We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hideaway At Windermere(Windermere)
US$153
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/08
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Elleray(Windermere)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$109
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Glencree(Windermere)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
US$164
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House(Windermere)
US$366
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,972)
Filter reviews
1,973 results
Traveller rating
1,131
509
200
87
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,131
509
200
87
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue smokeleisure clublake viewleisure facilitiesbusy roadthe outdoor hot tubbuilding workmain restaurantlake districtlovely hotelrestaurant staffsteam roomwedding venuehigh standardnight breaklots of choicefrom start to finish
Filter
Updating list...
777 - 782 of 1,973 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2015

We stayed here for 2 nights over the easter weekend. Our deal included a 3 course meal on the first night, this was so nice we ate there again on the second night, highly recommend the food (although quite pricey)
Our Room was No.53 in the main building, nice rooms with large bathroom, very powerful shower, toiletries, the only let down about our room was that our double bed seemed tiny. Most hotels nowdays offer king or queen sized beds like we have at home so it was a little strange being in a small bed. Our view looked out onto nothing just the roof of the other buildings. Breakfast was also delicious so much choice & self service.
Overall we would definitely stay here again, lovely hotel with very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the stairs as they are quite creaky
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TinkerBell26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2015

Dear TinkerBell26, thank you so much for your wonderful review about our hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed your 2 night stay with dinner included on the first night. It is even more pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your dinner with us on the first night you chose to dine with us on your second. I am pleased that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay but you felt a little disappointed on the size of the bed in the room you were allocated. The room you were allocated was a standard double room, we do have larger beds available in upgraded rooms. Once again thank you for your comments these will get passed on to our management team and directors. I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2015

Second time here..beautiful hotel. Friendly staff, gorgeous surroundings with easy access to Ambleside and Bowness. Gorgeous breakfast. Stayed for boyfrien'ds 30th and before we arrived I asked if we could have a balloon in the room on arrival. We were greeted with 2 balloons and a card from the team at Low Wood Bay! Another gorgeous stay! Thank you.

Room Tip: Lake View Room
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruthie747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2015

Dear Ruthie747, thank you so much for your wonderful review about our hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay and I hope your boy friend enjoyed his birthday celebrations. I am pleased to hear that you liked the card and balloons in the room for your arrival. Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2015 via mobile

Well what can I say except it is nice to stay somewhere where they got everything right!! Great Service, excellent Hotel and facilities, Excellent Food not too expensive. Will definitely be back. We even experienced our first Hot Tub WOW !! Unbelievable Experience.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank 151melanie151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2015

Dear 151melanie151, Thank you for your recent wonderful review about your stay at the hotel., it is pleasing to hear that you thought we got everything right! You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2015 via mobile

This hotel is in a perfect position, nice walk to get the boat over to Windermere. Food is outstanding and one of the main reasons for our continuous returns. Staff are amazing and go out of their way. Bedrooms are dated and do not match quality of hotel, walls are paper thin and did not sleep due to noise but beds and duvets are extremely comfortable. Leisure facilities are great. Would recommend.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
Thank LynWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2015

Dear MrsW, Thank you for your recent wonderful review about your stay at the hotel. You may be interested to know that all Trip-advisor reviews are conveyed to the team and our directors. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2015

We have just returned from our ninth stay at the Low wood and yet again we were bowled over by this terrific hotel . The facilities are 1st class, the food (especially breakfast) is brilliant and the staff are friendly , a special thanks to Filip , Florin and all of the restaurant staff who made my wife's birthday meal absolutely perfect.
We understood that the MD Mr Berry was there during our stay , it would have been great to tell him this in person , had the opportunity arose.
The Low wood strikes a perfect balance , it is smart and efficient , family friendly and relaxed.
We have recommended it to many people over the years , and will continue to do so.
We look forward to our next visit.
Thanks to everyone there.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, Guest Relations Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2015

Dear Rick T, thank you so much for your wonderful review about our hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed your ninth stay at the hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the first class facilities, the food (especially breakfast) and the friendly staff. I will pass you comments about Filip, Florin and the restaurant team on to them and i am pleased to hear they made your Wife’s birthday meal perfect. Once again thank you for your comments these comments do get passed to our Directors so I am sure Mr. Berry will see your comments in person. I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Low Wood Bay in the near future. Kind Regards, James Wilkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews