very competitive rate and I would definitely stay here again when in the area.

Room Tip: Room 8 overlooks the front of the building and road and has a large double glazed window.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nickolas63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

I have to say we had a fabulous time at St John's Lodge over new year. Our room was perfect, better than many 4* hotels we've stayed at. The staff were fantastic, particularly Lisa and Richard who were brilliant. The breakfasts are amazing with lots of different choices, but I particularly liked the chilli fried bread with my cooked breakfast. It was all quality ingredients too. A nice touch on new years day when the staff came round with prosecco for all the guests. Probably the best boutique B&B we've stayed at and we will definitely stay here again. Paul & Arlene.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews