We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 December 2017

Comfortable beds, room was quite large.

Excellent breakfasts.

We enjoyed the Christmas function there, and for 180 guests it was not too crowded, and the catering was very good indeed!

On the one night we had dinner at the Blue Smoke restaurant. I had the salmon, which was superb. My Mrs ordered the pork belly which was also really good.

Quite suprising for a hotel restaurant. The only downside is that it is quite pricey. Even with their special offer, it amounted to £22 for starter and main per person.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view otherwise you might get one with a view of the stores.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RegiTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NevilJeffery, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear RegiTime

I am so pleased to learn you enjoyed your recent Christmas Party night and mini break at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa. I read with interest your rewarding comments about the overall dining experience you had in our new Blue Smoke on the Bay grill restaurant. I will be sure to forward these words of encouragement on to all team members. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind regards Nevil Jeffery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 72 of 1,869 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2017

The hotel is currently undergoing major development but this did not impact on the stay at all,
I found the staff very helpful and friendly, my room was well balanced and spacious enough with a view of the lake. I tried the new restaurant "Blue smoke on the bay" which boasts an amazing indoor BBQ Grill, premium food, well presented and in a timely manor, the best venison I have ever tasted for sure, its not cheap but for the best I've ever had worth every penny. I certainly didn't feel like I had just been taken for a ride with the cost, I've paid a lot more for a lot worse. I can imagine when the current builders work is finished the hotel will have transformed into something quite special. will stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MAFF-T-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NevilJeffery, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear MAFF-T

Thank you for your rewarding review and I am so pleased you enjoyed your dining experience in our new Blue Smoke on the Bay grill restaurant. Its pleasing to read as other TA reviews all present redevelopment works and our management plan to minimise guest disruption are working. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. kind regards Nevil Jeffery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Saturday NIght Christmas Party, the Hotel has been refurbished since our last visit 2 years ago and it has been done very nicely, really enjoyed it. The Pool and Health club facilities have all been refurbished as was the hotel room, good food and good service.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Avril V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NevilJeffery, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear Avril V

Thank you firstly for posting a rewarding review after your recent stay and secondly acknowledging the ongoing improvements English Lakes Hotels as a company have made since your last visit, which will be fully completed in the forthcoming spring. As a team we sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind regards Nevil Jeffery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

Hotel right alongside the lake
Lovely views albeit that it is close to the main road and depending on the location of your room can be a little noisy
Currently there are major works being undertaken at the rear of the hotel but little interference
The hotel staff are excellent , the main restaurant very good, and the spa superb

Room Tip: Our room was delightful but during the night rooms on the front will suffer traffic noise (Hotel ra...
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NevilJeffery, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear John W

Thank you for posting this review since your recent stay at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa and as a team we are pleased to learn you enjoyed the overall experience. Kind regards Nevil Jeffery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

Had a wonderful stay at the Low Wood Hotel. We stayed in a Lime Lake view room and I have to say it was everything we expected, and more. Fantastic views of the lake and surrounding hills and mountains. Cannot praise the staff enough, especially the manager Gavin. Thank you very much to all of them. Can't wait for our next visit in February.

Room Tip: Always ask for a Lake view room. Views are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank b3mlo1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NevilJeffery, General Manager at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear b3mlo1947

As a team we are so pleased to learn you enjoyed your recent stay at Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa, especially the setting in which we have the pleasure of being situated in. Thank you also for recognising Gavin's efforts and I will be sure to forward these sentiments onto him and indeed the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind regards Nevil Jeffery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
4.3 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
9.9 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
556 reviews
7.6 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
2.6 km away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 km away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa

Address: Low Wood Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windermere
#3 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Windermere
#4 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $275 - $604 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a most spectacular location on the shores of Windermere, Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa offers luxurious 4-star accommodation and a range of resort leisure facilities to suit all ages and abilities. Blue Smoke is a contemporary dining experience that offers British produce cooked on our South American wood-fired grill, or dine in the more traditional Windermere Restaurant. Langdale Lounge and Bar also gives the opportunity to eat throughout the day with views over the lake. Relax in The Spa and pamper yourself with a range of treatments designed to restore and energise. Swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and an outdoor hot tub with unrivalled views over the lake. The fitness suite boasts state of the equipment, a dance studio, squash court and personalised trainers. For the adventurous, the Watersports Centre offers instruction in water-skiing, canoeing, paddle-boarding and much more. Low Wood Bay is in the process of upgrading and will be reopening in 3 phases, as detailed below: 1st phase: Hotel re-opens 12 April. Guests can enjoy the complete refurbishment of all the previous hotel bedrooms, ‘The Windermere’ restaurant, 'Langdale Lounge' and Health Club facilities opens in May. New improved road entrance. 2nd phase: Opens July. The Spa, a new restaurant ‘Blue Smoke,’ additional outdoor leisure facilities and a new atrium space. Final phase: Opens October. All new block of ‘Club House’ rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Bay Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Windermere
Hotel Low Wood
Low Wood Hotel Windermere
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing