We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”

The Marquis Wellington
Ranked #105 of 1,247 Restaurants in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$17
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Sitting in Leicester city centre, the Marquis Wellington is a haven for the ‘real pub’ goers. The historic building houses a cosy interior with vintage fittings, and a raft of real ales, great wines and local beers. A menu of hearty good food will tempt the most discerning foodies, whilst the large beer garden is perfect for families and groups of professionals alike, thanks to four new individually-heated beach huts. The Marquis Wellington is a step away from the usual stainless steel city centre bar. It’s a place to relax, talk and enjoy great food and drink. What more could you want.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had lunch here for first time, beautifully cooked fresh food. Massive portions! Would definately recommend a visit. Will 100% going again. Lovely staff and relaxed atmosphere. 10/10 from me.

Thank Aaron V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquis W, Manager at The Marquis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Aaron,

Many thanks for reviewing us. We always appreciate feedback from our customers. They are extremely valuable to us and allow us to keep improving our services to our customers.

It's always lovely to hear when our customers enjoy themselves and we're glad that we've made a great first impression. Our kitchen has also been passed your comments regarding the food and they too are happy that we've succeeded in making your first experience with us a lasting one.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2018

The staff at the Marquis Wellington are truly well intentioned. They help my elderly uncle out, bringing his coffee over to him even at peak times - most coffee/pubs shops don't bother, even though he struggles to walk. I've only eaten here a few times, foods good value for money. Cod and chips were delicious. There's a real mix of students, middle age folk and professionals...all seem to get on. Good for a game of chess too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquis W, Manager at The Marquis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Paul,

Many thanks for reviewing us. We always appreciate feedback from our customers. They are extremely valuable to us and allow us to keep improving our services to our customers.

I'm glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience. We will always endeavour to go that extra mile for our customers.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

Food is hit and miss depending on which chef you get. Last time I went the Sunday lunch was gorgeous. The pub has nice staff and a good atmosphere. Nice and clean toiletc too.

Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquis W, Manager at The Marquis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Lisa,

Many thanks for reviewing us. We always appreciate feedback from our customers. They are extremely valuable to us and allow us to keep improving our services to our customers.

Glad to hear your enjoyed your experience with us, especially our Sunday roasts.

Saddened to hear about the food being hit and miss. All our staff are trained to the highest standards by our head chef, who has been informed of this and we'll endeavour to rectify this for you and introduce some more training where needed.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

I've only been for beers before but I decided on a whim to head there for a roast. Wow - I can honestly say I've not eaten a better one in Leicestershire. I'm pretty hard to please and always manage to find a couple of things that might've been done better but seriously, as much as it pains me, there was nothing at all to complain about!

Roast pork was beautifully cooked and there was a good mixture of sliced, wedged and knarly bits of pork, lovely cracking, excellent potatoes and mash, lovely cauliflower cheese, spiced red cabbage, perfectly cooked greens and a big jug of gravy... FOR ONE!!

Lovely guys serving too, warm and friendly. I've got a nut allergy and they dealt with that really well too.

Top marks all - well done and thanks :)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquis W, Manager at The Marquis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Ed,

Many thanks for reviewing us. We always appreciate feedback from our customers. They are extremely valuable to us and allow us to keep improving our services to our customers.

We are both humbled and honoured that you have said our roast is the best in Leicestershire. This is wonderful and we are very grateful.

Our team are always willing to go the extra mile whenever needed to make your experience with us the best it can be.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

Never been to marquis Wellington before but very nice inside and welcoming staff - burgers are great and portion sizes perfect!

Thank Ralph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Marquis Wellington also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Marquis Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing