We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor”
Review of The World Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The World Hotel
Ranked #759 of 864 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Friendly owners but the place needs a revamp/shutting down, family run hotel, you can tell that by the kids running round the bar, using the bar area as there sitting room, reminded me of "The royal family", not funny though
Will not stay here again, very poor value at £55 night, room only

Room Tip: Don't bother with a room, sleep on the beech if it's warm enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2016

Reviews I had read about this hotel were good so we were very disappointed with what we experienced. The gentleman that dealt with us was friendly enough but to be honest the place is a mess, inside and out. Carpets were dirty in the hall and in our room. There was a dog and cat wandering about everywhere which to me would put most guests off! The room was not very clean, the wallpaper was coming off, hairs on the beds, (pet hairs I believe) TV did not work at all also. We were back in early as our son was not feeling well, unfortunately the .. BAR... That they have had next to nothing in it so we could not even enjoy a couple of drinks! Really poor experience .

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2015 via mobile

Me my sister and a friend stayed here for a one night stay in October all I can say is needs a good clean,hallways looked like never been hoovered in months. Room we stayed in was chinese room single bed was very uncomfortable springs everywhere. Chair was covered in stains and hairdryer did not work. The owners where very helpful to us. Breakfast was good. This hotel is in need of been done up and cleaned.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
Thank lisa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2015 via mobile

Just want to say me and my family had a fab time at the World hotel In Blackpool. The managers were very and nice and very helpful offering valuable advice . The room was clean and cosy . Breakfast was delicious offering juice , cereal and a full English breakfast . Would stay there again.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
Thank djmike32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2015 via mobile

We have just come back from spending a lovely couple of days,away in the world hotel Blackpool from the moment we came until we left the hotel the staff were so lovely and friendly and nothing was to much trouble for them the room was lovely and clean and the beds were comfy thank you Chris and Wendy for making me and my family feel so welcome and thank you Wendy for our lovely breakfast we will certainly be staying again

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank connor2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2 km away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#84 of 864 in Blackpool
214 reviews
0.4 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,403 reviews
0.7 km away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
563 reviews
2.3 km away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#134 of 864 in Blackpool
85 reviews
4 km away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The World Hotel

Address: 1 Lansdowne Place | Northshore, Blackpool FY1 1SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #759 of 864 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $40 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The World Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world hotel is under new management as of 16th january 2013 (we are nothing to do with the new world hotel)we have 10 en-suite bedrooms, this hotel was previously run as a woman only hotel, we have decided to change this to couples and families and female groups sorry no stag parties! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing