We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday ”
Review of Storrs Gate House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Storrs Gate House
Ranked #20 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

Another wonderful stay at Storrs Gate House. Felt like coming home when we arrived. The room was welcoming and the finishing touches are appreciated. The breakfasts are delicious too. Looking forward to our next visit. Sharon and Paul

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley B, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

It was lovely to welcome you back for your second stay this year - and for seven nights too! You are both a pleasure to look after, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay once again. Great to hear that you will be planning to come back again - we look forward to the next time!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2017

Wonderful house. The hosts and staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is 10 out of 10 with and additional star for the quality. The room we had was very clean and comfortable and was serviced every day. We would fully recommend a stay here. The house is well placed for all of the local amenities in Windermere which are a short walk away. There is lots to do if you like to get out and about, many activities, walks and museums.

Room Tip: The garden room is very private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N1Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley B, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Thank you so much for your kind review which is music to our ears! It was great to read that you were so happy with everything and that you so enjoyed your breakfasts!
Thank you for recommending us - we do hope to see you again soon!

Thanks again for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Thankyou for a restful stay at your hotel. Our room was lovely and spacious and the facilities spotless. We both really enjoyed breakfast - don't usually have time for it at home!- thankyou.
Will certainly recommend you :)

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley B, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you so much for sharing your experience of your stay with us! It was really nice to know you were so pleased with everything and especially that you will recommend us. We do hope you might return again and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

This Guest House has received accolades in the past but our impression was that it did not live up to this.Nothing was particularly wrong but we felt it was overpriced for the standard provided.The breakfast one had to order the night before and was table service.We were offered a glass of juice when we sat down but no offer of a refil,my cooked breakfast included bacon like cardboard and a very dry sausage.Internet is free but very poor and on checkout a two per cent charge is added to ones bill for the use of a credit cardwhich I felt was niggardly in view of the cost of the accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley B, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for taking time to write a review on your recent three night stay here with us. We were sorry to hear you had the impression that our awards and accolades were not necessarily current or deserved, as in the past twelve months alone we have received the following commendations from a variety of different sources –

Five Star Award - Visit England 2017
Breakfast Award – Visit England 2017
TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2017 (and each previous year since the award originated)
Outstanding Service Award from Gohotels.com 2017
Booking.com 9.4% - Guest Review Awards 2016.

Our price range has seasonal variations and is dependent on the type of room or suite chosen. We do offer and promote discounts for direct bookings of two or more nights – had you booked direct with us for three nights, you would have qualified for a reduction on your bill of 10%.

We had a couple staying over the same three nights, who wrote in our visitor’s book “Superb facilities, wonderful host. We have had the best time, thank you.” Most of the comments mention the quality of breakfast and we are sorry if your particular plate was not up to the same standard. We would happily have refilled your glass, beverage, toast etc as a matter of course, we hope to satisfy all our guests wishes. Even as we write, we have guests who are ordering extra sausage and egg for breakfast – we are more than happy to accommodate any requests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Storrs Gate House is a nice and cosy cottage just few minutes walk from Bowness on Windermere. I spent three days there on holiday. I had the Tudor room, which is fashioned in a traditional style, with a four-poster and old-style forniture. Everything was neat and cosy, and I felt like being in a Jane Austen's novel. The room floor is all carpeted, in the bathroom too, which I don't like particularly, but that's my personal taste. Also wifi in the room was quite slow.
Shirley and Vince are lovely hosts, they are very helpful with information and they take care that your staying is as pleasant as possible. They have family members living in Italy, so we also had a lot to talk about. Breakfast was delicious and homemade. Shirley and Vince took care for my vegan dietary requirements, which I appreciated a lot. The cottage has a garden in the back which is absolutely lovely and adds up to that sense of living into a Jane Austen's novel. Storrs Gate is very close to the lake, though you can't have any lake view from any bedroom, and close to the ferry. Car park is available. If you like a quiet and retired place, out of noises and bustle of the center, in an old-time designed context, why, Storrs Gate is your place.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Millmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley B, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Tudor four poster room, and that breakfast options covered your dietary requirements. We have recently upgraded our broadband and are not sure why the wifi was slow during your stay, we apologise for any inconvenience. It was interesting to read your comments about feeling part of a Jane Austen novel - certain very popular TV series and films over here! We were also happy that you enjoyed a quiet stay with us and thank you for your recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
3 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.8 km away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
760 reviews
3.2 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant
2.4 km away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
2.8 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storrs Gate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storrs Gate House

Address: Longtail Hill, Windermere LA23 3JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: $158 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Storrs Gate House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast of the Year - Cumbria Tourism Awards 2009. Five Star - luxury accommodation opposite Lake Windermere. 15 minutes walk from Bowness-on-Windermere, our family run guest house offers personal service by friendly owners. Breakfasts feature local and home-made produce. Four poster and king-size rooms, power showers, White Company toiletries. We aim to ensure you will want to return! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Storrs Gate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storrs Gate House Hotel Windermere
Storrs Gate House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing