We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st time to the Lakes”
Review of Ellerthwaite Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ellerthwaite Lodge
Ranked #46 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“1st time to the Lakes”
Reviewed 6 November 2011

This was our first trip to the Lake District and I booked this hotel only a few days beforehand, their web-site gives a good overview of the rooms and facilities and is easy to use to make a booking. I decided to call direct to make a reservation as I wanted to see if they could offer us a room with an en-suite bath and shower as not all of their rooms have both. They were very helpful and offered us this option and confirmed everything in an e-mail. We arrived to a welcoming member of staff where nothing was too much trouble, and this continued throughout the stay. This accommodation provided great value for money, excellent customer service, good food and drink and made our first trip to the area somewhere we want to come back to.

Room Tip: We were offered a room on the top floor of the lodge with bath and shower, it had two velux windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funlovingfreeloader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    100
    27
    8
    6
See reviews for
44
191
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

This is the second year that I have stayed in the Ellerthwaite Lodge. The booking service is trouble free, which I did over the telephone. They also have a well set up web site showing the rooms and public areas. The rooms are clean, tidy and well maintained. The staff are very friendly and the service is excellent. There is also good off road parking. The hotel itself is only a minutes walk to centre of Windemere and 15 minutes walk to Bowness. I will be goning back again

Room Tip: all rooms are good but the superior and junior 4 posters are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I was lucky enough to be staying at Ellerthwaite Lodge for the weekend as part of a corporate incentive weekend. I can't thank the staff enough for looking after us so well. Nothing was too much trouble for them, and they did everything possible to ensure the weekend went without a hitch. I was lucky enough to see most of the bedrooms, and every one of them was superb - clean, beautifully decorated and inviting with every amenity you would expect from a 4* hotel. Many thanks to Al, Bill & the team. I will definitely be recommending this to family, friends and colleagues.

Room Tip: Loved the four poster beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaybobsL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

My husband and I stayed two nights in this lodge in Windermere. It was close to the shops in town but a 20 minute walk downhill to the actual lake, it was fine going downhill but back up was a bit of a treck. Most people go to the lakes to go on walks but we were only in the area for 2 nights and we wanted to relax. I highly recommend a boatrip across the lake from Bowness to the other towns on the lake and there are various options for those who want to walk or those just after a cruise. When the sun is out this place is glorious but we only got half a sunny day. The Lodge itself has been refurbished recently so is nice inside. We had a room in the attic but unfortunately did not have a view of the lake. Breakfast was delicious and fresh although like most B&B's they stop serving at 9.30am so you have to wake up early or you miss it. 9.30 os early for me on holiday. Overall we were pleased with our choice and had a nice stay, it wasnt amazing but it was nice enough..

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosandros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Great hotel, hospitality and food.Would definately go back.Staff were so warming, especially Ella who made friends of us! Lovely breakfast, nice and hot! Hotel within walking or a few mins drive of everything you want in the lakes. We stayed in the junior suite which was beautiful,nice and quite, the room for us next stay! All in all we we would definitely go back for a break in this lovely hotel very soon..... till we see you again! Best wishes Alistair and staff :-)

.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janiewayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.3 km away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#5 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.9 km away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#7 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.1 km away
Wheatlands Lodge
Wheatlands Lodge
#8 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Thornbank Guest House
Thornbank Guest House
#9 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.1 km away
Autumn Leaves Guest House
Autumn Leaves Guest House
#11 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.5 km away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellerthwaite Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellerthwaite Lodge

Property: Ellerthwaite Lodge
Address: Ellerthwaite Lodge New Road, Windermere LA23 2LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price range (per night): $142 - $196
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellerthwaite Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short walk from Lake Windermere, this charming 19th-century Lake District town house provides 15 relaxing, comfortably furnished en-suite rooms for you to enjoy bed and breakfast accommodation in Windermere. Our rooms have been dressed with bespoke soft furnishings, excelsior deluxe mattresses, 20” flat screen Samsung TVs with 10 channels and in the lounge area you can relax on leather chesterfields and take in the far reaching views. Parking is also not a problem as we have private car park with ample space for all. You are only 2 minutes walk from Windermere town centre with its variety of shops and selection of good quality restaurants which is why we have chosen to only cater for bed and breakfast. Ellerthwaite Lodge is ideally situated and provides a great place to stay to enjoy the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ellerthwaite Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellerthwaite Hotel Windermere
Ellerthwaite Lodge Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing